Research Guides: Meteorology: Electronic Resources

Databases & Effective Searching

Key Resources & Databases

These are a selection of databases available through FSU but there are many more databases for the various specializations in Earth, Ocean & Atmospheric sciences. Many of them are accessible through the general "@FSU-Atmospheric Science"

American Meteorological Society Journals This link opens in a new window
Contains the full text of journal and bulletin articles published by the American Meteorological Society. The American Meteorological Society promotes the development and dissemination of information and education on the atmospheric and related oceanic and hydrologic sciences and the advancement of their professional applications.
Abbreviation: amsj
Vendor: American Meteorological Society
Coverage: 1944–Current
Subjects: Atmospheric Science, *General Science, Ocean Science
Type: E-Journal Collections
Environmental Impact Statements: Digests This link opens in a new window
Extracts the key issues from complex government-released environmental impact statements, converting massive documents into concise, readable abstracts.
Coverage includes:
- Air transportation
- Defense programs
- Energy
- Hazardous substances
- Land use
- Parks, refuges and forests
- Research and development
- Roads and railroads
- Urban and social programs
- Water
Abbreviation: eis
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1985–Current
Subjects: Atmospheric Science, Engineering, Environmental Sciences, Oceanography
Type: Government Publications, Indexes / Catalogs
GeoRef This link opens in a new window
Covers the geology of North America from 1669 to the present and the geology of the rest of the world from 1933 to the present. The database includes references to all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey. Masters theses and doctoral dissertations from US and Canadian universities are covered. Renowned source for geology and earth science.
Coverage Includes:
- Areal geology
- Economic geology
- Engineering geology
- Environmental geology
- Extraterrestrial geology
- Geochemistry
- Geochronology
- Geophysics
- Hydrogeology and hydrology
Abbreviation: georef
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1669–Current
Subjects: Geology, Oceanography, Urban and Regional Planning
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science includes Science Citation Index, Social Science Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Links to some full text.
Tutorials:
Web of Science LibGuide

Abbreviation: webofsci
Vendor: Clarivate Analytics
Subjects: *General Science, *General / Multi-Subject, Engineering
Type: Citation Management, Indexes / Catalogs
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
The electronic full-text version of approximately 650 traditional research journals published by Elsevier and Academic Press. These journals are primarily in the scientific, technical, and medical disciplines.
Domains:

Physical Sciences and Engineering

Chemical Engineering
Chemistry
Computer Science
Earth and Planetary Sciences
Energy
Engineering
Materials Science
Mathematics
Physics and Astronomy

Tutorials:
Online tutorials

Abbreviation: sciencedirect
Vendor: Elsevier
Coverage: 1997–Current
Subjects: *General / Multi-Subject, *General Science, Anthropology, Atmospheric Science, Biochemistry, Biological Sciences, Chemistry, Computer Science, Earth Science, Instructional Systems & Learning Technologies, Mathematics, Medicine, Nursing, Nutrition, Ocean Science, Physics, Public Health
Type: Citation Management, E-Book Collections, E-Journal Collections"

Find Full Text

Often databases and indexes only provide a citation. To find the full text of an article:

Click in a database or "Find it @ FSU" in Google Scholar to be automatically redirected.
Enter citation information into FSU's Citation Linker.
Search the Library Catalog for the title of the journal. The catalog record may have a link to the journal's e-text or list of print holdings.
Request the article through Interlibrary Loan

Meteorology

Databases & Effective Searching

Key Resources & Databases

Physical Sciences and Engineering

Find Full Text

Search Google Scholar