International Affairs

Profiles produced by the US Department of State about the land, people, history, government, political conditions, economy, and foreign relations of independent states, some dependencies, and areas of special sovereignty. Identify agencies to contact for various issues and and key elected and appointed officials. Older issues in STROZIER-- Documents-- S1.123:

Once in Business Source Complete, select the "Country Reports" link in the green menu on the right side of the screen. Enter your country name, and you will get a variety of results. Please note the "Political Risk Yearbook" result can be especially helpful, you can find them by clicking on the Publisher tab and then selecting "prs group, inc.".

"This website offers a user-friendly process to match business resources with needs from UN organisations."

"The Wealth of Nations dataset provides country level data on comprehensive wealth, adjusted net saving and non-renewable resource rents indicators. It presents a set of “wealth accounts” for over 150 countries for 1995, 2000, and 2005 which allows a longer-term assessment of global, regional and country performance in building wealth. "

STROZIER, Documents General Collection PrEx3.15:

Population of many of the world's cities.

FindLaw

"The Corruption Perceptions Index measures the perceived levels of public sector corruption in countries worldwide."

Facts on trade with the United States and other countires, compiled by the Office of the United States Trade Representative.

Official energy statistics

"News, country profiles, forecasts, statistics and more" from The Economist

US State Department Profiles

Provides guides to history, politics, and economic background of countries and territories, and background on key institutions. They include audio and video clips from BBC archives. Profiles are accessible by selecting a country, territory or international organization from the menus provided.

Found on the right side, near the middle of the page

Data on over 175 countries, from TradePort

Extensive reports produced by the Library of Congress on individual country's histories and current political, social, and economic characteristics and statistics. [Also available in print: STROZIER Documents D101.22:550-]

Amnesty International

From USAID, includes data and data tools for creating tables on health, HIV, nutrition and population for many countries.

"The Doing Business report series includes annual reports going back to 2004, a wide variety of subnational studies, and a number of special reports dealing with regions or topics. Use the tabs to read report summaries and to download. Additional country and regional reports can be downloaded below."

Political and economic country information

Information and reports on the progress towards education as well as the shortcomings towards toward reaching that goal for over 180 countries.

"The European Council on Foreign Relations (ECFR) is the first pan-European think-tank. Launched in October 2007, its objective is to conduct research and promote informed debate across Europe on the development of coherent and effective European values based foreign policy. " Contains the European Foreign Policy Scorecard which provides an annual assessment of Europe’s performance in dealing with other countries of the world.

"The Eurydice Network provides information on and analyses of European education systems and policies. It consists of 35 national units based in all 31 countries participating in the EU's Lifelong Learning programme (EU Member States, EEA countries and Turkey) and is coordinated and managed by the EU Education."

"The website, hosted by the Statistics Department of the IMF, disseminates data and metadata on selected FSIs provided by participating countries."

Country status and ratings on freedom, compiled by the Freedom House, "an independent watchdog organization that supports the expansion of freedom around the world."

Uses google maps to locate countries and combines it with data and news reports.

"Index of Economic Freedom measures economic freedom of 183 countries based on trade freedom, business freedom, investment freedom, and property rights."
Older editions in STROZIER LIBRARY General Collection 3rd Floor HB95 .I48

Click on Publications at the top, then make selections on right hand column (in gray area)

USGS

This annual report is submitted to Congress by the Department of State and has sections on individual countries.

Contains the Military Policy Awareness Links - MiPALs - which provide direct access to defense-related U.S. policy statements on selected key topics.

An international NGO watchdog network monitoring poverty eradication and gender equality.

Website provides free access to security and strategic reports and publications issued by the researchers affiliated with the College. Users can do general searches or browse publications through the regional, strategic, and newsletter menus.

Economic and social statistics on the world's countries and territories, emphasing the well-being of children.

The largest online resource for USAID funded technical and program documentation, with over 65500 documents available for electronic download.

This report "provides the definitive global perspective on prime property and wealth. It includes a guide to the performance of the world’s key luxury residential markets and HNWI growth forecasts over the next decade for over 80 countries and cities."

World Bank

Descriptions of criminal justice systems of 45 countries around the world, such as Canada, China, Costa Rica, Czech Republic, Finland, France, Germany, India, Israel, Nigeria, Norway, Poland, Singapore, Sri Lanka, Taiwan and others.

Includes population data and other information for countries

From the World Bank, can select multiple variables such as control of corruption, rule of Law, political stability and government effectiveness for many countries.

Locate country maps from many different sites.

Regional and country maps of the world

Mashup of Google Maps and data from the World Bank.

Provides the names of key U.S. officials serving in foreign countries with whom American business representatives would most likely have contact.