Research Guides: Health, Nutrition, and Food Sciences: Home

Welcome

Welcome to the Health, Nutrition, and Food Sciences research guide. This guide was created to help you navigate the various STEM databases, journals, and articles provided by Florida State University (FSU) Libraries and beyond. If you have any questions or would like us to add something to this guide, your academic liaison is happy to help. Our main STEM Library location is Dirac Science Library. FSU's main library is the Robert M. Strozier Library.

Some useful links:

HNFS Databases (best bets)

PubMed (NLM) This link opens in a new window
PubMed, is a service of the National Library of Medicine, which provides access to over 16 million MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1960's and additional life science journals. MEDLINE is the primary database used for getting to the subject content of articles in medicine. There are several ways to get to MEDLINE, including OVID and PubMed. The FSU customized version of PubMed links directly from the article reference to the full article for all electronic journals available at FSU.
Tutorials:
PubMed Online Training

See also: MeSH (Medical Subject Headings (MeSH) is the National Library of Medicine's controlled vocabulary thesaurus and will assist you in formulating your successful searches.)

Abbreviation: pubmd
Vendor: National Library of Medicine
Subjects: Biological Sciences, Engineering, Communication, Communication Disorders, Medicine, Music Therapy, Nursing & Integrative Physiology, Public Health, Urban and Regional Planning
Type: E-Journal Collections, Indexes / Catalogs
SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
SPORTDiscus with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive source of full text for sports & sports medicine journals, providing full text for more than 550 journals indexed in SPORTDiscus.
Abbreviation: sport
Vendor: EBSCO
Coverage: 1985–Current
Subjects: Hospitality, Nutrition & Integrative Physiology, Sport Management
Type: Citation Management, E-Book Collections, E-Journal Collections, Indexes / Catalogs
Visible Body: Human Anatomy Atlas This link opens in a new window
3D models for nervous, skeletal, circulatory, muscular, digestive, urinary, lymphatic, endocrine, and reproductive systems.
Graphic intensemay take a few minutes to launch on your computer.

Abbreviation: vbhaa
Vendor: Wolters Kluwer
Subjects: Communication Disorders, Medicine, Nursing, Nutrition & Integrative Physiology
Type: Streaming Video
Visible Body: Physiology & Pathology This link opens in a new window
Interactive guide to core processes and common diseases of the human body.
Graphic intensemay take a few minutes to launch on your computer.

Abbreviation: vbpp
Vendor: Wolters Kluwer
Subjects: Medicine, Nursing
Type: Streaming Video
Nutrition Care Manual (10 concurrent user limit) This link opens in a new window
Nutrition Care Manual provides instant access to the largest client education library of nutrition education materials, cutting-edge clinical nutrition recommendations, and a customizable diet manual with continuous updates.
Nutrition Care Manual only allows access for 10 FSU users at one time.

Abbreviation: ncman
Vendor: Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics
Subjects: Health, Nutrition, and Food Science
Type: Datasets / Statistics, Standards

Academic Liaison

Jules Bailey

Email Me

Contact:

Dirac 439
jules.bailey@fsu.edu
Chat with Jules

Subjects: Health, Nutrition, and Food Science, Nursing