Research Guides: Native American &amp; Indigenous Studies: Native News

Today's News

Seminole Tribune (Hollywood, Fla.)
1984 - present
Link goes to the database Ethnic Newswatch. Search publications for "Seminole Tribune" to limit your search to this publication.
Official newspaper of the Seminole Tribe of Florida.
more...less...
Print editions of the Alligator Times, predecessor to the Seminole Tribune, are available in the FSU Special Collections & Archives.
Indian Country Today
Indian Country Today is an independent nonprofit, multimedia news enterprise, covering the Indigenous world, including American Indians and Alaska Natives.
Indian Country Today covers tribes and Native people throughout the Americas.
Native News Online
Publisher and Editor Levi Rickert is an award-winning American Indian journalist and tribal citizen of the Prairie Band Potawatomi Nation. Founded in 2011, Native News Online reaches millions of Native and non-Native readers annually including American Indians, Alaska Natives, Native Hawaiians and others interested in Native American concerns.
more...less...
Indian Country Media LLC (ICM) is the parent company of Native News Online and Tribal Business News, which covers the Native business sector and the $130 billion Tribal economy. ICM is a privately owned business with several Native and non-Native investors, including managers of the company and Rickert, who is the controlling shareholder.

Historical Newspapers

Indigenous Newspapers in North America This link opens in a new window
Indigenous Newspapers in North America aims to present a diverse and robust collection of print journalism from Indigenous peoples of the US and Canada over more than 9,000 individual editions from 1828–2016.
Abbreviation: aminews
Vendor: Adam Matthew Digital Ltd
Coverage: 1828-2016
Subjects: Anthropology, Cultural Heritage, History
Type: Historical / Primary Sources, Newspapers and Newswires
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Includes 54 Native newspapers, with coverage from the 1980s to the 2000s.Includes the Seminole Tribune (Hollywood, Fla.) from 1984-today.
- African American/Caribbean/African
- Arab/Middle Eastern
- Asian/Pacific Islander
- European/Eastern European
- Hispanic
- Jewish
- Native Peoples
Abbreviation: ethnicnews2
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1973-Current
Subjects: African-American Studies, Asian Studies, Communication, History, International Affairs, Latin American & Caribbean Studies, Middle Eastern Studies, Political Science, Russian & Eastern European Studies
Type: E-Journal Collections, Newspapers and Newswires
Independent Voices This link opens in a new window
Included in this database of alternative press newspapers are several Native publications from the 1960s and 1970s, a period of increased political activism and the "Red Power" movement.
Abbreviation: iv
Vendor: Reveal Digital
Coverage: 1951-2015
Subjects: African-American Studies, History, Women's and Gender Studies
Type: Historical / Primary Sources, Newspapers and Newswires, Open Access

Library of Congress Digitized Newspapers
The Library of Congress has digitized several newspapers from their collections. Ranging from the 1820s to the 1960s, these select titles were published by and/or for Native communities.

Visit the general Newspapers research guide for access to additional newspaper collections. Non-Native newspapers also publish stories about Indigenous peoples, but consider how these non-Native newspapers might cover Indigenous stories differently.

Newspapers
by Kimberly Windham Last Updated Jul 18, 2024 3663 views this year