Asahi Shimbun Cross-Search from the Asahi Shimbun Company is the largest newspaper article database in Japan. It includes 15 million articles and advertisements from more than 135 years of the newspaper, from its first edition in 1879 Meiji 12) to today. The database also contains articles from the magazines 'AERA' and 'Shukan Asahi', a Historical Photo Archive database of approximately 10 thousand photographic records mostly taken in Asia during the World War II period, an English-language News Database, Asahi Graph, Who's Who database, Image Database of Regional pages, and contemporary Dictionary Chiezo.
People's Daily is the most influential and authoritative newspaper in China. It is the official voice of the central government of the People's Republic of China. For the last 70 years, the People's Daily has published daily issues that provide the single location where the central government and the Communist Party of China announce their respective policies and disseminate governmental, political, and economic messages to the public and the world. Most importantly, since its inception the newspaper has been the true barometer of the political climate of Chinese society on a daily basis. Access limited to 2 users.
For microfilm collections of Asian newspapers, do a subject search in the library catalog for "Country Name" and "Newspapers" (e.g. Japan newspapers). Many of these titles must be requested from the Center of Research Libraries which can be done directly from the FSU catalog record.
Consider exploring the history of Asia, international relations, and the experience of Asian-Americans through major United States newspapers such as the New York Times or the Los Angeles Times. While the New York Times may provide deep coverage of relevant U.S. government policies and politics, the Los Angeles Times may provide better coverage of Pacific coast communities and have more sustained interest events abroad in Asia.
Always keep in mind the perspectives of journalists and their intended readers when using newspapers as primary sources.
Provides comprehensive coverage for Southern California's largest daily newspaper. Includes all the articles published since the first issue of the paper in 1881. Provides full-text and full-image articles with digital reproductions of every page, every article and every issue in PDF format. In addition to news stories, includes editorials, letters to the editor, obituaries, birth and marriage announcements, photos, and advertisements. Updates vary, current coverage 1881–1995.
For access to more historical newspapers, visit:
_B20107-12.png)
Manuscripts for the study of Meiji society, culture, ethnology, and education from the papers of Edward Sylvester Morse (18381925). Edward S. Morse was a great polymath notable for his work in natural history, ethnography, and art history, but perhaps most famous for his work in bringing Japan and the West closer together.
The following collections emphasize international and intercultural relations, particularly between Asia and the West.
Formerly restricted British Foreign Office files dealing with China, Hong Kong, and Taiwan between 1919 and 1980. Featuring diplomatic dispatches, letters, newspaper cuttings, political pamphlets, reports of court cases and other materials, this collection represents a constant exchange of information between London and the British embassies and consulates. Due to the unique nature of the relationship between Britain and China, these formerly restricted first-hand accounts provide unprecedented levels of detail into a turbulent period in Chinese history.
Survey the high politics of Independence and Partition, social and cultural interchange after 1947 and the ramifications that these changes continue to have throughout South Asia today. This is an outstanding resource for the political and social history of India, Pakistan, and Afghanistan in this period, featuring essential content on Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Nepal, Bhutan, Sikkim and Kashmir, as well as other frontier regions.
© Florida State University Libraries | 116 Honors Way | Tallahassee, FL 32306 | (850) 644-2706