Research Guides: Health, Nutrition, and Food Sciences: HUN5802 9/24/24

Search Builder Exercise

Search builder exercise
Download and fill out in class.
Example
I wrote this for a different course, so we may not be using all of the same databases listed here. If this doesn't make sense to you, don't panic--we will talk about it in class on 9/24.

Tools

MeSH database
Use this link to find PubMed controlled vocabulary terms that you will combine with your keyword terms when searching. Search one term at a time. You are searching for the MeSH terms themselves here, not for articles.
MedSyntax
Copy and paste your search string here for a quick visualization. It will also warn you if you are missing any quotation marks, parentheses, or brackets.
Yale MeSH Analyzer
Found a few good articles on PubMed, but need more? Copy and paste the PMIDs into the box, separating each with a space, for a chart listing article information, MeSH terms, and author-assigned keywords.
Polyglot Search
Polyglot can help translate a PubMed search for other select database. Always check this output against each database's controlled vocabulary! This is part of the SR Accelerator, which contains other applications on the sidebar that you might find useful.

Research Databases

PubMed (NLM) This link opens in a new window
PubMed, is a service of the National Library of Medicine, which provides access to over 16 million MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1960's and additional life science journals. MEDLINE is the primary database used for getting to the subject content of articles in medicine. There are several ways to get to MEDLINE, including OVID and PubMed. The FSU customized version of PubMed links directly from the article reference to the full article for all electronic journals available at FSU.
Tutorials:
PubMed Online Training

See also: MeSH (Medical Subject Headings (MeSH) is the National Library of Medicine's controlled vocabulary thesaurus and will assist you in formulating your successful searches.)

Abbreviation: pubmd
Vendor: National Library of Medicine
Subjects: Biological Sciences, Engineering, Communication, Communication Disorders, Medicine, Music Therapy, Nursing & Integrative Physiology, Public Health, Urban and Regional Planning
Type: E-Journal Collections, Indexes / Catalogs
Embase This link opens in a new window
International biomedical literature from over 95 countries, including 2000+ journals not indexed in PubMed/Medline.
Abbreviation: embase
Vendor: Elsevier
Subjects: Communication Disorders, Medicine, Nursing, Public Health
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
SPORTDiscus with Full Text is the world's most comprehensive source of full text for sports & sports medicine journals, providing full text for more than 550 journals indexed in SPORTDiscus.
Abbreviation: sport
Vendor: EBSCO
Coverage: 1985–Current
Subjects: Hospitality, Nutrition & Integrative Physiology, Sport Management
Type: Citation Management, E-Book Collections, E-Journal Collections, Indexes / Catalogs
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science includes Science Citation Index, Social Science Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. Links to some full text.
Tutorials:
Web of Science LibGuide

Abbreviation: webofsci
Vendor: Clarivate Analytics
Subjects: *General Science, *General / Multi-Subject, Engineering
Type: Citation Management, Indexes / Catalogs

Funding

Pivot This link opens in a new window
Pivot allows researchers and research administrators to identify new funding resources and potential collaborators while offering unparalleled insights and short-cuts to help research organizations win a larger share of available funding. Pivot contains funding opportunities for all disciplines and project types and includes information from the widest collection of federal, private, and international funding sponsors.
Note: You must access Pivot from a university computer if you have not already set up a user name and password.

An account is required to use Pivot:
1. Click on the Sign-up link in the upper right of the screen
2. Fill in all required fields
3. Use your institutional-assigned email address (this will be your User ID)
4. Create a password
5. Find and Select our institution from the Institution pull-down menu
6. Click the Create my account button and Pivot will send you an email to the address you supplied; in the email will be a verification URL
7. Click on the URL and you can begin using Pivot right away

Tutorials:
Guides (DOCs & PDFs)
Training (videos)

Pivot is provided by the Florida State University Office of Research.

Abbreviation: pivot
Vendor: ProQuest
Type: Grant Information
Grants.gov This link opens in a new window
A useful source for locating and applying for Federal government grants. Provide a common website for federal agencies to post discretionary funding opportunities and for grantees to find and apply to them.
Abbreviation: grantsgov
Vendor: U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
Subjects: Public Health, Urban and Regional Planning
Type: Open Access

NIH Grants & Funding
NIH offers funding for many types of grants, contracts, and even programs that help repay loans for researchers. Learn about these programs, as well as about NIH's budget process, grant funding strategies, and policies, and more.
FSU Tools and Resources to Locate Funding
From the FSU Office of Research Development - includes a 'finding funding' module.

Health, Nutrition, and Food Sciences

Search Builder Exercise

Tools

Research Databases

Funding

Post-Class Survey

Resources