Skip to Main Content

Using Micromaterials in Strozier Library

This is a guide for locating, viewing, and scanning various micromaterials located in the Scholars Commons on the Ground Floor of Strozier Library.

What's the Difference?

Strozier Library has micromaterials in four different formats: microfilm, microfiche, microcard, and microprint. This variety is the result of different companies producing their items in different ways, but there are no major differences between the four formats.

To the right, you can see what these four formats look like, as well as learn how to identify them in the catalog and find out what kinds of materials are in each collection.

Microfilm

Roll of film

All of the microfilm in Strozier has the word FILM at the start of its call number, and is divided into three collections: "FILM," "FILM NP," and "FILM PR."

FILM is the first collection, and is reserved for books, manuscripts, diaries, documents, and other miscellanea. Items in this collection have call numbers with "FILM" appearing first, followed by a number, such as "Film 9200."

Sample item: "Film 9200"

FILM NP is the second collection, and is reserved for Newspapers. Items in this collection have call numbers with "FILM NP" appearing first, followed by a number, such as "FILM NP 23." Each newspaper's collection is organized by date, so you will need to know what day(s) or issue(s) of a paper you will need before you retrieve the film from the shelf.

Sample item: "Film NP 23"

FILM PR is the third collection, as is reserved for Periodicals. Items in this collection have call numbers with "FILM PR" appearing first, followed by a number, such as "FILM PR 290." Periodicals are organized by volume and issue number, so if you are looking for specific articles, you will want to bring full citations with you.

Sample item: "Film PR 290"

Microfiche

Microfiche display

Strozier has a few different microfiche collections, each with its own identifier in the catalog.

MIF is the first set of microfiche in Strozier's collection, and it houses a wide variety of items, including (but not limited to) newspapers, United Nations documents, historical books and pamphlets, and financial statistics. Items in this set have a call number starting with "MIF," followed by a number, such as "MIF 1511."

Sample item: "Mif 1511"

ERIC is a set of microfiche reserved for items published by the Education Resources Information Center, part of the U.S. Department of Education. Items in this set have a call number starting with "MIF ERIC ED," followed by a six digit number, such as "MIF ERIC ED 402 281."

Sample item: "Mif ERIC ED 421 930"

Federal Documents are published as microfiche in addition to being printed on paper. Microfiche from the Federal Government is organized according to the Superintendent of Documents (SuDoc) classification, which is the same system Strozier uses for Federal Documents in print. To tell the difference between the two when searching in the catalog, look at the location of the item, which is usually printed in bold to the left of a call number. Any documents appearing on microfiche will list "STROZIER, Documents Microfiche" as their location.

Sample item in "STROZIER, Documents Microfiche": "NAS1.26: 277593"

Microcard

Microcard display

All of the items in Strozier's Microcard collection begin with the letters"MIC" at the front of their call number.

MIC contains a variety of items, ranging from master theses about Kinesiology to a large collection of British and American plays. Items in this collection have a call number staring with "MIC," followed by a Dewey Decimal Number, such as "MIC 822 Smith."

Sample item: "Mic 822 Smith"

Microprint

Microprint display

All of the items in Strozier's Microprint collection begin with the letters"MIP" at the front of their call number.

MIP is a collection of titles that address several topics, including historical Science texts, Colonial American Newspapers, and proceedings of the British Parliament. Items in this collection have a call number starting with "MIP," followed by a number, such as "MIP 64."

Sample item: "MIP 64"

The Florida State University Libraries
Library Hours | Maps and Directions | Employment | Giving to the Libraries | The FSULib Blog | Library Homepage

Florida State University Libraries | 116 Honors Way | Tallahassee, FL 32306 | (850) 644-2706