Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Using Omeka

Omeka is a web publishing platform to create digital exhibits

Item Description Overview

All items in your Omeka archive will have metadata--or the information that will help describe an item. Each item:

  • may belong to one collection; and
  • may be tagged with an infinite number of keywords.

Items will be used to build exhibits.

Each item contains descriptive metadata. By default, Omeka uses the guidelines established in the Dublin Core Metadata Initiative (http://dublincore.org) to standardize item records. This will make the sharing of data across Omeka, and other platforms and installations possible.

What should I enter in the description fields?

Title = Title of the Item (what you want to call the digital object in the exhibit?)

Subject = keyword terms that will help people find and understand the item 

Description = A sentence or two description of the item. (What is the item? What does it show?)

Creator = Who created (or published the item)? This could be the author, the photographer, etc.

Source = Where did you find the item? What archival collection or book or pamphlet, etc. did it come from? What is the title of the collection or book the item came from?

Publisher = Who is publishing the online item? If you are working on a project with Special Collections & Archives, the publisher should be listed as The Florida State University Libraries

Date = Date item was created or published in its physical form, can be approximate but should follow this formatting. 

Examples:

Date="1998-02-16"
Date="1998-02"
Date="1998"

Avoid using "circa," "ca.," "approx.," and full or abbreviated month names. Using the form above (YYYY-MM-DD or YYYY) follows best practices for data interoperability. 

Contributor = Who is putting the item online?

Rights = What are the intellectual property rights associated with the image? If you are working on a project with Special Collections & Archives, cut and paste this statement:

Materials in this site are provided for educational use under fair use as outlined by current U.S. Copyright law and accompanying guidelines. Written permission from The Florida State University Libraries Special Collections & Archives Department or the rights holder must be obtained before using an item for publishing or commercial purposes. 

Relation = Is this item related to any of the other digitized material? If not, you can leave this blank. 

Format = What is the MIME format type of the digitized item?  (See for guidance: http://www.iana.org/assignments/media-types/index.html)

Type = What type of material is the original, physical item? 

Identifier = Unique identifier of object. This could be the ISBN of a published item, the manuscript or archival collection number, the URL of the source material.

Coverage = This can be temporal or spatial coverage -- the date, time period, or location related to the original item. 

Examples:

Coverage="1995-1996"
Coverage="Boston, MA"
Coverage="17th century"
Coverage="Upstate New York"
The Florida State University Libraries
Library Hours | Maps and Directions | Employment | Giving to the Libraries | The FSULib Blog | Library Homepage

Florida State University Libraries | 116 Honors Way | Tallahassee, FL 32306 | (850) 644-2706