Facsimiles of Medieval Manuscripts and Incunabula

Gerona, Museu de la Catedral de Girona, MS 7

The Gerona Beatus was commissioned by Abbot Dominicus according to an inscription at the end of the book. The manuscript includes the commentary on the Apocalypse by Beatus of Liébana and Jerome’s commentary on the Book of Daniel. It is one of the most richly illuminated Beatus Apocalypses.

High Quality Color Facsimile

Manchester, John Rylands University Library, Latin MS 8

High Quality Color Facsimile with Spanish Commentary

New York City, Pierpoint Morgan Library, MS M. 644

The Morgan Beatus includes Evangelist portraits, Beatus’s commentary on the Apocalypse, excerpts from Isidore of Seville, Jerome’s commentary on the Book of Daniel, and a final exposition of the Apocalypse. Its brightly saturated colors, schematic figures and shapes, and use of horizontal color bands are some of the features of the Spanish style of manuscript illumination.

High Quality Color Facsimile

Durham, Durham Cathedral Library, MSS A.IV.19

Black and White Facsimile with English Introduction

Paris, Bibliothèque Nationale de France, Ms. Latin 8846

The Anglo-Catalan Psalter was started in Canterbury around the year 1200 and finished in Catalonia much later, around the year 1340. It is connected to the line of psalters that copy the Utrecht Psalter, including the Harley Psalter and the Eadwine Psalter.

High Quality Color Facsimile with English Commentary
Black and White Facsimile with English Commentary

Hildesheim, Dombibliothek

The St. Albans Psalter is a lavish English manuscript with over forty full-page miniatures and the earliest example of French literature in the Chanson de St. Alexis. It was made at St. Albans Abbey and was possibly owned by Christina of Markyate.

High Quality Color Facsimile with English Commentary

Eichstätt, Diocese of Eichstätt Archives, MS Codex B 4

The Pontifikale Gundekarianum is a liturgical book from the 11th century that was owned by the Bishop of Ghent and includes a history of the bishopric until 1697.

High Quality Color Facsimile with German Commentary

Ivrea, Biblioteca Capitolare Ivrea, MS 31 LXXXVI

High Quality Color Facsimile

Cassino, Abbey of Monte Cassino, Codex Casinensis 97

The Herbal of Pseudo-Apuleius was first written in the 4th century and was copied several times throughout the Middle Ages until the 12th century.

London, British Library, Cotton MS Vitellius A. XV

Beowulf is the longest epic poem written in Old English. It is set in 6th century Scandinavia, but was likely passed down orally over many generations. The poem tells the heroic journey of Beowulf, a prince who battles Grendel, his mother, and a gold-hoarding dragon.

Black and White Facsimile with Interspersed Transcriptions

Vienna, Österreichische Nationalbibliothek, Mss. 652

The Liber de Laudibus Sanctae Crucis are pictorial religious poems in the form of “figure poems,” where the creation of visual images are an important part of the genre. The manuscript is a notable work of Carolingian book painting.

High Quality Color Facsimile

Heidelberg, Universitätsbibliothek, MS Cod. Pal. Germ. 112

The Song of Roland is the oldest surviving major work of French Literature. It recounts the Battle of Roncevaux in 778 where Roland, Charlemagne’s nephew, battles Muslim forces in Spain.

High Quality Color Facsimile with German Commentary

Niedersächsische Landesbibliothek (Manuscript I 189)

The Passio Kiliani is a manuscript that contains the biographies of Saints Kilian and Margaret.

High Quality Color Facsimile with English and German Commentary

Oxford, Bodleian Library, MS Hatton 20; London, British Library, MS Cotton Tiberius B.xi; Kassel, Landesbibliothek, MS Anhang 19

The Pastoral Care was originally written as a letter by Pope Gregory the Great to the Bishop of Ravenna. It is a treatise on clergy responsibilities. Augustine of Canterbury took a copy of the manuscript to England in 597. King Alfred the Great eventually translated it into Old English in the late 9th century, making it the oldest known English manuscript.

Black and White Facsimile with English Introduction

London, National Archives, MS E3 1/2

The Great Domesday book is a nearly complete survey of England and Wales. It was ordered by William the Conqueror to determine the state of taxes owed to the king and assess redistribution of property.

High Quality Color Facsimile with English Translations

Paris, Bibliothèque Nationale de France, MS lat. 8878

The Saint-Sever Beatus is a French illuminated manuscript of the Apocalypse and commentary by Beatus of Liébana. It was produced at Saint-Sever Abbey under Abbot Gregori de Montaner.

Color Unbound Plates with French Introduction

Bamberg, Bamberg State Library, Msc.Bibl.140

The Bamberg Apocalypse was probably made at Reichenau, the Ottonian center for manuscript production, for Holy Roman Emperor Otto III. It was inherited by Henry II, who donated it to the religious community he founded in Bamberg.

Black and White Partial Facsimile with German Introduction

Stuttgart, Württembergische Landesbibliothek, Cod. bibl. fol. 56

Black and White Partial Facsimile with German Introduction

No shelfmark.

The Hortus Deliciarum is an illuminated encyclopedia and teaching tool made for novices at the Hohenburg Abbey convent in 1167-85. The manuscript contained compiled texts from various writers, original poetry by Herrad of Landsberg, and 336 miniatures. The original manuscript was burned and destroyed in 1870 but numerous copies remain.

High Quality Color Unbound Plates with French Commentary

Cambridge, Parker Library of Corpus Christi College, MS 2

The Bury Bible was made around the year 1135 for the monastery of Bury St. Edmunds. The abbey’s chronicle indicates that it was painted by an artist called Master Hugo.

Partial Color Facsimile with English Commentary

London, British Library, Cotton MS Tiberius B.V part 1, together with leaves from London, British Library, Cotton MS Nero D. II

Black and White Facsimile with English Commentary

London, British Library, Sign. Add. MS 10546

The Moutier-Grandval Bible was produced around the year 840 at the Monaster of St. Martin in Tours. It is a large-format bible that contains four full-page miniatures.

Color Partial Facsimile with German Commentary

Goslar, Stadtarchiv Goslar, Signatur B 4387

The Gospel of Goslar is a medieval manuscript containing the four Christian Gospels indented for the Neuwerk Monastery in Goslar.

High Quality Color Facsimile with German Commentary

London, British Library, ADD MS 49598

The Benedictional of St. Aethelwold was made in the 10th century for the Bishop of Winchester. It contains the pontifical blessings for the ecclesiastical year and the Feast of the Purification. The manuscript is known for its lavish illumination in the distinct Winchester style.

High Quality Color Facsimile with English Commentary

Saint Petersburg, National Library of Russia, lat. Q. v. I. 18

The St. Petersburg Bede is an ecclesiastical history written by the Anglo-Saxon monk, Bede. This particular copy, including a manual for conversions and calculations of Church calendars, was produced to be exported to the continent around the year 746.

Black and White Facsimile with English Introduction

Leipzig, Stadtbibliothek, signature MS CXC

The Reichenauer Evangelistar is a manuscript that was produced at the Reichenau Monastery in the 10th century. The original wood book cover still contains an appropriated Byzantine ivory carving from the 11th century.

High Quality Color Facsimile