Skip to Main Content
Journals & Secondary Sources
Engraving and etching 1400-2000 by
Call Number: General Collection Oversize -- NE1634 .S75 2012
Publication Date: 2012
This book covers the history of the material-technical aspects of engraving, etching and intaglio plate printing through history.
An essay on typography by
Call Number: Special Coll Rare -- Z116.A3 G54 1988
Publication Date: 1989-04-01
Born in 1882, Eric Gill was an artist, letter carver, polemicist, and social reformer. In 1925, he had started drawing alphabets and printing books, and in 1931, this plainspoken little book was a fustian and forceful argument for common sense in design, composed for anyone remotely interested in the subtle and evolving challenge of the typographic arts. Set rag right, with tight word spacing, it is a model of composition. The text, like most of Gill's, is exasperating, exorbitant, and exciting. But Gill was, above all, a craftsman, whose work always reflected his philosophy and whose hand always followed his moral convictions.
Mexico and modern printmaking by
Call Number: General Collection 4th Floor -- NE544.4 .M495 2006
Publication Date: 2006
Mexico witnessed an exciting revival of printmaking alongside its better-known public mural program in the decades after the 1910#150;20 revolution. Major artists such as José Clemente Orozco, Diego Rivera, David Alfaro Siqueiros, and Rufino Tamayo produced numbers of prints that furthered the social and political reforms of the revolution and helped develop a uniquely Mexican cultural identity. This groundbreaking book is the first to undertake an in-depth examination of these prints, the vital contributions Mexico’s printmakers made to modern art, and their influence on coming generations of foreign artists. Along with a thorough discussion of the printmaking practices of Orozco, Rivera, Siqueiros, Tamayo, and others, the book features some 300 handsomely illustrated prints#150;#150;many previously unpublished. Essays by distinguished scholars investigate the dynamic cultural exchange between Mexico and other countries at this time. They analyze the work of such Mexican artists as Emilio Amero and Jesús Escobedo, who traveled abroad, and such international artists as Elizabeth Catlett and Jean Charlot, who came to Mexico. They also discuss the important roles of the Taller de Gráfica Popular, a flourishing print workshop founded in Mexico City in 1937, and the Weyhe Gallery in New York, which published and distributed prints by many of these artists during the 1920s and 1930s. Together, the prints and essays tell the fascinating history of Mexico’s graphic-arts movement in thenbsp;first half of thenbsp;20th century.
Origins of European printmaking by
Call Number: General Collection 4th Floor -- NE1142 .P37 2005
Publication Date: 2005
The first comprehensive history of late medieval printmaking, which transformed image production and led to profound changes in Western culture This highly anticipated and beautifully illustrated book examines the evolution of early printmaking in late medieval Europe. Through their means of production and the evidence of their utility, prints are explored in a broad social and economic context. Key topics include the complex problem of reconstructing the beginnings of the European woodcut; the practice of copying and dissemination of models endemic to the medium; and the varied functions of the print from the spiritual to the secular. A team of expert authors examines the many ways in which fifteenth-century woodcuts and metalcuts reflect the nature of piety and visual experience. Replicated images helped to structure private religious practice, transmit beliefs, disseminate knowledge about material facts, and graph abstract ideas. Mass-produced pictures made it feasible for people of all stations to possess them, thereby initiating a change in the role of images that eventually helped alter the definition of art itself. The Origins of European Printmaking is an essential book for art historians, students, and collectors, as well as the general reader with an interest in medieval history and culture.
Paper politics by
Call Number: General Collection 4th Floor -- NE962.P64 P36 2009
Publication Date: 2009
A stunning presentation of print art which showcases the themes of social injustice and global inequality as an inspiration for this deeply politicised medium. Political communication has a long history with printmaking - here, Josh MacPhee selects poignant artworks with the intent to engage readers in a political conversation. The collection features artwork by over 200 international artists in an eclectic collection of work by both activist and non-activist printmakers. However, there work is linked by a thread of reacting to monumental trends and events
Paths to the press by
Call Number: General Collection Oversize -- NE508 .P38 2006
Publication Date: 2006
In 1910, Bertha Jaques co-founded the Chicago Society of Etchers and helped launch a revival of American fine art printmaking. In the decades following, women artists produced some of the most compelling images in U.S. printmaking history and helped advance the medium technically and stylistically. Paths to the Press examines American women artists' contributions to printmaking in the U.S. during the early to mid twentieth century. It features work by internationally and nationally recognized figures such as Isabel Bishop, Louise Nevelson, and Elizabeth Catlett; well-known regional figures such as Chicago artist Bertha Jaques, New Mexico artist Gener Kloss, and Louisiana artist Caroline Durieux; and relatively unknown printmakers such as Chicago artist Fritzi Brod, San Franciscan Pele deLappe, and Texan Mary Bonner. The contributors include David Acton, Nancy E. Green, Melanie Herzog, Helen Langa, Bill North, Mark Pascale, and Mark B. Pohlad.
Printing history by
Call Number: Special Coll Rare -- 705 P957
Publication Date: 1979-
The journal of the American Printing History Association.
The printmaker's art by
Call Number: General Collection 4th Floor -- NE430 .B76 2015
Publication Date: 2015
The print collections of the National Galleries of Scotland reveal a diverse and dazzling variety of different techniques and approaches to printmaking. Through technical summaries and featured examples, 'The Printmakers' Art' draws on the print and archive collections to illustrate and explain the mysteries of printmaking. AUTHOR: Hannah Brocklehurst is Curator of Prints and Drawings at the Scottish National Gallery, and has a special interest in printmaking and the etching revival of the nineteenth century. Recent print displays include: Rembrandt at 400 (2006), Goya: Monsters and Matadors (2007), The Printmaker's Art (2010). Kerry Watson is Librarian at the Scottish National Gallery of Modern Art, and has a particular interest in artists' books and printmaking. She has curated a number of print displays including Towards the Light: Colour Woodcuts from Britain and Japan (2011) and Woodcuts and Wood Engraving: The British Tradition (2012). SELLING POINTS: * Features some of the best known works from the National Galleries of Scotland's collection * A useful guide to the different print techniques 80 colour illustrations
Printmaking revolution by
Call Number: General Collection 4th Floor -- NE863 .P64 2012
Publication Date: 2012
Etching, lithography, and screenprinting shouldn't be harmful to the artist or the planet. With cutting edge, never-before-published advances in printmaking media, Printmaking Revolutionprovides artists, students, and teachers alike with safer, environmentally friendly and non-carcinogenic methods for creating beautiful prints. Inside, teacher and professional artist, Dwight Pogue offers groundbreaking information on embracing green, petroleum-free, nontoxic materials that comply with the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) and Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) requirements. With new alternatives for the modern era, and work by some of today's most notable artists, including Janet Fish, James Rosenquist Walton Ford, and Louisa Chase, this book truly revolutionizes the techniques, materials, and processes of a time-honored medium.
Traditional techniques in contemporary Chinese printmaking by
Call Number: General Collection 4th Floor -- NE1183.3 .B37 2005
Publication Date: 2005
China was one of the first civilizations to engage in printmaking. Ink, paper, printing from cut wooden blocks and moveable type were all invented in China. This unique book provides both a helpful introduction to the history and traditions of printmaking in China and a comprehensive guide to traditional and contemporary printmaking techniques, including detailed and illustrated sections on different techniques (single color, watercolor, poster color, stencil, and dabbed printing).
Special Collections & Archives
Hannah Davis - Preservation Librarian
Gino Romero - Rare Books Assistant
Leah Sherman - Visual & Performing Arts Librarian