*Primary Sources: A Guide

Note: Access only allows 2 simultaneous users. Electronic Enlightenment reconstructs the extraordinary and vital web of correspondence that made the long 18th century the birthplace of the modern world. EE's unique collection of primary documents, based on scholarly critical editions, gives you a new, richer vision of the early modern world. Like no other resource, EE presents the Enlightenment in context.

• La Revolution et l'Empire (The Writings of 19th century historians on the Revolution and Empire)


• La Critique litteraire (19th Century Literary Works)


• Les Ecrits sur l'art (Writings on Art from the 18th to 20th Centuries)

Complete volumes of all British Government Confidential Print for Africa, from the Colonial, Dominion, Foreign, and War Offices. From coastal trading in the early nineteenth century, through the Conference of Berlin of 1884, and the subsequent Scramble for Africa, to the abuses of the Congo Free State, fights against tropical disease, and more, these government documents are an essential source for the study of African history and the understanding of Africa today.

Complete runs of all British Government Confidential Print volumes relating to the nations of South and Central America. This collection begins in the aftermath of independence for the former Spanish and Portuguese colonies of Latin America, addressing the politics of state-building and the Latin American nations' establishment of their place in the fast-expanding global economy.

Complete volumes of all British Colonial Office and Foreign Office Confidential Print for the Middle East. From the Egyptian reforms of Muhammad Ali Pasha, the Middle East Conference of 1921, the Mandates of Palestine and Mesopotamia and the Suez Crisis in 1956, to the partition of Palestine, post-Suez Western foreign policy and the Arab-Israeli conflict, these government documents inform the volatile situation in the region today.

Explore documents covering a broad sweep of history from c. 1824–1961, taking in the USA, Canada, the Caribbean, and Central America. This collection consists of the Confidential Print for the United States, Canada, and the English-speaking Caribbean, with some coverage of Central and South America. It also covers such topics as slavery, Prohibition, the First and Second World Wars, racial segregation, territorial disputes, the League of Nations, McCarthyism, and the nuclear bomb.

Formerly restricted British Foreign Office files dealing with China, Hong Kong, and Taiwan between 1919 and 1980. Featuring diplomatic dispatches, letters, newspaper cuttings, political pamphlets, reports of court cases and other materials, this collection represents a constant exchange of information between London and the British embassies and consulates. Due to the unique nature of the relationship between Britain and China, these formerly restricted first-hand accounts provide unprecedented levels of detail into a turbulent period in Chinese history.

Survey the high politics of Independence and Partition, social and cultural interchange after 1947 and the ramifications that these changes continue to have throughout South Asia today. This is an outstanding resource for the political and social history of India, Pakistan, and Afghanistan in this period, featuring essential content on Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Nepal, Bhutan, Sikkim and Kashmir, as well as other frontier regions.

From invasions and civil wars to revolutions and revolts, explore a rich period of Middle Eastern History. The Middle East in the 1970s was characterized by its conflicts, with a cast of political figures whose influence can still be felt today. Providing an invaluable resource for researchers and students seeking to understand the modern Middle East, this collection contains complete runs of Foreign Office files, providing an expansive view of key events and their global political impact.

Note: Access only allows 2 simultaneous users. Electronic Enlightenment reconstructs the extraordinary and vital web of correspondence that made the long 18th century the birthplace of the modern world. EE's unique collection of primary documents, based on scholarly critical editions, gives you a new, richer vision of the early modern world. Like no other resource, EE presents the Enlightenment in context.

A ground-breaking and engaging reference work providing 58,700 specially-written signed biographies of the men and women who shaped all aspects of the British past, from the earliest times to the end of the year 2000. State-of-the-art search options, extensive internal cross-referencing, access to articles from the original DNB, and navigation by "themes" combine with rigorous research and scholarship to make the Oxford DNB one of the most innovative and important reference sites available online.