Research Guides: Environmental Science: Electronic Resources

Article Sources (Journals)

Databases & Effective Searching

Article Sources (Databases)

SciTech Premium Collection (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
This database offers full text journals and detailed indexing of global literature on natural sciences, engineering and technology. Includes Proquest's Agricultural, Aquatic, Atmospheric, Biological, Earth, and Environmental Science Collections.
Abbreviation: pstc
Vendor: ProQuest
Subjects: Biological Sciences, Computer Science, Earth Science, Engineering, Information Technology, Material Science, Oceanography
Type: E-Book Collections, E-Journal Collections, Indexes / Catalogs
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science includes Science Citation Index, Social Science Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Links to some full-text.
Tutorials:
Web of Science LibGuide

Abbreviation: webofsci
Vendor: Clarivate Analytics
Subjects: *General Science, *General / Multi-Subject, Engineering
Type: Citation Management, Indexes / Catalogs
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 384,000 records, as well as open-access full text for more than 4,700 records.
Abbreviation: green
Vendor: EBSCO
Coverage: 1898–Current
Subjects: Environmental Sciences, Urban and Regional Planning
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
TOXLINE This link opens in a new window
Bibliographic citations to toxicological, pharmacological, biochemical and physiological effects of drugs and other chemicals. Coverage is international but contains primarily English language items.
Subject coverage:
Air pollution
Antidotes
Biological and adverse effects of drugs
Carcinogenesis via chemicals
Chemically-induced diseases
Environmental chemicals and pollutants
Food additives
Genotoxicity
Hazardous materials
Health and safety
Human and animal toxicity
Industrial and household chemicals
Mutagenicity
Pesticides and herbicides
Radioactive materials
Risk information

Abbreviation: toxline
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1994–Current
Subjects: Biochemistry, Biological Sciences, Engineering, Medicine, Nursing, Psychology, Public Health
Type: Citation Management, E-Journal Collections, Indexes / Catalogs
National Service Center for Environmental Publications (NSCEP) This link opens in a new window
Full text of over 7,000 reports and other documents covering many environmental topics including solid waste disposal, water quality, and pesticide usage and disposal.
Abbreviation: natenviron
Vendor: U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
Coverage: 1941–Current
Subjects: Environmental Sciences, Statistics
Type: Datasets / Statistics, E-Book Collections, E-Journal Collections
BioOne Complete This link opens in a new window
BioOne Complete is a database of more than 200 subscribed and open-access titles in the biological, ecological, and environmental sciences.
Tutorials:
Getting Started with BioOne Complete (pdf)
Searching BioOne Complete

Abbreviation: bioone
Vendor: BioOne
Subjects: Biological Sciences
Type: E-Journal Collections, Indexes / Catalogs
INSPEC (Engineering Village) This link opens in a new window
INSPEC contains over 15 million bibliographic citations and indexed abstracts from publications in the fields of physics, electrical and electronic engineering, communications, computer science, control engineering, information technology, manufacturing and mechanical engineering, operations research, material science, oceanography, engineering mathematics, nuclear engineering, environmental science, geophysics, nanotechnology, biomedical technology and biophysics. Access ends December 31, 2024.
Abbreviation: inspec
Vendor: Elsevier
Coverage: 1969–Current
Subjects: Engineering, Material Science, Physics
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) Index provides materials on public affairs from 1972 to date. Includes articles, books, conference proceedings, government documents, book chapters, and statistical directories about public affairs. Contains a variety of international sources including journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, and more.
Subject coverage:
Administration of justice
Agriculture, forestry and fishing
Banking and finance
Business and service sector
Culture and religion
Economic conditions
Education
Energy resources and policy
Environment
Government
Health conditions
Human rights
International Relations
Labor conditions and policy
Law and ethics
Manufacturing and industry
Media and communications
Military and defense policy
Politics
Population and demographics
Science and technology
Social conditions
Trade
Transportation

Abbreviation: pais
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1972–Current
Subjects: International Affairs, Political Science, Urban and Regional Planning, Public Health, Asian Studies, Latin American & Caribbean Studies, Middle Eastern Studies, Russian & Eastern European Studies
Type: E-Book Collections, E-Journal Collections, Indexes / Catalogs

Find Full Text

Often databases and indexes only provide a citation. To find the full text of an article:

Click in a database or "Find it @ FSU" in Google Scholar to be automatically redirected.
Enter citation information into FSU's Citation Linker.
Search the Library Catalog for the title of the journal. The catalog record may have a link to the journal's e-text or list of print holdings.
Request the article through Interlibrary Loan

Search Google Scholar

Search Google Scholar for scholarly articles. If the full text of an article is not available on the Web, check the journals listing at http://www.lib.fsu.edu/find/journals to see if it's available at FSU.