Facsimiles of Medieval Manuscripts and Incunabula

This guide organizes the medieval manuscript and incunabula collection by style, theme, and geographic region. Because many of the subcategories overlap each manuscript has been placed in as many categories as possible to maximize search results.

Each individual entry has information about the original production date and location, the manuscript’s unique shelfmark, a brief description of the book, a qualification of the quality and completeness of the facsimile, and the language of the accompanying commentary, if there is one. There are many types of facsimiles, from high-quality reproductions that include even the worm holes and sewing structures of the originals, to black-and-white copies and partial facsimiles that reproduce only the most important illustrations. 

Additional facsimiles can also be found using the library catalog's Advanced Search feature. Simply use one of the following search terms under "Subject Heading" to find materials in Special Collections, the Strozier circulating collections, and the Allen Music Library

Online

Main SCA Website
https://www.lib.fsu.edu/special-collections

Email SCA Staff
lib-specialcollections@fsu.edu

Visit SCA
https://www.lib.fsu.edu/special-collections/visit

FSU Library Catalog
fsu-flvc.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/discovery/search?vid=01FALSC_FSU:Home
Filter results for SCA by selecting "Library > FSU Special Collections and Archives"

FSU Finding Aid Database
archives.lib.fsu.edu

FSU Digital Library
https://repository.lib.fsu.edu/islandora/object/fsu:digital_library

Special Collections & Archives Reading Rooms Hours

Spring 2025

SCA Research Center
110 Strozier Library, Main Floor
(850) 644-3271

Monday 10am - 6pm
Tuesday 10am - 6pm
Wednesday 10am - 7pm
Thursday 10am - 6pm
Friday 10am - 5pm

Claude Pepper Library Reading Room
Claude Pepper Center, 636 W Call St
(850) 644-9217 

Monday 10am - 5pm
Tuesday 110am - 5pm
Wednesday 10am - 5pm
Thursday 10am - 5pm
Friday 10am - 5pm

A special thanks to Art History graduate student Britt Boler for her work updating and organizing this guide!