Printmaking & Typography Resources in Special Collections & Archives

Polish circus horses, Harrison Sayre Circus Collection, Special Collections & Archives, Florida State University Libraries, Tallahassee, Florida. http://purl.flvc.org/fcla/dt/3173915.

Welcome to the Printmaking & Typography Resources Guide. This guide serves as an introduction to printed art, ephemera, broadsides, specimens, and secondary sources in Special Collections & Archives. We have a rich collection of printed materials ranging from early printed text to contemporary artists’ books. The navigation menu on the left hand side of the page will guide researchers through selected materials that illustrate various printmaking methods.

This guide barely scratches the surface of our holdings, and we encourage researchers to explore the full breadth of our collections by searching through the FSU Library Catalog, Finding Aid Database, and FSU Digital Library. Researchers can learn more about how to maximize their searches by visiting our Catalogs & Databases page.

Useful Search Terms

• Printmaking
• Screen printing
• Typography
• Lithography
• Woodblock/woodcut
• Etching/intaglio

Useful Subject Headings

• Artists’ books
• Color printing
• Graphic design (Typography)
• Letterpress printing
• Letterpress printing -- Specimens
• Printing
• Printing -- Specimens
• Screen process printing
• Serigraphy
• Specimens
• Type and type founding
• Wood engraving
• Wood types (Printing) -- Specimens

Library of Congress call numbers

• N7433.3-7433.4 - Artists’ books
• NE1-978 - Printmaking and engraving
• NE1000-1352 - Wood engraving
• NE 1400-1879 - Metal engraving
• NE2236-2240.6 Serigraphy
• NE2242-2246 Monotype (Printmaking)
• NE2250-2570 Lithography
• NE2685-2685.8 Lumiprints
• NE2690 Engraving on glass
• Z250 - Type and typefounding. Specimen books

Instruction Sessions 
We invite instructors teaching at all levels in all departments to consider a class visit to Special Collections & Archives during your course. Visits to SCA locations can include any of the following content, directed by you and/or SCA staff:

• Active learning with objects from Special Collections & Archives
• Orientation to FSU Libraries Special Collections & Archives
• Introduction to archival and/or primary source research
• Custom sessions built around your course goals and objectives

To place a request for a class visit to the Special Collections Research Center or Claude Pepper Library, please use our online form: https://www.lib.fsu.edu/special-collections/class-visit-request-form

To further discuss the possibilities of a Special Collections & Archives class visit, please use our online tool to book a research consultation: https://www.lib.fsu.edu/special-collections/visit#book-an-appointment

Online

Main SCA Website
https://www.lib.fsu.edu/special-collections

Email SCA Staff
lib-specialcollections@fsu.edu

Visit SCA
https://www.lib.fsu.edu/special-collections/visit

FSU Library Catalog
fsu-flvc.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/discovery/search?vid=01FALSC_FSU:Home
Filter results for SCA by selecting "Library > FSU Special Collections and Archives"

FSU Finding Aid Database
archives.lib.fsu.edu

FSU Digital Library
https://repository.lib.fsu.edu/islandora/object/fsu:digital_library

Special Collections & Archives Reading Rooms Hours

Fall 2024

SCA Research Center
110 Strozier Library, Main Floor
(850) 644-3271

Monday 10am - 6pm
Tuesday 10am - 6pm
Wednesday 10am - 7pm
Thursday 10am - 6pm
Friday 10am - 5pm

Claude Pepper Library Reading Room
Claude Pepper Center, 636 W Call St
(850) 644-9217 

Monday 10am - 5pm
Tuesday 110am - 5pm
Wednesday 10am - 5pm
Thursday 10am - 5pm
Friday 10am - 5pm

Hannah Davis - Preservation Program Director
Gino Romero - Rare Books Assistant
Leah Sherman - Visual & Performing Arts Librarian