Research Guides: Diversity &amp; Media: Diversity & Media

Suggested Subject Headings to Find Books, Articles or Films

The following is a short list of Library of Congress subject headings that will be helpful when performing a subject search of film studies.

Databases

Black Drama This link opens in a new window Black Drama contains approximately 1,462 plays by 233 playwrights, together with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. The database also includes selected playbills, production photographs and other ephemera related to the plays.
Abbreviation: bd2
Vendor: Alexander Street, a ProQuest Company
Coverage: 1846-2009
Subjects: African-American Studies, Literature, Theatre
Type: E-Book Collections, Historical / Primary Sources, Images
Chicano Database This link opens in a new window Produced by the Ethnic Studies Library at the University of California, Berkeley, this index covers a wide range of materials focused on the Mexican-American and Chicano experience, as well as the broader Latino experience of Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans and Central American immigrants in the United States.
Abbreviation: chicano
Vendor: EBSCO
Coverage: 1960-Current
Subjects: History, Latin American & Caribbean Studies, Linguistics, Literature, Political Science
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window Ethnic NewsWatch™ includes current journals, magazines, and newspapers from ethnic and independent presses.
- African American/Caribbean/African
- Arab/Middle Eastern
- Asian/Pacific Islander
- European/Eastern European
- Hispanic
- Jewish
- Native Peoples
Abbreviation: ethnicnews2
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1973-Current
Subjects: African-American Studies, Asian Studies, Communication, History, International Affairs, Latin American & Caribbean Studies, Middle Eastern Studies, Political Science, Russian & Eastern European Studies
Type: E-Journal Collections, Newspapers and Newswires
GenderWatch This link opens in a new window A full-text collection of international journals, magazines, newsletters, regional publications, special reports and conference proceedings devoted to women's and gender issues.
Abbreviation: genderwatch
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1970-Current
Subjects: Communication, Psychology, Social Work, Sociology, Women's and Gender Studies
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window Sociology-related topics such as: abuse and neglect, aging, anthropology, criminology, crisis intervention, demography, education, ethnic studies, law and penology, social psychology, urban studies, violence, and women's studies.
Subject coverage:
Culture and social structure
Family and marriage
History and theory of sociology
Organizational sociology
Political sociology
Poverty and homelessness
Race and ethnicity
Social change and economic development
Social control
Sociology of health and medicine
Sociology of education

Abbreviation: socabs
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1963-Current
Subjects: African-American Studies, Anthropology, Demography and Population Studies, Human Development & Family Science, Latin American & Caribbean Studies, Psychology, Public Health, Social Work, Sociocultural and International Education, Sociology, Urban and Regional Planning, Women's and Gender Studies
Type: Indexes / Catalogs

1. 13th (Ava DuVernay) (1:40:02).
2. 5 Tips for Being an Ally (3:31)
3. James Baldwin and Nikki Giovanni: A Conversation (1:56:38)
4. American Son (Kenny Leon) (1:30:00) — Netflix
5. Anarchy in the Classroom (15:00)
6. Black Feminism & the Movement for Black Lives: Barbara Smith, Reina Gossett, Charlene Carruthers (50:48)
7. Black Power Mixtape: 1967-1975 — Available to rent
8. Blindspotting (Carlos López Estrada) — Hulu with Cinemax or available to rent
9. Clemency (Chinonye Chukwu) — Available to rent
10.Dear White People (Justin Simien) — Netflix
11. Debunking the Most Common Myths White People Tell About Race (3:47)
12. Does Race Exist? (7:30)
13. Fruitvale Station (Ryan Coogler) — Available to rent
14. How Studying Privilege Systems Can Strengthen Compassion"| Peggy McIntosh at TEDxTimberlaneSchools (18:26)
15. I Am Not Your Negro (James Baldwin doc) (1:29:25)— Available to rent or on Kanopy
16. If Beale Street Could Talk (Barry Jenkins) — Hulu
17.Just Mercy (Destin Daniel Cretton) — Available to rent for free in June in the U.S.
18. King In The Wilderness — HBO
19. My road trip through the whitest towns in America (12:54)
20. Notes on a Native Son: The world according to James Baldwin (4:06)
21. Race and Whiteness in the Era of Trump (49:26)
22. See You Yesterday (Stefon Bristol) — Netflix
23. Selma (Ava DuVernay) — Available to rent
24. The Black Panthers: Vanguard of the Revolution — Available to rent
25. The Hate U Give (George Tillman Jr.) — Hulu with Cinemax
26. The New Negro (Movie)
27. When They See Us (Ava DuVernay) — Netflix
28. White Privilege in the Classroom (53:26)
29. White Right: Meeting the Enemy
30. Whiteness: The Meaning of a Racial, Social, and Legal Construct (1:55:50)
31. The Fire This Time: Claudia Rankine on Whiteness as a Brand (1:26)

Source: Educational Resources on Diversity & Inclusion (from diversity.fsu.edu)

PBS Black Culture Connection | Ten "Must watch" Black History Documentaries
NPR's Code Sw!tch | List of Books, Films and Podcasts about Racism
USA Today's List of Movies and TV Shows on Racism in America
Time's List of 12 Movies about Racism and Protest History
Netflix
- Array 101: a 4-part miniseries about the false accusation and prosecution of the Central Park Five.
- Learning Companion to Netflix's "13th" : a documentary that explores the history of race and the criminal justice system in the U.S.
PBS Documentaries on Asian Americans and Racism
The Criterion Channel's Black Lives Matter
Charles Burnett Films
For a comprehensive list of videos on racism, see List of Videos on Racism (from Rutgers University). Contact your librarian to check the availability of the title.

Source: Diversity & Inclusion Committee at FSU Libraries

Educational Resources on Diversity & Inclusion (from Diversity.fsu.edu) Includes a list of educational books, articles, podcasts, videos/movies/documentaries, and blogs/social media on diversity, inclusion, anti-racism

Assoc & Orgs

Institutes, Centers, Organizations & Projects
Press or Journalists Associations

Reference Materials

Articles & Reports

Harvard's Nieman Journalism Lab
Local Media Accountability Index - U.S. South (from GLAAD)
Nieman Reports on Diversity in the Newsroom
Normalizing Injustice
Race In the Writers' Room
Studio Responsibility Index (from glaad)
UCLA's Annual Hollywood Diversity Report
USC Annenberg Inclusion Initiative
A think tank studying diversity and inclusion in entertainment through original research and sponsored projects
Where We Are on TV

Diversity & Media

Related FSU Research Guides

Journals & Trade Publications

Communication Librarian