Research Guides: Social and Historical Foundations of American Music: Other Resources

Specialized resources

APA PsycTests
APA PsycTests provides access to noncommercial, unpublished psychological tests, measures, scales, surveys, and other assessments. Users can read the summary and purpose of a test, in addition to a history of its development. In many cases, the test instrument is included. When available, test scope, implementation, development, and validity and reliability data are provided.
Examples:
Developmental Measures
Scales for Beliefs, Relationships, or Expectancies
Aggression, Coping, or Functional Status Questionnaires
Racial and Ethnic Identity Scales
Resilience, Anger Response, or Substance Abuse Inventories
Physical Health Related Assessments
Personality Assessments
Educational Measures
Neuropsychological Assessments
Aptitude and Achievement Measures
Competency Measures
Occupational Measures
Intelligence Tests
Military Tests

Abbreviation: psyt
Vendor: American Psychological Association
Coverage: 1896–Current
Subjects: Art Education, Communication, Communication Disorders, Early Childhood Education, Educational Psychology, Exceptional Student Education, Higher Education, Music Education, Psychology, Public Health, Sport Psychology, Teacher Education
Type: Testing / Tutorials
DSM Premium collection
The DSM-5 (Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition) Premium collection provides diagnosis and differential diagnosis, case vignettes to illustrate real-life examples, treatment guidelines, and current research, all within one search and navigation interface that includes journals (e.g., Journal of Neuropsychiatry and Clinical Neurosciences), and books (i.e., DSM-IV-TR, DSM-IV-TR Handbook and Casebook, and DSM archives). Access to FOCUS: The Lifelong learning journal of psychiatry and CME are not included.
Abbreviation: dsmp
Vendor: PsychiatryOnline
Subjects: Medicine, Nursing, Psychology
Type: Datasets / Statistics, E-Book Collections
Health and Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI)
Provides ready access to information on measurement instruments (i.e., questionnaires, interview schedules, checklists, index measures, coding schemes/ manuals, rating scales, projective techniques, vignettes/scenarios, tests) in the health fields, psychosocial sciences, organizational behavior, and library and information science.
Abbreviation: health-psych
Vendor: EBSCO
Coverage: 1985–Current
Subjects: Communication, Communication Disorders, Medicine, Nursing, Nutrition & Integrative Physiology, Public Health
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
Mental Measurements Yearbook with Tests in Print
Mental Measurements Yearbook provides users with a comprehensive guide to over 2,000 contemporary testing instruments. The MMY series contains information essential for a complete evaluation of test products within such diverse areas as psychology, education, business, and leadership.

MMY provides coverage from Volume 1 to the present. Tests in Print (TIP) serves as a comprehensive bibliography to all known commercially available tests that are currently in print in the English language. TIP provides vital information to users including test purpose, test publisher, in-print status, price, test acronym, intended test population, administration times, publication date(s), and test author(s).
Abbreviation: mmyear
Vendor: EBSCO
Coverage: 1983–Current
Subjects: Communication, Communication Disorders, Early Childhood Education, Educational Psychology, Exceptional Student Education, Higher Education, Public Health, Sociocultural and International Education, Sport Psychology, Teacher Education
Type: Testing / Tutorials

Social and Historical Foundations of American Music

Music Ed/Music Therapy Quick Links

Head, Warren D. Allen Music Library

Specialized resources