Skip to Main Content

International Business Research

Trade Blocs & Regional Economic Associations

Main Trade Blocs

Regional Economic Associations


European Union (EU)

European Free Trade Agreement (EFTA)

Europe Agreements

European Economic Area (EEA)

United States and Canada

North American Free Trade Agreement (NAFTA)

Canada-US Free Trade Agreement (CUSTA)

US-Israel Free Trade Agreement

Latin America

Common Market of the South (Mercosur)

Central American Common Market (CACM), also known as  Mercado Comun Centroamericano (MCCA) ‚Äč

Andean Community or Comunidad Andina (CAN)

Latin American Integration Association (LAIA or ALADI)

Caribbean Community and Common Market (CARICOM)


Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS) 

Central African Economic and Monetary Community (CEMAC)

Common Market of Eastern and Southern Africa (COMESA), previously known as Preferential Trade Area for Eastern and Southern African States (PTA)

Southern African Customs Union (SACU)


Association of Southeast Nations (ASEAN)

ASEAN Free Trade Area (AFTA)

Australia-New Zealand Closer Economic Closer Relations Trade Agreement (ANZCERTA)

Source: Gil, E. L. & Reyes, A. (2013). International business research: Strategies and resources. Lanham, MD: Scarecrow Press.

The Florida State University Libraries
Library Hours | Employment | Giving to the Libraries | The FSULib Blog | Library Homepage

Florida State University Libraries | 116 Honors Way | Tallahassee, FL 32306 | (850) 644-2706