Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Citation Analysis

Basics of citation analysis, impact factors and scholarly publishing.

Alternative Sources for Journal Rankings

For an overview on the topic, see the Introduction under the Journal Rankings tab.

A and R Indexes

The A and R indexes are meant to be used with the h-index and are not stand-alone indexes.  The A-index is the average number of citations per "meaningful paper" (Podlubny & Kassayova, 2006).  The R-index clarifies the relationship to the h-index formally (Schreiber, 2008a).

Eigenfactor.org

A free and searchable database, Eigenfactor covers the natural and social sciences and "also lists newsprint, PhD theses, popular magazines and more." The Eigenfactor is now included in Journal Citation Reports.  It continues to be listed here for use on its own.

The website includes an interactive mapping function that shows the relationship of branches of science to each other based on the size of the field and the citations generated by the journals of the field.  Rather than the "soft" categories used in Journal Citation Reports, where a journal may be located in one or more categories, Eigenfactor uses a hard category where a journal can only fit in one discipline.

The website include several quick top ten lists in science, social science, university theses, newspapers, and magazines.

ERA Ranked Journal List

From the Australian Research Council (ARC) Excellence in Research for Australia (ERA) initiative.  The ARC compiled an extensive list of peer-reviewed scholarly journals for the full ERA.  The Ranked Journal List was developed on the basis of expert review and public consultation.  A journal's quality rating represented the overall quality of the journal.  This was defined in terms of how it compared with other journals and should not be confused with its relevance or importance to a particular discipline.  There was a separate list of conference rankings.  In 2011 the Australian Research Council decided not to continue with a ranked journal list.

g-index

Proposed by Egghe in 2006 to overcome a bias against highly cited papers inherent in the h-index. The g-index is the "highest number of papers of a scientist that received g or more citations, on average" (Schreiber, 2008a).

h-index

The h-index, or Hirsch index, measures the impact of a particular scientist rather than a journal.  "It is defined as the highest number of publications of a scientist that received h or more citations each while the other publications have not more than h citations each (Schreiber, 2008a)."  The h-index is included in Web of Science, Scopus, and Google Scholar.  For example, a scholar with an h-index of 5 had published 5 papers, each of which has been cited by others at least 5 times.  More information on the h-index can be found here.

Harzing.com

This site contains resources to assist with academic publishing and the assessment of research and journal quality, as well as downloadable software to conduct citation analysis.

Journal-Ranking.com

This source ranks journals that are indexed by the Science Citation Index.  The website allows you to customize your ranking and is interactive.

SCImago Journal & Country Rank

A free source that uses data from Elsevier's Scopus database and includes journal indicators developed from the information contained in the Scopus database from 1996.  It does not include journal impact factors but does have a number of other indicators, including SCImago Journal Rank (SJR), h-index, and cites per document.  Journals may be ranked by major subject areas, more specific subject categories, SJR, and h-index.

SNIP - Source-Normalized Impact Per Paper

SNIP “[w]eights citations based on the total number of citations in a subject field. The impact of a single citation is given higher value in subject areas where citations are less likely, and vice versa.”

SNIP attempts to correct for varying levels of “citation potential” depending on subject area, immediacy, and other factors.

For a full description of the SNIP algorithm, see Henk F. Moed (2009), "Measuring contextual citation impact of scientific journals."

 

The Florida State University Libraries
Library Hours | Maps and Directions | Employment | Giving to the Libraries | The FSULib Blog | Library Homepage

Florida State University Libraries | 116 Honors Way | Tallahassee, FL 32306 | (850) 644-2706