Skip to Main Content
Special Collections & Archives
Secondary Sources: Books, Bibliographies, and Exhibition Catalogs
Artists and Their Books, Books and Their Artists by
Call Number: General Collection 4th Floor -- N7433.3 .G48 2018
Publication Date: 2018-07-10
This stunning volume illuminates the current moment of artists' engagement with books, revealing them as an essential medium in contemporary art. Ever innovative and predictably diverse in their physical formats, artists' books occupy a creative space between the familiar four-cornered object and challenging works of art that effectively question every preconception of what a book can be.
Artist - Author by
Call Number: General Collection 4th Floor -- N7433.3 .L37 1998
Publication Date: 1998-02-01
Catalog of a travelling exhibition held at the Weatherspoon Art Gallery, Greensboro, N.C., Feb. 8-Aug. 12, 1998; and five other art museums, Aug. 31, 1998-Dec. 18, 1999.
Blurred Library: Essays on Artists' Books by
Call Number: General Collection 4th Floor -- N7433.3 .S53 2016
Publication Date: 2017
Blurred Library is a stunning collection of the most revered essays by Tate Shaw, the Director of Visual Studies Workshop.
Artists' Books by
Call Number: General Collection 4th Floor -- N7433.3.A75 1985
Publication Date: 1985-09-01
This anthology is the first in-depth look at artists' bookworks. A series of essays, written by longtime participants in and observers of the field, address the following questions: what are the origins, attributes, and what is the potential of artsists' books; what are their historical precedents; what issues are they addressing; who is making and publishing them? The essays are supplemented by extensive bibliographies and a list of collections.
The Century of Artists' Books by
Call Number: General Collection 4th Floor -- N7433.3.D78 1995
Publication Date: 1995-07-02
The Century of Artists' Books is the first full-length study of the development of artists' books as a twentieth century art-form. This work situates artists' books within the context of mainstream developments in the visual arts from Russian Futurism and Surrealism to Fluxus, Conceptual Art, to Postmodernism.
Artists Books by
Call Number: General Collection 4th Floor -- N7433.3.K64 1998
Publication Date: 1998-05-02
Artists Books: A Critical Survey of the Literature is the first and only published guide to writings on artists books. It contains five lucid essays and a carefully researched, thorough bibliography. An important reference tool for anyone interested in artists books.
The Blue Notebook
Journal for artists’ books
An e-journal for the book binder and book artist
Journal of Artists Books (JAB)
Essays, reviews, and criticism about artists' books and book arts
Umbrella is the most comprehensive online quarterly covering the arena of artists’ books, art books and other multiple editions, including audio and new media
Artist's Book Yearbook
The ABYB is a biennial reference publication focusing on international activity in the field of book arts
Artists' Books Online
An online repository of facsimiles, metadata, and criticism
Book/Print Artist/Scholar of Color Collective
The Book/Print Artist/Scholar of Color Collective brings scholars of Book History and Print Culture into conversation and collaboration with Black, Indigenous and People of Color (BIPOC) book artists, papermakers, curators, letterpress printers, printmakers to build community, support systems.
Center for Book Arts
Center for Book Arts promotes active explorations of artistic practices related to the book as an art object
College Book Art Association (CBAA)
Supports and promotes academic book arts education
The world’s leading non-profit organization dedicated to the dissemination, understanding and appreciation of artists’ books.
Vamp & Tramp
Booksellers who specialize in artists' books