Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Emmett Till Archives: Home

Special Collections & Archives

Online

Main SCA Website
lib.fsu.edu/specialcollections

Email SCA Staff
lib-specialcollections@fsu.edu

FSU Library Catalog
fsu-flvc.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/discovery/search?vid=01FALSC_FSU:Home
Filter results for SCA by selecting "Library > FSU Strozier, Special Coll"

FSU Finding Aid Database
archives.lib.fsu.edu

FSU Digital Library
diginole.lib.fsu.edu/islandora/object/fsu:digital_library

Special Collections & Archives Reading Rooms

SCA Research Center
110 Strozier Library, Main Floor
(850) 644-3271

Monday 12-6pm
Tuesday 12-6pm
Wednesday 12-7pm
Thursday 12-6pm
Friday 12-5pm

Claude Pepper Library Reading Room
Claude Pepper Center, 636 W Call St
(850) 644-9217

Monday - Appointment Only
Tuesday - 1-5pm
Wednesday -1-5pm
Thursday - 1-5pm
Friday - Appointment Only

Emmett Till Archives

The Emmett Till Archives at Florida State University Libraries consists of primary and secondary source material related to the life, murder, and memory of Emmett Louis Till.  Florida State University Libraries partners with the Emmett Till Interpretive Center, the Emmett Till Memory Project, and other institutions and private donors to collect, preserve, and provide access to the ongoing story of Emmett Till.  The Till Archives includes newspapers, magazines, oral histories, photographs, government records, scholarly literature, creative works, and other materials documenting the Till case and its commemoration, memorialization, and discussion in scholarship and popular culture.

Materials in the Till Archives are available to the FSU community and general public upon request in the Special Collections Research Center reading room.  Access to audiovisual material may require advance notice to Special Collections staff.  Researchers can browse and download selected Till materials in the Diginole online repository.

If you have further questions about researcher and instructor access to the Till Archives, or would like to request copies of materials, please contact Special Collections & Archives staff at (850) 644-3271 or lib-specialcollections@fsu.edu.

Explore the tabs above to learn more about the Emmett Till Archives in FSU Special Collections & Archives, as well as additional resources for Till scholars at FSU and beyond.

Collections Highlights

Books

Motion Pictures

  • Keith Beauchamp (director). (2005). The Untold Story of Emmett Louis Till [motion picture]. USA: Velocity/Thinkfilm. https://youtu.be/bvijYSJtkQk

Commemorative Organizations

Web Resources

The Emmett Till Archives are always growing, and FSU Special Collections & Archives is actively seeking donations of materials related to the life, death, and memory of Emmett Till, including but not limited to books, magazines, newspapers, personal papers, interviews, legal records, photographs, motion pictures, and digital versions of all of the preceding.

If you know of materials that might be appropriate for donation to the Emmett Till Archives, please contact Associate Dean Katie McCormick at kmccormick@fsu.edu or (850) 644-6167.

Emmett Louis Till

The Florida State University Libraries
Library Hours | Maps and Directions | Employment | Giving to the Libraries | The FSULib Blog | Library Homepage

Florida State University Libraries | 116 Honors Way | Tallahassee, FL 32306 | (850) 644-2706