Research Guides: Evaluating Entrepreneurial Technologies: Tracking Company Technologies

Tracking Current Companies

NetAdvantage (Standard & Poor's) This link opens in a new window
Contains 30-40 page bi-annual surveys of major industries. Includes analysis & comparison of major competitors for each industry.
Abbreviation: nasp
Vendor: Standard & Poor's
Subjects: Business, Communication, Economics, Finance, Hospitality
Type: E-Book Collections
Mergent Intellect This link opens in a new window
Mergent Intellect is a flexible web-based application that features a deep collection of worldwide business information, including private and public U.S and international business data, industry news, facts and figures, executive contact information, the ability to access industry profiles and much more.
Tutorials:
Quick Search Guide (2:25)
Company Advanced Search (2:33)
Build a File (3:11)
Consumer Lifestyle (2:10)

Abbreviation: mergint
Vendor: Mergent
Subjects: Business, Finance
Type: Datasets / Statistics, Directories
PrivCo This link opens in a new window
PrivCo is a source for business and financial data on major privately-held companies, including family owned, private equity owned, venture backed, and international unlisted companies. PrivCo covers over 165,000 companies, including financial data, over 30,000 M&A transactions, and over 15,000 funding rounds. PrivCo also has over 10,000 investors, and advance search options by company, deal or investor, giving you the ability to generate fields of data within seconds based on criteria such as location, sub-industry, revenue and employee sizes, financial backing and more.

Note: create or sign in to your personal user account to access PrivCo.
Abbreviation: priv
Vendor: PrivCo
Subjects: Business, Finance
Type: Datasets / Statistics

Company Entry into Market

To track the movement of companies into an industry or sector, search for articles or press releases about companies in news archives.

Company Exits from Industry

To track exits, search for articles or press releases about companies in news archives. Check company annual reports. Many can be downloaded from the Hoovers Academic database.

Company Mergers & Acquisitions

Information on mergers and acquisitions is available in Lexis/Nexis Academic Universe for public companies. Additional public company information can be found at SEC website in the company annual filing (form 10-K and 10-Q); terms of the deal can be found (form 8-K (events), then form 10-Q and 10-K; finally in Schedule 14A (required vote of stock holders)

Information for mergers and acquisitions can be found at Privco database for private companies.

Merger-Related Announcements can be found in Form 13D (filed by 5% owners) and Form 4 (stock sale by stock holders/insiders).

PrivCo This link opens in a new window
PrivCo is a source for business and financial data on major privately-held companies, including family owned, private equity owned, venture backed, and international unlisted companies. PrivCo covers over 165,000 companies, including financial data, over 30,000 M&A transactions, and over 15,000 funding rounds. PrivCo also has over 10,000 investors, and advance search options by company, deal or investor, giving you the ability to generate fields of data within seconds based on criteria such as location, sub-industry, revenue and employee sizes, financial backing and more.

Note: create or sign in to your personal user account to access PrivCo.
Abbreviation: priv
Vendor: PrivCo
Subjects: Business, Finance
Type: Datasets / Statistics