Research in FSU Special Collections & Archives

The materials housed within Special Collections & Archives can only be accessed in either the Strozier Library Reading Room or the Pepper Library. Please be aware that some materials are stored offsite and may take up to 2 weeks to arrive to campus for use. More information on recalling materials from offsite storage can be found further down on this page.

Strozier Reading Room

The Strozier Reading Room is located on the first floor, straight ahead from the turnstiles.

Claude Pepper Library

The Claude Pepper Library Reading Room is located within the Claude Pepper Museum at 636 W. Call Street. When you enter the building, please proceed straight back through the museum to reach the reading room.

• Once you have arrived, check in at the reference desk at the front of either reading room.
• You will be prompted to fill out a registration form if you have not already done so in the last year, or you can pre-register online using the link below.
• Once you have checked in, please place your belongings in the provided cabinets (keys available upon request). The reference desk attendant will briefly go over some of the pertinent guidelines for the Reading Room such as no food or drink and no ink is permitted while viewing materials. See the link below for the full list of Reading Room guidelines.
• Once you are seated at a table, be prepared to look over the materials and take notes during your visit because materials can not be checked out of the Reading Room. Photographs without flash are permitted on a case-by-case basis and the Reading Room is equipped with a KIC scanner which may also be used on a case-by-case basis upon request.

A large portion of materials for FSU Special Collections & Archives are now being stored offsite but can be recalled to campus for your use. You will receive an email when your requested item arrives on campus, you can visit it during walk-in hours in the Strozier Reading Room.

For manuscript collections, the finding aid will have a note in "Conditions Governing Access" that mentions if the material is stored offsite.

If you would like to request an item from offsite storage or are unsure if an item you would like to see if available on campus, you can always email lib-specialcollections@fsu.edu for assistance.

Online

Main SCA Website
https://www.lib.fsu.edu/special-collections

Email SCA Staff
lib-specialcollections@fsu.edu

Visit SCA
https://www.lib.fsu.edu/special-collections/visit

FSU Library Catalog
fsu-flvc.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/discovery/search?vid=01FALSC_FSU:Home
Filter results for SCA by selecting "Library > FSU Special Collections and Archives"

FSU Finding Aid Database
archives.lib.fsu.edu

FSU Digital Library
https://repository.lib.fsu.edu/islandora/object/fsu:digital_library

Special Collections & Archives Reading Rooms Hours

Fall 2024

SCA Research Center
110 Strozier Library, Main Floor
(850) 644-3271

Monday 10am - 6pm
Tuesday 10am - 6pm
Wednesday 10am - 7pm
Thursday 10am - 6pm
Friday 10am - 5pm

Claude Pepper Library Reading Room
Claude Pepper Center, 636 W Call St
(850) 644-9217 

Monday 10am - 5pm
Tuesday 110am - 5pm
Wednesday 10am - 5pm
Thursday 10am - 5pm
Friday 10am - 5pm