Skip to Main Content

Artists' Books

A guide to the artists' book collection in FSU Special Collections & Archives.

Special Collections & Archives

Online

Main SCA Website
https://www.lib.fsu.edu/special-collections

Email SCA Staff
lib-specialcollections@fsu.edu

Visit SCA
https://www.lib.fsu.edu/special-collections/visit

FSU Library Catalog
fsu-flvc.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/discovery/search?vid=01FALSC_FSU:Home
Filter results for SCA by selecting "Library > FSU Special Collections and Archives"

FSU Finding Aid Database
archives.lib.fsu.edu

FSU Digital Library
diginole.lib.fsu.edu/islandora/object/fsu:digital_library

Special Collections & Archives Reading Rooms Hours

Fall 2023

Monday by appointment
Tuesday by appointment
Wednesday by appointment
Thursday 12pm - 6pm
Friday by appointment

Book an Appointment Online 

Claude Pepper Library Reading Room
Claude Pepper Center, 636 W Call St
(850) 644-9217 

SCA Research Center
110 Strozier Library, Main Floor
(850) 644-3271

Introduction to Artists' Books

undefined

Bookwalter, Denise, Robert Fichter, Bea Nettles, and Small Craft Advisory Press. Cropwork Orange. Tallahassee, FL: Small Craft Advisory Press, 2012. https://fsu-flvc.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/permalink/01FALSC_FSU/pag4dr/alma990328033400306576.
Image from “Cropwork Orange - Small Craft Advisory Press.” Accessed August 4, 2020. https://scap.art.fsu.edu/cropwork-orange/.

Artists’ books are publications that have been conceived as artworks utilizing the form of the book. They are distinct from fine printed books or books displaying art, as book artists envision unprecedented possibilities for the artwork. FSU Special Collections & Archives holds a collection of over 250 artists' books spanning a diverse range of themes, bindings, structures, materials, and narrative styles.

Locating Artists' Books in FSU Special Collections & Archives

All items in the artists’ book collection can be found in the FSU Libraries Catalog Advanced Search - https://fsu-flvc.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/discovery/search?vid=01FALSC_FSU:Home&lang=en&mode=advanced

  • To limit to artists’ books, use either
    • Keyword: “Artists’ books” or;
    • Subject: “Artists’ books” or;
    • Call number: “N7433.4”
  • Filter search results using terms in left-hand column
  • To limit to Special Collections holdings, use the "Library" facet: “FSU Special Collections and Archives”
  • Limiting by year (“Published from”) or language (“Language”) is often useful to Special Collections researchers
  • Click through search results to get full records for books or collections
  • Anything mentioning “Special Collections and Archives” in Location information is available through the Special Collections Research Center reading room in 110 Strozier Library

A spreadsheet listing the books by title, author, date, publisher, theme, and binding/structural/printing method can also be downloaded below:

Using Special Collections & Archives

Special Collections & Archives welcomes the use of its material by patrons and researchers in our two reading rooms, the Special Collections Research Center Reading Room and the Claude Pepper Library Reading Room. To learn more about visiting SCA, please click on the following link: https://www.lib.fsu.edu/special-collections/visit

Research Assistance
Researchers are encouraged to contact Special Collections & Archives staff regarding use of Special Collections & Archives materials in class assignments, scholarship, personal research, and general inquiry. For research assistance, please email us at lib-specialcollections@fsu.edu.

Researchers can also request in-person and virtual meetings with Special Collections & Archives staff. To book an appointment, please use our online tool: https://www.lib.fsu.edu/special-collections/visit#book-an-appointment

Instruction Sessions 
We invite instructors teaching at all levels in all departments to consider a class visit to Special Collections & Archives during your course. Visits to SCA locations can include any of the following content, directed by you and/or SCA staff:

  • Active learning with objects from Special Collections & Archives
  • Orientation to FSU Libraries Special Collections & Archives
  • Introduction to archival and/or primary source research
  • Custom sessions built around your course goals and objectives

To place a request for a class visit to the Special Collections Research Center or Claude Pepper Library, please use our online form: https://www.lib.fsu.edu/special-collections/class-visit-request-form

To further discuss the possibilities of a Special Collections & Archives class visit, please use our online tool to book a research consultation: https://www.lib.fsu.edu/special-collections/visit#book-an-appointment

Rare Books Librarian

Profile Photo
Rachel Duke
Contact:
Special Collections
Strozier Library
(850) 644-1967
Social: Twitter Page

Preservation Librarian

Profile Photo
Hannah Davis
Contact:
Special Collections & Archives Research Center
Robert Manning Strozier Library
850-645-0909
Website
The Florida State University Libraries
FIND & BORROW | RESEARCH & PUBLISH | VISIT & STUDY | COLLECTIONS | ABOUT | HELP & SUPPORT

© 2022 Florida State University Libraries | 116 Honors Way | Tallahassee, FL 32306 | (850) 644-2706