Research Guides: Geography: Electronic Resources

Search Google Scholar

Databases & Effective Searching

Selected Journals

Here's a selected list of journals in Geography or related fields. Some are FSU resources, and others are open-access journals, meaning they are freely available online.

To find the full text of the article, click on a link to the full text or the "Find it @ FSU" button in the database. Many journals are available online, but some are in the Libraries' print collections. Articles from journals not available at FSU may be requested through interlibrary loan.

Applied Geography
"a journal devoted to the publication of research which utilizes geographic approaches (human, physical, nature-society and GIScience) to resolve human problems that have a spatial dimension"
Annals of the Association of American Geographers
Excerpts from a nonprofit scientific and educational society founded that has has contributed to the advancement of geography with members from nearly 100 countries share interests in the theory, methods, and practice of geography.
Antipode
"Peer-reviewed papers that offer a radical (Marxist/socialist/anarchist/anti-racist/feminist/queer/green) analysis of geographical issues and whose intent is to engender the development of a new and better society."
Economic Geography
"Publish the best theoretically-based empirical articles that deepen the understanding of significant economic geography issues around the world."
Environment and Planning A
"An interdisciplinary journal focused on the interface of human geography, environmental studies, and urban and regional research."
Environment and Planning D: Society and Space
"An international and interdisciplinary journal that publishes theoretically innovative scholarship that examines the contingent and possible relations between the social and the spatial."
Global Environmental Change
"Peer-reviewed international journal publishing high quality, theoretically and empirically rigorous articles, which advance knowledge about the human and policy dimensions of global environmental change."
International Journal of Geographical Information Science
"Forum for the exchange of original ideas, approaches, methods and experiences in the rapidly growing field of geographical information science (GIScience) intended for those who research fundamental and computational issues of geographic information, as well as issues related to the design, implementation and use of geographical information for monitoring, prediction and decision making."
International Journal of Urban and Regional Research
"Publishes articles with an approach to linking theoretical development and empirical research which includes comparative and geographic perspectives through a multidisciplinary approach to the field concerning " the complex, changing roles and futures of cities and regions"
Journal of Economic Geography
"The aims of the Journal of Economic Geography are to redefine and reinvigorate the intersection between economics and geography, and to provide a world-class journal in the field"
Journal of Historical Geography
"A well-established international quarterly, the Journal of Historical Geography publishes articles on all aspects of historical geography and cognate fields, including environmental history"
Physical Geography
"Physical Geography is dedicated to the dissemination of significant research in the environmental sciences"
Political Geography
"Political Geography is the flagship journal of political geography and research on the spatial dimensions of politics"
Progress in Human Geography
"Peer-review journal of choice for those wanting to know about the state of the art in all areas of human geography research - philosophical, theoretical, thematic, methodological or empirical. Concerned primarily with critical reviews of current research, PiHG enables a space for debate about questions, concepts and findings of formative influence in human geography."
Transactions of the Institute of British Geographers
"International journals of geographical research publishing scholarship from around the world that make a major theoretical, conceptual or empirical contribution to the development of geography as an academic discipline."
Urban Geography
"publishes original papers on problem-oriented current research by geographers and other social scientists on urban policy; race, poverty, and ethnicity in the city; international differences in urban form and function; historical preservation; the urban housing market; and provision of services and urban economic activity"

Dissertations

Thesis & Dissertation Full-Text
Covers every doctoral dissertation completed in the U.S. at accredited institutions for the last 150 years. Includes some master's theses and foreign language dissertations. Titles published since 1997 are available in PDF digital form full-text.
FSU Dissertation Abstracts & Digital Dissertations

Geography

Search Google Scholar

Databases & Effective Searching

Selected Journals

Dissertations

More Databases for Geography Articles