CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature) Ultimate provides full-text access to nursing and allied health journals and covers over 50 nursing specialties. Additionally, it features full-text quick lessons, evidence-based care sheets, continuing education modules, and nursing instructional videos. PICO (Patient, Population, or Problem; Intervention; Comparison; Outcome) searching is supported.
Tutorials:
CINAHL Databases - Basic Searching Tutorial (Video)
CINAHL Databases - Basic Searching Tutorial (PowerPoint)
CINAHL Databases - Advanced Searching Tutorial (Video)
CINAHL Databases - Advanced Searching Tutorial (PowerPoint)
Using CINAHL and MeSH Headings (Video)
Using CINAHL and MeSH Headings (PowerPoint)
CINAHL Plus with Full Text Pocket Guide (PDF)
CINAHL User Guide (doc, 40 pages)
Using PICO Search in CINAHL Ultimate
Phone Apps:
Android (PowerPoint)
iPhone (PowerPoint)
Abbreviation: cinahlft
Vendor: EBSCO
Coverage: 1937–Current
Subjects: Communication, Communication Disorders, Medicine, Nursing, Public Health
Type: E-Journal Collections, Indexes / Catalogs
Collection of medical books & journals, and a proprietary search engine for MEDLINE. Includes 68 medical books and thousands of video, audio, and image files.
Tutorials:
Ovid Tools & Resources Portal
Abbreviation: ovid
Vendor: Wolters Kluwer
Coverage: 1946–Current
Subjects: Biological Sciences, Microbiology, Medicine, Nursing
Type: E-Book Collections, E-Journal Collections, Images, Streaming Audio, Streaming Video
Prepares full-text systematic reviews of the effects of healthcare. Each Cochrane Review is a peer-reviewed systematic review that has been prepared and supervised by a Cochrane Review Group (editorial team) in The Cochrane Collaboration according to the Cochrane Handbook for Systematic Reviews of Interventions or Cochrane Handbook for Diagnostic Test Accuracy Reviews.
Subjects Covered:
Acute Respiratory Infections (200)
Airways (485)
Anaesthesia (321)
Back (298)
Bone, Joint and Muscle Trauma (278)
Colorectal Cancer (276)
Dementia and Cognitive Improvement (279)
Depression, Anxiety and Neurosis (785)
Eyes and Vision (200)
Heart (209)
Hepato-Biliary (400)
Menstrual Disorders and Subfertility (260)
Musculoskeletal (349)
Neonatal (394)
Neuromuscular Disease (266)
Oral Health (224)
Pain, Palliative and Supportive Care (314)
Peripheral Vascular Diseases (437)
Pregnancy and Childbirth (681)
Renal (245)
Schizophrenia (270)
Skin (296)
Stroke (226)
Upper Gastrointestinal and Pancreatic Diseases (213)
Wounds (208)
Abbreviation: cochrane
Vendor: Wiley
Subjects: Communication Disorders, Medicine, Medicine, Nursing, Public Health
Type: E-Journal Collections
ProQuest’s online version of APA’s PsycInfo covers journal articles, book chapters, books, technical reports, and dissertations in psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines, with comprehensive indexing and abstracts from 1805 to present.
Subject coverage:
Applied psychology
Communication systems
Developmental psychology
Educational psychology
Experimental human and animal psychology
Personality
Psychological and physical disorders
Physiological psychology and neuroscience
Professional personnel and issues
Psychometrics and statistics
Social psychology
Social processes and issues
Sports psychology and leisure
Treatment and prevention
Abbreviation: psycinfo
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1805–Current
Subjects: African-American Studies, Art Therapy, Communication, Communication Disorders, Early Childhood Education, Educational Psychology, Exceptional Student Education, Higher Education, Hospitality, Human Development & Family Science, Instructional Systems & Learning Technologies, Linguistics, Medicine, Music Education, Music Therapy, Psychology, Public Health, Social Work, Sociocultural and International Education, Sociology, Urban and Regional Planning, Women's and Gender Studies
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature including scientific journals, books, and conference proceedings. Scopus provides a comprehensive overview of worldwide research output in the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, along with tools to track, analyze, and visualize research.
FSU provides access to MEDLINE and NutriHealth through the Ovid platform. Either can be searched with subject headings using the methods listed in the video.
© Florida State University Libraries | 116 Honors Way | Tallahassee, FL 32306 | (850) 644-2706