Research Guides: Health, Nutrition, and Food Sciences: Start Your Research HERE

Find and Borrow

Find and Borrow
Access OneSearch for items owned by the FSU Libraries; access UBorrow and Interlibrary Loan to search for and request items owned by other institutions.

Finding FSU Resources

Database Tutorials

HNFS Databases

PubMed (NLM) This link opens in a new window
PubMed, is a service of the National Library of Medicine, which provides access to over 16 million MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1960's and additional life science journals. MEDLINE is the primary database used for getting to the subject content of articles in medicine. There are several ways to get to MEDLINE, including OVID and PubMed. The FSU customized version of PubMed links directly from the article reference to the full article for all electronic journals available at FSU.
Tutorials:
PubMed Online Training

See also: MeSH (Medical Subject Headings (MeSH) is the National Library of Medicine's controlled vocabulary thesaurus and will assist you in formulating your successful searches.)

Abbreviation: pubmd
Vendor: National Library of Medicine
Subjects: Biological Sciences, Engineering, Communication, Communication Disorders, Medicine, Music Therapy, Nursing & Integrative Physiology, Public Health, Urban and Regional Planning
Type: E-Journal Collections, Indexes / Catalogs
SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
SPORTDiscus with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive source of full text for sports & sports medicine journals, providing full text for more than 550 journals indexed in SPORTDiscus.
Abbreviation: sport
Vendor: EBSCO
Coverage: 1985–Current
Subjects: Hospitality, Nutrition & Integrative Physiology, Sport Management
Type: Citation Management, E-Book Collections, E-Journal Collections, Indexes / Catalogs
Visible Body: Human Anatomy Atlas This link opens in a new window
3D models for nervous, skeletal, circulatory, muscular, digestive, urinary, lymphatic, endocrine, and reproductive systems.
Graphic intensemay take a few minutes to launch on your computer.

Abbreviation: vbhaa
Vendor: Wolters Kluwer
Subjects: Communication Disorders, Medicine, Nursing, Nutrition & Integrative Physiology
Type: Streaming Video
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
The electronic full-text version of approximately 650 traditional research journals published by Elsevier and Academic Press. These journals are primarily in the scientific, technical, and medical disciplines.
Domains:

Physical Sciences and Engineering

Chemical Engineering
Chemistry
Computer Science
Earth and Planetary Sciences
Energy
Engineering
Materials Science
Mathematics
Physics and Astronomy

Tutorials:
Online tutorials

Abbreviation: sciencedirect
Vendor: Elsevier
Coverage: 1997–Current
Subjects: *General / Multi-Subject, *General Science, Anthropology, Atmospheric Science, Biochemistry, Biological Sciences, Chemistry, Computer Science, Earth Science, Instructional Systems & Learning Technologies, Mathematics, Medicine, Nursing, Nutrition, Ocean Science, Physics, Public Health
Type: Citation Management, E-Book Collections, E-Journal Collections"
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science includes Science Citation Index, Social Science Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Links to some full text.
Tutorials:
Web of Science LibGuide

Abbreviation: webofsci
Vendor: Clarivate Analytics
Subjects: *General Science, *General / Multi-Subject, Engineering
Type: Citation Management, Indexes / Catalogs

Health, Nutrition, and Food Sciences

Find and Borrow

Finding FSU Resources

Database Tutorials

HNFS Databases

Physical Sciences and Engineering