Don't know if your hometown had a newspaper for a certain year? Search the Newspaper Directory from the Library of Congress to find what newspapers were in print for specific times and places. The directory allows you to search for counties and cities within a state.
What were people in the past reading?
Studying the media that people encountered in the past is a great way to consider what people were thinking and talking about in the past. Publications include a wide range of formats, including books, pamphlets, newspapers, and most recently, websites and social media.
When analyzing a publication, consider the following?
Based on the renowned American Bibliography by Charles Evans. The definitive resource for every aspect of life in 17th- and 18th-century America, from agriculture and auctions through foreign affairs, diplomacy, literature, music, religion, the Revolutionary War, temperance, witchcraft, and just about any other topic imaginable. Contains over 36,000 imprints and more than 2.5 million images.
Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker, 1801–1819 provides a comprehensive set of American books, pamphlets and broadsides published in the early part of the 19th century. It is based on the noted “American Bibliography, 1801–1819” by Ralph R. Shaw and Richard H. Shoemaker. With more than four million pages from over 36,000 items—including 1,000 catalogued new items unavailable in previous microform editions—this digital edition from Readex is an essential complement to Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639–1800, the definitive resource for researching 17th- and 18th-century America.
Formerly American Indian Newspapers, Indigenous Newspapers in North America aims to present a diverse and robust collection of print journalism from Indigenous peoples of the US and Canada over more than 9,000 individual editions from 1828-2016.
This resource reveals the story of war as told by the newspapers that brought information, entertainment and camaraderie to the forces at home and overseas. Explore over 200 titles from key nations across the globe that took part in the world-changing conflict. The collection consists of newspapers published during the war years and the immediate aftermath (1939–1948). Titles from all the key theatres are featured, including some non-English material in German, Czech, Hindi, Russian, French, Italian, Afrikaans, Swahili, and other African dialects.
Abbreviation: snww2
Vendor: Adam Matthew Digital Ltd
Coverage: 1939-1948
Subjects: History
Type: Historical / Primary Sources, Newspapers and Newswires
Additional databases that cover a single newspaper title:
People's Daily is the most influential and authoritative newspaper in China. It is the official voice of the central government of the People's Republic of China. For the last 70 years, the People's Daily has published daily issues that provide the single location where the central government and the Communist Party of China announce their respective policies and disseminate governmental, political, and economic messages to the public and the world. Most importantly, since its inception the newspaper has been the true barometer of the political climate of Chinese society on a daily basis. Access limited to 2 users.
For a more complete listing of newspapers available at FSU, visit the main Newspapers guide.
© 2022 Florida State University Libraries | 116 Honors Way | Tallahassee, FL 32306 | (850) 644-2706