Research Guides: *Business: Country Information

Business Librarian

Email Me

Contact:

Room 0027k
Strozier Library
Basement

850-645-1475

Subjects: Accounting, Business, Data Analytics and Information Systems, Economics, Entrepreneurship, Finance, Insurance, Real Estate, Risk Management, Sports & Recreation Management

How to Find Country Information

1. The Libraries have specialized databases on individual countries and other free online resources on the business customs practiced with the countries. For a full list of the resources, check out our libguide Country Information for Business.

2. Most countries have agencies similar to the SEC in the US that oversee company registration in some way, but availability of the filings will vary greatly.

3. When you conduct a search in foreign countries databases, be aware of spelling variations (e.g., center vs. centre), terminology (e.g, consumer packaged goods vs. fast moving goods), and transliteration issues (e.g., Gadhafi vs. Qaddafi). Industrial classifications may differ as well.

4. If you still need help, please set up a research consultation with the Business Librarian.

Article Databases

Business Source Complete
Once in Business Source Complete, select the "Country Reports" link in the green menu on the right side of the screen. Enter your country name, and you will get a variety of results. Please note the "Political Risk Yearbook" result can be especially helpful, you can find them by clicking on the Publisher tab and then selecting "prs group, inc.".
ABI/INFORM Collection
Once in ABI/INFORM Collection, Advanced Search function one can select the "Document Type" box - "Country Reports" for Fitch Solutions Risk Reports, Charting Economy Reports, EIU Country Forecast, and other reports.

Websites

CIA World Factbook
The CIA World Factbook contains brief information about every country and/or territory in the world. Statistics and information are updated annually so the information is very current.
past volumes in print: STROZIER, Documents General Collection PrEx3.15:
past volumes online: http://permanent.access.gpo.gov/lps35389/
GlobalEDGE Web Portal
This website offers original information as well as links to trusted sites. Comprehensive in scope, it also contains excellent country information. Click "Country Insights" and choose your country by region.
Library of Congress Country Studies
Prepared by the Federal Research Division of the Library of Congress, these studies rank as some of the most popular sources for unbiased and accurate information on world nations. Although a little dated, they are still one of the best sources of information on almost any area of a country.
NationMaster: Where Stats Come Alive!
The NationMaster database is a collection of world statistics. Search by categories or countries to see rankings in over 5000 categories. See which country has the most soldiers or is the most generous or drinks the most bottled water.
Export.gov: The US Government's Export Portal
For specific country data, click on "Market Research" on the side menu and then click on the "Market Research Library" link. At the search screen, you will need to use the drop down menus to find the particular country/region in which you are interested. Choose "Commercial Country Guides," under Report type for information on doing business in a particular country.