Research Guides: Geography: Data Sources

Government, NGO and Non-Profit Data Sources

Data.gov
"Here you will find data, tools, and resources to conduct research, develop web and mobile applications, design data visualizations, and more."

Governments and non profit organizations can provide many useful and free datasets as well as visualization tools

American FactFinder
American FactFinder provides access to data about the United States, Puerto Rico and the Island Areas. The data in American FactFinder come from several censuses and surveys.
QuickFacts from the U.S. Census
Fast, easy access to facts about people, business, and geography
US Department of Housing and Urban Development
Free datasets from the US Department of Housing and Urban Development
U.S. Economic Census
The Economic Census is the U.S. Government's official five-year measure of American business and the economy. It is conducted by the U.S. Census Bureau, and response is required by law.
U.S. Department of Transportation - Beurau of Transportation Statistics
The Research and Innovative Technology Administration of the Bureau of Transportation Statistics provides data and statistics for all forms of transportation. It provides subject specific transportation as well as regional analysis.
Bureau of Labor Statistics
Databases, tables and calculators by subject from the Bureau of Labor Statistics. Contains lots of useful data and maps related to labor and economic development.
World Bank Open Data
Free and open access to data about development in countries around the globe
IPUMS CPS
IPUMS-CPS is a project dedicated to integrating and disseminating data from the Current Population Survey.
To use to extract data, you'll need to create a free account with their site.
EPA Smart Growth Location Mapping
Interactive maps and data for measuring location efficiency and the built environment.

Data from FSU Databases

Demographics Now
Demographics Now has been developed by SRC, LLC to bring you the data you need to make sound business decisions. With DemographicsNow you can analyze the demographic and market potential of any geography in the U.S.

Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR)
Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research maintains and provides access to a vast archive of social science data for research and instruction.

If you receive an error about not being able to access this database because of using a proxy server, please go straight to https://www.icpsr.umich.edu/ then create an account using the link in the upper right to access their site from anywhere. Please use your FSU credentials for the account. If you receive an error about not being from a member institution, submit a request for validation by sending an email to icpsr-help@umich.edu and include your name, your institutional email address, and the name of your institution.
Abbreviation: icpsr
Vendor: University of Michigan
Coverage: 1962–Current
Subjects: Anthropology, Communication, Criminology and Criminal Justice, Demography and Population Studies, Economics, Human Development & Family Science, Geography, Information Studies, International Affairs, Law, Political Science, Psychology, Public Administration and Policy, Public Safety and Security, Retail Entrepreneurship, Social Work, Sociology, Urban and Regional Planning
Type: Datasets / Statistics
Social Explorer (1 concurrent user limit)
Note: Only 1 simultaneous user is allowed. Contains historical decennial census data for the United States from 1790 to the latest census, the American Community Survey, the American Religious Bodies (ASARB), and InfoGroup for latest religion data. Able to create reports and download data in convenient formats quickly and easily. Engagement between society and science.
Tutorials:
Social Explorer LibGuide

Abbreviation: socex
Vendor: Center for Research Libraries
Subjects: Anthropology, Communication, Criminology and Criminal Justice, Demography and Population Studies, Economics, Geography, Human Development & Family Science, Information Studies, International Affairs, Law, Political Science, Psychology, Public Administration and Policy, Public Health, Social Work, Urban and Regional Planning
Type: Datasets / Statistics, Directories, Encyclopedias & Dictionaries, Government Publications, Historical / Primary Sources, Maps
OECD
Formerly OECD iLibrary, the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development provides access to publications (reports, research papers, policy papers, briefs, and datasets) and is a knowledge hub for regional and global engagement and best practices in public policy.
Tutorials:
User Guide

Subjects include:
Agriculture and Food
Development
Economics
Education
Employment
Energy
Environment
Finance and Investment
Governance
Industry and Services
Nuclear Energy
Science and Technology
Social Issues/Migration/Health
Taxation
Trade
Transport
Urban, Rural and Regional Development

Abbreviation: sourceoecd
Vendor: OECD
Subjects: Anthropology, Art, Business, Communication, Criminology and Criminal Justice, Demography and Population Studies, Economics, Educational Leadership and Policy Studies, Geography, Higher Education, Human Development & Family Science, Information Studies, International Affairs, Law, Music Education, Political Science, Psychology, Public Administration and Policy, Public Health, Retail Entrepreneurship, Sociocultural and International Education, Urban and Regional Planning
Type: Datasets / Statistics, Directories, E-Book Collections, E-Journal Collections

Census 2010 Summary File 1 - from GeoLytics
Provides the same variables and provides all of the same details about the population of the United States. It is a 100 % count of all Americans. It includes race, Hispanics, age of head of household, age of children, presence of older relatives, composition of the family, family size, rent vs. own, etc.

GeoLytics Neighborhood Change Database 1970–2010 (2 concurrent user limit)
Time series analysis (looking at the changes of a given location across time) of census data for decades 1970, 1980, 1990, 2000, and 2010 tract level. Includes an extensive subset of census variables—about 1,000 variables for each decade. Evaluate population trends without having to control for changes in boundary definitions. The year specific boundaries are also included to do tract level geographies and making it very easy to compare data across censuses.
There is a two concurrent user limit.

Abbreviation: ncdgeo
Vendor: GeoLytics
Coverage: 1970-2010
Subjects: Urban and Regional Planning
Type: Datasets / Statistics

Non-Profit and NGO Data Sources

The World Bank Open Data
The Data Catalog provides download access to over 8,000 indicators from World Bank data sets.

Data sources form non-profit organizations as well as other non-governmental organizations

Migration Policy Institute Data Hub
The Data Hub showcases the most current national and state-level demographic, social, and economic facts about immigrants to the United States; as well as stock, flow, citizenship, net migration, and historical data for countries in Europe, North America, and beyond.
Population Reference Bureau Data Sheets
Private, non-profit organization that informs people around the world about population, health, and the environment. PRB data sheets are ready references of demographic and health indicators by country and region including population projections and key data insights.
IPUMS International
Integrated Public Use Microdata Series International Census Microdata for Social and Economic Research
more...less...
you'll need to create a free account before using this product.
IPUMS CPS
IPUMS-CPS is a project dedicated to integrating and disseminating data from the Current Population Survey

Other guides with useful data

The guides below may be helpful in acquiring data. Includes government data as well as spatial data

Federal Data
by Mohamed Berray Last Updated Oct 3, 2024 67 views this year
Geography
by Kelly Grove Last Updated Feb 26, 2025 58 views this year
Demography
by Mila Turner Last Updated Oct 9, 2024 62 views this year

Subject Specialist Librarian

Kelly Grove

Email Me

Subjects: Earth Science, Earth, Ocean & Atmospheric Sciences, Environmental Sciences, Geography, Geology, Maps, Meteorology, Oceanography

Geography

Government, NGO and Non-Profit Data Sources

Data from FSU Databases

Non-Profit and NGO Data Sources

Other guides with useful data

Subject Specialist Librarian

Ask a Librarian