Research Guides: Chinese Studies: Finding Books

Search the FSU Catalog

LC Subject Headings

Chinese language
Chinese language -- Textbooks for foreign speakers -- English
Chinese literature
Chinese literature -- History and criticism
Chinese poetry
Theater -- China
Art, Chinese
Popular culture -- China
China -- Social life and customs
China -- history
China -- Politics and government

Books

HathiTrust This link opens in a new window
HathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.
Note, you must use the instructions below to access Hathi Trust:

Go to the HathiTrust homepage.
Click on the yellow 'Log In' button.
Select FSU from the drop-down menu and click 'Continue.'
Enter your FSU ID and password and click 'Continue.'

FSU users have full-text access and downloading capabilities for those items in the public domain, including:

US federal government documents
Works published before 1923
Works still protected by copyright, but made available to HathiTrust with the permission of the copyright holder

See also: Research Guide: HathiTrust Digital Library

Abbreviation: hathi
Vendor: HathiTrust
Coverage: 1564–Current
Subjects: *General / Multi-Subject
Type: E-Book Collections, E-Journal Collections
Oxford Scholarship Online This link opens in a new window
A cross-searchable library containing the full text of over 1,100 Oxford books in the areas of Economics and Finance, Philosophy, Political Science, and Religion. Includes full text and abstracts.
Subjects with full text:
Philosophy
Law
Religion
Political Science
Economics and Finance
Psychology

Tutorials:
Take a Tour (PowerPoint, PDF, and video available)

Abbreviation: oso
Vendor: Oxford University Press
Subjects: *General / Multi-Subject
Type: E-Book Collections, Indexes / Catalogs
eBook Collection (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
EBSCO's collection of over 30,000 recently published titles consisting of a broad range of reference, scholarly, popular and professional books. Compatible with all mobile devices, no separate app is required.
Tutorials:
Training Tutorials for EBSCO eBooks

Apps:
EBSCOhost Mobile Applications (website)
Android (PowerPoint)
iPhone (PowerPoint)
Downloading EBSCO eBooks to Your Mobile Device (03:38)

Abbreviation: netlibrary
Vendor: EBSCO
Subjects: *General / Multi-Subject
Type: E-Book Collections

Apabi China Digital Library
Contains 4 independent databases: E-Books, Newspapers(2009-), Yearbooks, Reference Books.
CADAL Collection of the Republic of China ( -1949)
Contain 180,000 books, 20,000 magazines, and 11 million newspapers.
Add / Reorder
Chinamaxx Digital Library
The world's largest and most complete database on Chinese publications. It contains 700,000 collections.
CHANT: CHinese ANcient Texts
Research center for Chinese ancient texts.
Hytung Ancient Book Database
Hytung Books contains more than 15,000 kinds of ancient books, 25,500 contemporary books, and forty million records.
National Library of China
Scripta Sinica: Chinese Text Retrieval System 中央研究院漢籍電子文獻
Full-text database for hundreds of works in classics; history, including the history of Taiwan; law; literature; medicine; and religion.
Wanfang Data 万方数据
An affiliate of Chinese Ministry of Science and Technology and the leading information provider in China since the 1950s; includes five databases: China Academic Conference Proceedings, China Online Journals, Chinese Companies and Products, Dissertations of China, and Policies and Laws of China.

Ancient China by Constance A. Cook
Call Number: FSU STROZIER LIBRARY General Collection 3rd Floor -- DS741.5.M35 2017
Publication Date: 2016
Ancient China by Tony Allan
Call Number: FSU RINGLING MUSEUM Juvenile Collection -- DS 741.5.A55 2007
Publication Date: 2007
Ancient Chinese Warfare by Ralph D. Sawyer
Call Number: ebook
Publication Date: 2011
Ancient Chinese Art by Jane Shuter
Call Number: FSU RINGLING MUSEUM Juvenile Collection -- N 7343.2S55 2001
Publication Date: 2001
Ancient Chinese architecture by Qiao Yun, Sun Dazhang
Call Number: FSU STROZIER LIBRARY Oversize -- NA1543.A5213 1982
Publication Date: 1982
Chinese Historical Microdemography by Stevan Harrell
Call Number: FSU STROZIER LIBRARY General Collection 3rd Floor -- HB3654.A3C4858 1995
Publication Date: 1995
Historical notes on China by Nym Wales [pseud.] Snow, Helen (Foster)
Call Number: FSU STROZIER LIBRARY General Collection 3rd Floor -- DS775.W324 1961
Publication Date: 1961
The Chinese historical review = 中國歷史評論 by Leeds, UK : Maney Pub
Call Number: ebook
Publication Date: 2012-

Chinese Rare Books- Unique, Manuscripts, ect. 哈佛燕京圖書館中文善本特藏稿,钞,孤本(傅斯年圖書館合作項目)
Part of a larger cooperative project is sponsered by Chiang Ching-kuo Foundation with the Fu Ssu-nien Library, the Asian Division of the Library of Congress, and Pinceton University's East Asian Library and Gest Collection, 273 unique or rare Chinese works held by the Harvard-Yenching Library are digitized and become available in HOLLIS.
Chinese Rare Books Collection- Classics & History 哈佛燕京图书馆中文善本特藏- 經,史部(中国国家图书馆合作项目)
Online digital archive of the Chinese rare books in the Harvard-Yenching Library. This includes 1439 titles in the Classics Section. the History Section, 3 volumes of YongLe dadian, and materials in the Qi Rushan Collection on Chinese drama.
Chinese Rare Books Collection- Collectaner Section 哈佛燕京圖書館中文善本特藏- 叢部
307 t., 2073 v.
Chinese Rare Books Collection- Collected Works 哈佛燕京圖書館中文善本特藏- 集部
1,097 t., 10,818 v.
Chinese Rare Books Collection- Oversize 哈佛燕京圖書館中文善本特藏- 特大
40 t., 805 v.
Chinese Rare Books Collection- Philosophy 哈佛燕京圖書館中文善本特藏- 子部
685 t., 7,965 v.
Chinese Rare Books Digitization Project-Christianity 基督教傳教士文獻
Chinese Rare Local Gazetteers 中國珍稀舊方志
763 t., 7,510 v.

China YearBooks
This is the platform of China Statistical Yearbooks database which gathers comprehensive and continuous official statistics.

The China Yearbook. by G. Routledge and Sons
Call Number: FSU STROZIER LIBRARY Subbasement - Ask at Circulation -- JQ1501.A16
Publication Date: 1912-1939
Republic of China yearbook. by Kwang Hwa Pub
Call Number: FSU STROZIER LIBRARY General Collection 3rd Floor -- DS798.92.C54
Publication Date: 1989
China statistical yearbook by Beijing : China Statistical Publishing House
Call Number: FSU STROZIER LIBRARY General Collection 3rd Floor -- HA4631.C45
Publication Date: 1995

Chinese Studies

Browsing the Stacks

Ask a Librarian

Search the FSU Catalog

LC Subject Headings

Books