Resources for Dissertation Writers & Advisors

1. Think about the objectives and aims of your dissertation. Consider the expectations of your advisor and committee regarding the dissertation.
2. Check out the Dissertation Roadmap presentation provided during a previous Dissertation Boot Camp hosted by FSU Libraries.
3. Establish a preliminary timeline for the dissertation project.
4. Review dissertations in your field of study, focusing on research interests and works from your department.
5. Build and utilize dissertation toolkits to facilitate the management and organization of your dissertation project.

• Dissertation Strategies (from UNC Chapel Hill)
  Provides practical advice on starting, drafting, and completing a dissertation.  

Note: More information and resources on dissertation writing are available on the "Guide to Dissertation Writing" page of this guide.

Use  the Dissertation Calculator to plan a timeline for your dissertation journey:


Note: a screenshot from the University of Minnesota Library 

Search Tip  

Global Dissertations

• Dissertations & Theses (Global)

  Proquest Dissertations and Theses database offers access to over 5 million citations to dissertations and theses from around the world from 1637 to the present day together with over 2.7 million full-text dissertations that are available for download in PDF format. Titles published since 1997 are available in full-text. Search by topic, institution, department, advisor, committee members are available. 
  Introduction to ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Database ( PPT handouts)

• Center for Research Libraries' Foreign Dissertations
  Holds more than 800,000 doctoral dissertations from universities outside of the U.S. and Canada. These can be requested through FSU Libraries' Interlibrary Loan. Read more on their dissertation collection. 
   

• Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations
  Browse or search through several ETD collections, typically across multiple institutions at once.

• Open Access Theses and Dissertations (OATD)

  Indexes over 5.9 M open access theses and dissertations around the world. Check out the Recent Additions of the Week. 

• Theses Canada Portal
  Approximately 300,000 records of theses and dissertations on microform in Library and Archives Canada's collection. 
   
• EThOS (Electronic Thesis Online Service from the British Library)
  500,000 doctoral theses produced in U.K. universities. Register free to download the theses.
   
• Dart-Europe E-Theses Portal

  DART-Europe is a partnership of research libraries and library consortia that are working together to improve global access to European research theses. 

FSU Dissertations

• Dissertations & Theses (Florida State University only) (ProQuest)
  This ProQuest database includes dissertations and theses produced in FSU only.  ETDs since 2003.  
• FSU Research Repository's Graduate Theses & Dissertation Collection
  Undergraduate Honors Theses Collection also available in the Repository.   
• FSU Library OneSearch
  Add a keyword(s) to the search, then select Dissertations for the Material Type.  
  

Books

Tools