Latin American Network Information Center (LANIC)Administered by the University of Texas Austin, provides access to official (government), scholarly, and popular internet portals to information on Latin America for virtually every subject available.
Subject areas in the main menu on the homepage include Countries, Economy, Education, Government, Humanities, Internet & Computing, Libraries and Reference, Media and Communication, Recreation, Regional Resources, Science, Social Sciences, Society and Culture, Sustainable Development.
The site also has special collections accessible on the left-hand side menu of the homepage, including:
- LAGDA Gov Docs Archive (full-text versions of official documents and video and audio recordings of key regional leaders) – can browse by country
- LAOAP Open Archives Portal (Collaborative Project between Latin Americanist Research Resources Project
- LARRP and LANIC, to improve access to social sciences grey literature produced in Latin America.)
- LAPTOC (Latin American Periodicals Tables of Contents). Provides access to tables of contents for different journals – can browse list of journal titles by country and link to Tables of Contents)
- Electoral Observatory (reports on latest elections – news, overseeing agencies)
- TILAN Networking Trends (resource center that seeks to document trends regarding expansion of the Internet throughout the countries of Latin America. Includes full text of research reports and articles; statistics: tables containing data on a variety of indicators typically sought by individuals interested in Internet growth in Latin America; summaries of basic networking statistics and key resources for further information for each Latin American country; subject directory of links to related resources throughout the Web
- Zapatistas!
- Etext Collection (conference papers from Teresa Lozano Long Institute of Latin American Studies, Latin American Studies Association, Association for the Study of Cuban Economy, Presidential Messages, The Sustainable Development Reporting Project (year-long endeavor to look at the most promising and important sustainable development programs in Central America, made possible by a grant from the Mexico City office of the Ford Foundation), Individual books, theses, papers, and other publications hosted as part of the Etext Collection
