County Data
This is the "Home" page of the "Florida Historical Data" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Florida Historical Data   Tags: crime, data, economics, education, florida, health, history, local, population, statistics  

This guide will help you locate some of the historical data that is buried in often overlooked Florida documents and other resources. Some of these resources are especially hard to find because they are not cataloged.
Last Updated: Dec 18, 2014 URL: http://guides.lib.fsu.edu/floridahistory Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 

Starting Out

  • Florida Statistical Abstract on CD-Rom
    STROZIER, Documents Florida Ground Floor -- HA311.F55/CD 1993/95-2007
  • Florida Statistical Abstract
    STROZIER, Documents Florida Ground Floor -- HA311.F55
    Latest ed. at Ready Reference, 1st ed. (1967)-38th ed. (2004), 40th ed.(2006)-43rd ed.(2009)

Databases

  • Florida Heritage Collection (FHAC)
    An ongoing cooperative SUS (State University System of Florida) project to digitize and provide web access to materials broadly representing Florida's history, culture, arts, literature, sciences and social sciences.
  • Florida Memory
    Online portal to historical collections at Florida�s state library. Features include the Florida Photographic Collection, Online Classroom, Highlights of Florida History, Collections, and Timeline.
  • PALMM Collections
    PALMM (Publication of Archival, Library & Museum Materials) is a program of the libraries of the Florida Board of Education's Division of Colleges and Universities (DCU) designed to provide support to individual and cooperative digital library initiatives.
  • Florida Documents Index
    Identifies publications housed in the Florida Documents Collection at Florida Atlantic University (FAU). The collection includes public documents distributed by the State Library of Florida since 1967 under the Florida Public Documents Depository Program. FSU does not use the same call numbers displayed in this database.
  • Social Explorer
    Contains historical decennial census data for the United States from 1790 to the latest census, the American Community Survey, the American Religious Bodies (ASARB), and InfoGroup for latest religion data . Can create reports and download data in convenient formats quickly and easily. Only 1 simultaneous user is allowed.
 

Florida Historical Documents

Our Florida Documents are in 2 different call number systems. The earliest documents were originally classed in the Dewey Decimal System, (and most of them have been re-classed to Library of Congress (LC)) and then later into the Library of Congress call number system. The most recent system is a made up system called, Fla-Doc where the books are classed by the agency that produced them. For some serials, we tended to keep them in the Dewey numbers as we acquired later years and that is why many of our historical documents are in the Florida documents Dewey call numbers. You could also locate material by browsing the shelf around the call numbers that are displayed below, because many of the documents are not in the online catalog. One example of this is the Florida Health Notes found in  Dewey 610.5 F636. Below are some examples of the rich collection we have. All of these books are on the ground floor of Strozier Library in the Florida section of the Documents collection.

Florida Vital Statistics STROZIER, Documents -- Florida -- HA38.F6 F56 Includes most years 1937-present. Online, 1998-present.

Florida Health Notes STROZIER Documents -- Florida --RA44.B3, 1928-1972.

Florida Morbidity Statistics STROZIER Documents -- Florida -- Fla-Doc HEA3. M56

Florida State Board of Health Annual Report STROZIER Documents -- Florida -- RA44.B1, 1898-1974 (may have scattered years)

Florida State Welfare Board Annual Report 1937-1973 (may have scattered years)

Nutrition Today STROZIER Documents -- Florida -- RA784.N85 1971-1996 and in Film PR, 1966-1999. Later years in the OVID database.

Public Assistance in Florida STROZIER Documents -- Florida -- 360.9759 F686 L51p, 1951-52.

 

Websites

See also the websites listed on the Archives and Repository tab for this libguide.

  • Florida History
    This site contains many historical Florida government documents from the University of Florida Digital Collections.
  • WPA Life Histories from Florida
    Mostly first-person accounts of life in Florida collected during the Great Depression conducted by Project worker interviewers.
  • Florida Folklore from the WPA Collection
    This collection documents African-American, Arabic, Bahamian, British-American, Cuban, Greek, Italian, Minorcan, Seminole, and Slavic cultures throughout Florida.

Atlases

Selected Agency Annual Reports

  • Report of the Secretary of State of the State of Florida
    Contains election data, lists of state officers, including boards and commissions, judges, notaries and state attorneys, state expenses, county population, etc. (not all volumes contain the same information)
    FSU STROZIER, Documents Florida Ground Floor -- J87.F64, 1881-1974.
  • Annual report of the Division of Banking
    Contains "reports of condition of state banks and trust companies, building and loan associations and comparative statistics."
    STROZIER, Documents Florida Ground Floor -- HG2611.F6F62, 1913, 1915,1924,1927-95

Research Librarian: Humanities

Profile Image
Sarah Buck Kachaluba
Contact Info
Research Librarian
Robert Manning Strozier Library
116 Honors Way
PO Box 3062047
Tallahassee, FL 32306-2047
(850) 645-2600
sbuckkachaluba@fsu.edu
Send Email

Rare Books and Special Collections Librarian

Profile Image
William M. Modrow, University Librarian
Contact Info
Special Collections and Archives Division
Office: 850-644-1967
Dept: 850-644-3271
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip