Research Guides: Nursing: Home

Welcome

Welcome to the FSU library nursing research guide. This is a LibGuide dedicated to aid with your research using databases, journals, and articles provided by Florida State University (FSU) Libraries. Please take a look around. There are many resources available and if you have any questions, your subject librarians are happy to help. Our main STEM Library location is Dirac Science Library. FSU's main library is the Robert M. Strozier Library.

Some Useful links:

Best Databases for Nurses

PubMed (NLM) This link opens in a new window
PubMed, is a service of the National Library of Medicine, which provides access to over 16 million MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1960's and additional life science journals. MEDLINE is the primary database used for getting to the subject content of articles in medicine. There are several ways to get to MEDLINE, including OVID and PubMed. The FSU customized version of PubMed links directly from the article reference to the full article for all electronic journals available at FSU.
Tutorials:
PubMed Online Training

See also: MeSH (Medical Subject Headings (MeSH) is the National Library of Medicine's controlled vocabulary thesaurus and will assist you in formulating your successful searches.)

Abbreviation: pubmd
Vendor: National Library of Medicine
Subjects: Biological Sciences, Engineering, Communication, Communication Disorders, Medicine, Music Therapy, Nursing & Integrative Physiology, Public Health, Urban and Regional Planning
Type: E-Journal Collections, Indexes / Catalogs
Embase This link opens in a new window
International biomedical literature from over 95 countries, including 2000+ journals not indexed in PubMed/Medline.
Abbreviation: embase
Vendor: Elsevier
Subjects: Communication Disorders, Medicine, Nursing, Public Health
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window
CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature) Ultimate provides full-text access to nursing and allied health journals and covers over 50 nursing specialties. Additionally, it features full-text quick lessons, evidence-based care sheets, continuing education modules, and nursing instructional videos. PICO (Patient, Population, or Problem; Intervention; Comparison; Outcome) searching is supported.
Tutorials:
CINAHL Databases - Basic Searching Tutorial (Video)
CINAHL Databases - Basic Searching Tutorial (PowerPoint)
CINAHL Databases - Advanced Searching Tutorial (Video)
CINAHL Databases - Advanced Searching Tutorial (PowerPoint)
Using CINAHL and MeSH Headings (Video)
Using CINAHL and MeSH Headings (PowerPoint)
CINAHL Plus with Full Text Pocket Guide (PDF)
CINAHL User Guide (doc, 40 pages)
Using PICO Search in CINAHL Ultimate

Phone Apps:
Android (PowerPoint)
iPhone (PowerPoint)

Abbreviation: cinahlft
Vendor: EBSCO
Coverage: 1937–Current
Subjects: Communication, Communication Disorders, Medicine, Nursing, Public Health
Type: E-Journal Collections, Indexes / Catalogs
Ovid This link opens in a new window
Collection of medical books & journals, and a proprietary search engine for MEDLINE. Includes 68 medical books and thousands of video, audio, and image files.
Tutorials:
Ovid Tools & Resources Portal

Abbreviation: ovid
Vendor: Wolters Kluwer
Coverage: 1946–Current
Subjects: Biological Sciences, Microbiology, Medicine, Nursing
Type: E-Book Collections, E-Journal Collections, Images, Streaming Audio, Streaming Video
MEDLINE (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
This database is a comprehensive collection of journals covering clinical and biomedical literature. The database is updated daily with the full version refresh of the December 14, 2011, release by the U.S. National Library of Medicine to occur prior to March 13, 2012. Covers all areas of medicine, including clinical medicine, experimental medicine, dentistry, nursing, health services administration, nutrition, and much more.
Subject coverage:
Behavioral psychology
Clinical psychology
Developmental psychology
Neurology
Personality, Psychobiology
Psychometrics
Social psychology

Abbreviation: medline-csa
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1989–Current
Subjects: Communication Disorders, Human Development & Family Science, Medicine, Music Therapy, Nursing, Public Health
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
APA PsycInfo (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
ProQuest online version of Psychological Abstracts, 1887 to present. Covers journal articles, book chapters, books, technical reports, and dissertations, in psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines. Some links to full text.
Subject coverage:
Applied psychology
Communication systems
Developmental psychology
Educational psychology
Experimental human and animal psychology
Personality
Psychological and physical disorders
Physiological psychology and neuroscience
Professional personnel and issues
Psychometrics and statistics
Social psychology
Social processes and issues
Sports psychology and leisure
Treatment and prevention

Abbreviation: psycinfo
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1887–Current
Subjects: African-American Studies, Art Therapy, Communication, Communication Disorders, Early Childhood Education, Educational Psychology, Exceptional Student Education, Higher Education, Hospitality, Human Development & Family Science, Instructional Systems & Learning Technologies, Linguistics, Medicine, Music Education, Music Therapy, Psychology, Public Health, Social Work, Sociocultural and International Education, Sociology, Urban and Regional Planning, Women's and Gender Studies
Type: Indexes / Catalogs

Evidence Based Medicine Resources

ClinicalTrials.Gov
ClinicalTrials.gov is a registry of federally and privately supported clinical trials conducted in the United States and around the world.
TRIP Database
TRIP is a clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care.
The Community Guide to Preventitive Services
The Community Guide is a resource for evidence-based Task Force recommendations and findings about what works to improve public health in your local community.
EBM Definitions
A glossary of terms related to Evidence Based medicine
from the Centre for Evidence Based Medicine

Librarian

Jules Bailey

Email Me

Contact:

Dirac 439
jules.bailey@fsu.edu
Chat with Jules

Subjects: Health, Nutrition, and Food Science, Nursing

Off-Campus Login

Almost all of the library's online resources (articles, databases, e-journals, and e-books) are available from off-campus with an active FSU ID and password, the same ID and password you use to login to Canvas.

“To access the Libraries' resources from a distance, start at the Libraries' homepage http://www.lib.fsu.edu . Then, simply enter in your subject in the search box. When you enter it, it should prompt you to login with your FSUID and password.