Research Guides: MAR 4480 Strategic Marketing: Marketing Goals & Objectives

Mission Statements

Use article databases to search for a company's mission statement.Use the following search strategy to start:

"company name" AND ("mission statement" OR "vision statement" OR "company mission" OR "corporate mission" OR "corporate purpose")

If looking on the Internet in Google try:

company name "mission statement"

ABI/INFORM Global This link opens in a new window
ABI/INFORM Global connects business researchers with more of the scholarly information that they need. ABI/INFORM Global contains the full text of thousands of journals, including essential scholarly journals and the most important trade journals. Researchers increasingly need more than just scholarly journals to conduct their research thoroughly and effectively. This is why we have made it easy for them to access thousands of dissertations, working papers, reports, news sources, and much more.
Subjects include:
Business
Economic conditions
Corporate strategies
Management theory
Management techniques
Business trends
Competitive landscape and product information
Accounting
Finance

Set up a My Research Account in ProQuest to save documents, searches, alerts and more (go to the top right corner of any ProQuest database).

Abbreviation: abi-global
Vendor: ProQuest
Subjects: Accounting, Business, Business Legal Studies, Economics, Entrepreneurship, Finance, Insurance, Management & Strategy, Marketing, MIS: Management Information Systems, Real Estate, Risk Management
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Business Source Complete is the world's definitive scholarly business database, providing the leading collection of bibliographic and full-text content. As part of the comprehensive coverage offered by this database, indexing and abstracts for the most important scholarly business journals back as far as 1886 are included. In addition to the searchable cited references provided for more than 1,200 journals, Business Source Complete contains detailed author profiles for the 20,000 most-cited authors in the database. Journal ranking studies reveal that Business Source Complete is the overwhelmingly superior database for full-text journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Additional full-text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.
Abbreviation: bscomp
Vendor: EBSCO
Coverage: 1886–Current
Subjects: Business, Business Legal Studies, Communication, Entrepreneurship, Finance, Hospitality, Insurance, Management & Strategy, Marketing, Real Estate, Retail Entrepreneurship, Sport Management, Urban and Regional Planning
Type: Datasets / Statistics, E-Book Collections, E-Journal Collections, Encyclopedias & Dictionaries, Proceedings, Reports

Marketing Campaigns

Encyclopedia of Major Marketing Campaigns v. 1
summarizes marketing campaigns for 500 leading brands

Marketing Goals & Objectives

Marketing goals are broad, long-term aims that a company wants to achieve, such as increasing brand awareness or market share, while marketing objectives are specific, measurable actions taken to achieve these goals, often following the SMART criteria (Specific, Measurable, Achievable, Relevant, Time-bound)

To find a discussion of a company's marketing goals and sometimes their very specific objectives, you can explore the following resources:

Company Websites: Check the "About Us" or "Investor Relations" sections for strategic plans and annual reports.
Press Releases: Look for announcements about new marketing campaigns or strategic initiatives.
SEC Filings: Review documents like the 10-K or 10-Q for insights into strategic goals.
Industry Reports: Access reports from market research firms that analyze company strategies.
Analyst Reports: Use platforms like Factiva or Bloomberg to find detailed analyst reports.
Social Media: Follow the company's official accounts for updates on marketing initiatives and outcomes.
Interviews and Webinars: Watch interviews with company executives or attend webinars where they discuss strategic goals.
Trade Magazines: Read industry-specific publications that often feature company profiles and strategic insights.
Competitor Analysis Tools: Use tools like SEMrush or SimilarWeb to infer marketing strategies based on online activities.