Research Guides: Interior Design: Home

Welcome

Welcome to the FSU Libraries' Interior Architecture and Design Research Guide

Mies Van Der Rohe, Barcelona Chairs, 1929.

Catalog Tips and Tricks

These are my recommendations for your best bets in researching Interior Architecture and Design topics. For additional links and resources please see the navigation bar on the left side of this research guide.

ABI/INFORM Global This link opens in a new window
ABI/INFORM Global connects business researchers with more of the scholarly information that they need. ABI/INFORM Global contains the full text of thousands of journals, including essential scholarly journals and the most important trade journals. Researchers increasingly need more than just scholarly journals to conduct their research thoroughly and effectively. This is why we have made it easy for them to access thousands of dissertations, working papers, reports, news sources, and much more.
Subjects include:
Business
Economic conditions
Corporate strategies
Management theory
Management techniques
Business trends
Competitive landscape and product information
Accounting
Finance

Set up a My Research Account in ProQuest to save documents, searches, alerts and more (go to the top right corner of any ProQuest database).

Abbreviation: abi-global
Vendor: ProQuest
Subjects: Accounting, Business, Business Legal Studies, Economics, Entrepreneurship, Finance, Insurance, Management & Strategy, Marketing, MIS: Management Information Systems, Real Estate, Risk Management
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
Applied Science & Technology Source This link opens in a new window
Applied Science & Technology Source focuses on traditional engineering challenges and research, as well as research concerning the business and social implications of new technology.
Abbreviation: asts
Vendor: EBSCO
Coverage: 1983-Current
Subjects: Engineering, Business
Type: E-Book Collections, E-Journal Collections
Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new window
Art & Architecture Source is the largest full-text art research database covering fine, decorative and commercial art, as well as architecture and architectural design. With strong international coverage, it offers hundreds of full-text art journals, magazines and books, plus detailed indexing and abstracts and thousands of images.
Abbreviation: eas
Vendor: EBSCO
Coverage: 1914-present
Subjects: Architecture, Art Education, Art History, Art Therapy, Arts Administration, Cultural Heritage, Interior Design, Museum Studies, Studio Art, Urban and Regional Planning
Type: E-Journal Collections, Indexes / Catalogs
ARTstor This link opens in a new window
ARTstor is a digital library more than 1.5 million images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes.
The ARTstor Digital Library is used by educators, scholars, and students at a variety of institutions including universities, colleges, museums, public libraries, and K-12 schools. The Digital Library serves users both within the arts and in disciplines outside of the arts. This includes historians of art and architecture and others engaged in the visual arts, as well as individuals in fields as diverse as American Studies, Anthropology, Asian Studies, Classical Studies, Literary Studies, Medieval Studies, Music, Religious Studies, and Renaissance Studies, all of whom find the images in ARTstor to be relevant to their teaching and research.

Tutorials:
Using ARTstor
Training videos on YouTube

Abbreviation: artstor
Vendor: ARTstor
Subjects: Archaeology, Architecture, Art Education, Art History, Art Therapy, Classics, Cultural Heritage, Interior Design, Museum Studies, Studio Art
Type: Images
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new window
The Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals offers a comprehensive listing of journal articles on architecture and design, including bibliographic descriptions on subjects such as the history and practice of architecture, landscape architecture, city planning, historic preservation, and interior design and decoration.
Set up a My Research Account in ProQuest to save documents, searches, alerts and more (go to the top right corner of any ProQuest database)

Abbreviation: avery
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1865-Current
Subjects: Architecture, Art History, Interior Design, Urban and Regional Planning
Type: Indexes / Catalogs

Use the Library of Congress Classification Outline to browse for books in your subject area. Here are some examples in for Interior Design and Architecture to get you started:

HF (5429) --- Stores, Retail
N --- Fine Arts and Art History
NA --- Architecture
NA (2700-2728) --- Drafting and CAD
NA (7100-7909) --- Domestic Architecture
NB --- Sculpture
NC --- Drawing, Design, and Illustration
NK --- Decorative Arts
NK (1700-3599) --- Interior Design
NK (2200-2750) --- Furniture
NK (3175-3296.3) --- Upholstery and Drapery
NK (3375-3496.3) --- Wallpapers
NX --- Arts in General
T (385) --- CAD
TH (7703-7900) --- Lighting
TP (890-933) --- Textile Dying
TP (934-1079) --- Paints
TT 697-9999) --- Home Arts

The following are just a few subject headings that may be used when searching the Libraries' catalog:

Architecture
Architecture -- domestic
Barrier-free design
Color in interior design
Design -- furniture
Dwellings
Interior architecture
Interior decoration
Interior decoration -- environmental aspects
Lighting (architectural and decorative)
Office buildings
Store decoration
Sustainable architecture
Sustainable design
Textile industry
Women interior designers

http://beets1278.blogspot.com/2012/10/boolean-logic-is-not-logical.html

These FSU Research Guides may be of interest to your research; a full list of guides can be found here. Each guide will also include contact information for the subject librarian in that area of study: