| Date & Time | Title | Speaker(s) | |
| Tue 9/6 3:00 - 4:00 | Dissertation Roadmap | Rachel Duke, Kelly Grove | You may have heard that a dissertation is "a marathon, not a sprint." As you tackle this epic journey, it can be daunting not to know the shape of the road ahead. In this session, we will guide you through the "Dissertation Road Map," highlighting crucial challenges you will face along the way and recommending tools and strategies for combating even the most intimidating obstacles. We will help you define the genre of the dissertation in your discipline, identify your support team, and plot your way forward on a reasonable timeline for the dissertation. |
| Tue 9/6 4:00 - 4:30 | An Introduction to Finding Articles and Books on FSU Libraries Website | Kyung Kim | Using FSU Libraries website is essential for accessing information relevant to your research. This session will introduce you to FSU Libraries new website and show you how to conduct searches for journals, peer-reviewed articles, books, and more! |
| Tue 9/6 4:30 - 5:00 | Maximizing Your Research with LibGuides and InterLibrary Loan | Kyung Kim & Velma Smith | FSU Libraries provides numerous tools to assist you with research. In this session, you will identify and access library LibGuides, which are a one-stop shop for everything related to your research! Additionally, you will learn how to retrieve materials that are not available on FSU Libraries website through the InterLibrary Loan service. |
| Tue 9/6 5:00 - 6:00 | Citation Management Program: Zotero | Matt Hunter | Zotero is a free, easy-to-use tool to help you collect, organize, cite, and share your research and bibliographies. This workshop will guide participants through installation, basic organizational strategies, adding citations to your Zotero library, and using word processor plug-ins to create bibliographies quickly. |
| Wed 9/7 3:00 - 4:00 | Tour of FSU Libraries | Jeff Phillips and Kelly Grove | There are numerous libraries at FSU. Join us for a tour of two libraries on the main campus--Strozier Library and Dirac Science Library. This tour will take you to both buildings and show you the services and materials available for graduate students. |
| Wed 9/7 4:00 - 5:00 | Literature Reviews for Social Sciences | Jeff Phillips | Knowing how to conduct a literature review using effective search strategies is one of the core skills required for researchers across disciplines. This workshop is designed for students in Social Science disciplines to learn how to locate and search relevant information and track citation chains. |
| Wed 9/7 5:00 - 6:00 | Literature Reviews for STEM | Kelly Grove | Knowing how to conduct a literature review using effective search strategies is one of the core skills required for researchers across disciplines. This workshop is designed for students in STEM disciplines to learn how to locate and search for relevant information from databases, journals, books, and track citation chains. |
| Thursday 9/8 3:00 - 4:00 | Stress and Time Management | Samantha Jacobson | The presentation will discuss stress management through the use of self-care strategies. Attendees will also learn how to develop their own time management strategies that aid in the dissertation writing process and with managing graduate school in general. |
| Thursday 9/8 4:00 - 5:00 | Literature Reviews for Arts & Humanities | Rachel Duke | Knowing how to conduct a literature review using effective search strategies is one of the core skills required for researchers across disciplines. This workshop is designed for students in Arts and Humanities disciplines to learn how to locate and search relevant information from databases, journals, and books. Additionally, attendees will learn how to track citation chains and organize their references. |
| Friday 9/9 4:00 - 6:00 (panel from 4:30-5:30 with time for mingling before and after) | Surviving the Dissertation: A Student Panel on the Dissertation Writing Process | Dr. Yao Huang - ISLT | This panel brings together FSU dissertation scholars representing different colleges and fields of study. Panelists will be asked questions about what they wished they knew about the dissertation process from the beginning and what they learned along the way. They will share tips and advice about writing your dissertation. |
| BOOT CAMP | ||||
| Date | Day | Time | Title | Speaker(s) |
|
11/8 |
Mon |
4:00 PM - 5:00 PM | Dissertation Roadmap | Rachel Duke, Kyung Kim & Kelly Grove |
| 5:00 PM - 6:00 PM | Zotero for Research & Citation Management | Matt Hunter | ||
|
11/9 |
Tue |
4:00 PM - 4:30 PM | Tips for Research Management (30-min session) | Sarah Stanley |
| 4:30 PM - 5:00 PM | How to Find Relevant Dissertations for Your Dissertation Research (30-min session) |
Kyung Kim | ||
| 5:00 PM - 6:00 PM | Literature Review for Arts &Humanities | Rachel Duke | ||
|
11/10 |
Wed |
4:00 PM - 5:00 PM | Correlation Does Not Equal Causality: Data Literacy Best Practices | Nick Ruhs |
| 5:00 PM - 6:00 PM | Covidence for Systematic Reviews | Kelly Grove | ||
| 11/11 | Thu | No Sessions - Happy Veterans Day! | ||
|
11/12 |
Fri |
12:00 PM - 12:30 PM | ProQuest & EBSCO Databases in Social Science (30-min session) | Mohamed Berray |
| 12:30 PM -1:00 PM | Back to the Future with Social Science Citation Index (30-min session) | Jeff Phillips | ||
| 1:00 PM - 2:00 PM | Formatting Your Prospectus and Dissertation | Laura Minor | ||
| 2:00 PM - 3:00 PM | Intermediate Qualtrics | April Lovett | ||
| 3:00 PM - 3:30 PM | Break | |||
| 3:30 PM - 4:00 PM | Stress and Time Management (30-min session) | Patricia Monaghan | ||
| 4:00 PM - 5:00 PM | Surviving the Dissertation: A Student Panel on the Dissertation Writing Process | Brian Casas (Physics), Laura-Kate Huse (Communication), Molly Marotta (English) and Jeff Phillips (Education) | ||
| WRITING SESSIONS | ||||
| 11/13 | Sat | 10:00 AM - 2:00 PM | With Kelly Grove (STEM) | |
| 11/14 | Sun | 11:00 AM - 3:00 PM | With Rachel Duke (Arts & Humanities) | |
| 11/15 | Mon | 12:00 PM - 4:00 PM | With Jeff Phillips (Social Sciences) | |
| 11/16 | Tue | 5:00 PM - 9:00 PM | ||
We will not record the sessions.
| Session Name | Session Description | Day | Time | Speaker(s) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
|
Tips for Research Management
|
Monday, June 21st | 12:00 - 12:30 p.m. | Sarah Stanley | |
| Stress and Time Management | The presentation will discuss stress management through the use of self-care strategies. Attendees will also learn how to develop their own time management strategies that aid in the dissertation writing process and with managing graduate school in general. | Monday, June 21st | 12:30 - 1:00 p.m. | Patricia Monaghan |
| Copyright for the Dissertation & Beyond | You’ve finally finished your research and now you’re looking to publish. This workshop will cover what new authors need to know about copyright. It will also answer frequently asked copyright questions for dissertations and beyond. | Monday, June 21st | 3:00 - 4:00 p.m. | Camille Thomas |
| Dissertation Road Map | You may have heard that a dissertation is "a marathon, not a sprint." As you tackle this epic journey it can be daunting to not know the shape of the road ahead. In this session, we will guide you through the "Dissertation Road Map," highlighting crucial challenges you'll face along the way and recommending tools and strategies for combating even the most intimidating obstacles. We'll help you define the genre of the dissertation in your discipline, identify your support team, and plot your way forward on a reasonable timeline to the dissertation. | Monday, June 21st | 5:00 - 6:00 p.m. | Kyung Kim, Kelly Grove, & Rachel Duke |
| Finding, Using, and Writing about Secondary Data for Research | This workshop will help participants become familiar with key concepts, search strategies, and resources for working with secondary data in their research. Secondary data is useful for researchers from all disciplines to practice, analyze, and contribute to ongoing research. Quantitative and qualitative secondary data is available through many databases and repositories that have their own controlled vocabularies and documentation standards. We will cover the entire process of finding, using, and writing about secondary data for Humanities, Social Sciences, and STEM datasets. | Tuesday, June 22nd | 3:00 - 4:00 p.m. | Dr. Jesse Klein |
| Surviving the Dissertation: A Student Panel on the Dissertation Writing Process | This panel brings together FSU dissertation graduates, representing different colleges and fields of study. Panelists will be asked questions along the line of what they wished knew about dissertation process from the beginning, the dissertation defense process, and what they learned along the way. They will share tips and advice about writing your dissertation. | Tuesday, June 22nd | 5:00 - 6:00 p.m. | Molly M., Jenni B., & Jonathan L. |
*These sessions will be recorded and recording link posted to this guide
What: Each semester, FSU Libraries hosts a Writing Retreat to support graduate scholars as they finish their degree requirements. This week-long event features Zoom-moderated blocks of time to get your writing projects completed, be it a Dissertation, a Thesis, a publication, or a class project.
When: For Summer 2021, sessions will take place Wednesday, June 23rd through Wednesday, June 30th. Multiple time slots are featured on most days, please see the table below. You can sign up for 1, 2, 3, or all. The choice is yours!
Where: All writing sessions will be online, via Zoom.
How much is it? Registration is FREE for this event!
How To Register: Click on this link to register for this FREE event.
| Date | Time | Librarian Moderator | Reading-Writing Center Moderator |
|---|---|---|---|
| Wednesday, June 23rd | 11:00 a.m. - 2:00 p.m. | Rachel Duke | |
| Wednesday, June 23rd | 3:00 p.m. - 6:00 p.m. | Denise A. Wetzel | |
| Thursday, June 24th | 11:00 a.m. - 2:00 p.m. | Jeff Phillips | |
| Thursday, June 24th | 6:00 p.m. - 9:00 p.m. | Kelly Grove | |
| Friday, June 25th | 11:00 a.m. - 2:00 p.m. | Rachel Duke | |
| Friday, June 25th | 2:00 p.m. - 5:00 p.m. | Kelly Grove | |
| Saturday, June 26th | 11:00 a.m. - 2:00 p.m. | Rachel Duke | |
| Sunday, June 27th | 1:00 p.m. - 5:00 p.m. | Denise A. Wetzel | |
| Monday, June 28th | 11:00 a.m. - 2:00 p.m. | Kyung Kim | Amanda |
| Monday, June 28th | 5:00 p.m. - 8:00 p.m. | Denise A. Wetzel | |
| Tuesday, June 29th | 11:00 a.m. - 2:00 p.m. | Jeff Phillips | |
| Tuesday, June 29th | 4:00 p.m. - 7:00 p.m. | Kyung Kim | |
| Wednesday, June 30th | 11:00 a.m. - 2:00 p.m. | Kyung Kim | Amanda |
| Wednesday, June 30th | 2:00 p.m. - 5:00 p.m. | Jeff Phillips |
Please note: times are still being confirmed, but will be set asap
| Session Name | Session Description | Day | Time | Speaker | Important Links/Handouts | Recording Link |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Literature Reviews for Social Sciences |
Are you interested in taking your literature review to another level? Would you like to build your auxiliary research muscles to become a savvy scholar? Join us to learn the advanced and time-saving strategies and tools that are helpful to search, organize, and cite literature for a social science dissertation/thesis. This session is recommended for all social sciences majors, especially those working on an interdisciplinary topic. |
March 1st | 5pm - 6pm | Kyung Kim (she/her/hers) |
https://guides.lib.fsu.edu/lit_rev | N/A |
| Introduction to Mendeley* | Mendeley is a citation manager created to integrate seamlessly with Web of Science and ScienceDirect, though it works with other databases as well. Learn how to build a searchable database for your references, and then how to use the plug-in to cite as you write with the Mendeley Word plug-in. | March 1st | 6pm - 7pm | Denise A. Wetzel (she/her/hers) | https://guides.lib.fsu.edu/mendeleyguide | |
| Zotero for Research & Citation Management | Zotero is a free, easy-to-use tool to help you collect, organize, cite, and share your research and bibliographies. This workshop will guide participants through installation, basic organizational strategies, adding citations to your Zotero library, and using word processor plug-ins to quickly create bibliographies. | March 2nd | 5pm - 6pm | Matt Hunter (he/him/his) | https://guides.lib.fsu.edu/zotero | N/A |
| Curating Your Online Scholarly Identity: ORCID for Early Career Researchers* | The Open Researcher and Contributor ID (ORCID) provides researchers with a unique identifier that distinguished them from other researchers and links their research outputs and activities to their ORCID record. Many systems used by publishers, funders, and institutions include ORCID integrations. Join us and learn how to create your ORCID iD and how your ORCID record can benefit you and your research. | March 2nd | 6:30pm - 7:30 pm | Devin Soper (he/him) & Kelly Grove (she/her) | Handout | https://youtu.be/F4Mmr2vD6O4 |
| Facing the Empty Page: Strategies to Get Started and Keep Going* | During this session we will focus on the transition from research to writing and consider, from the writer's point of view, some of the obstacles you may face in making that transition. The aim is to get you thinking about your writing process, suggest approaches and exercises that will help you draft and revise text-rich sections of your dissertation, and demonstrate how the Reading-Writing Center can support you and your writing. | March 3rd | 6 pm - 7 pm | Jude Marr (they, them, theirs) | N/A | |
| Surviving the Dissertation: A Student Panel on the Dissertation Writing Process | This panel brings together FSU dissertation scholars, representing different colleges and fields of study. Panelists will be asked questions along the line of what they wished knew about dissertation process from the beginning, and what they learned along the way. They will share tips and advice about writing your dissertation. | March 3rd | 7 pm - 8pm | Tianhan Liu (she/her/hers), Molly Marotta (she/her/hers), & Lauren Bagdy (she/her/hers) | N/A | N/A |
| Literature Reviews for Arts & Humanities* | Knowing how to conduct a literature review using effective search strategies is one of the core skills required for researchers across disciplines. This workshop is designed for students in Arts and Humanities disciplines to learn how to located and search relevant information from databases, journals, and books, track citation chains, keep current, and organize the references. | March 4th | 5 pm - 6 pm | Rachel Duke (she/her/hers) & Hannah Menendez (she/her/hers) | N/A | https://youtu.be/pePyTPw_ggk |
| Literature Reviews for STEM* | Knowing how to conduct a literature review using effective search strategies is one of the core skills required for researchers across disciplines. This workshop is designed for students in STEM disciplines to learn how to located and search relevant information from databases, journals, and books, track citation chains, keep current, and organize the references. | March 4th | 6 pm - 7 pm | Kelly Grove (she/her) | https://guides.lib.fsu.edu/STEMlitrev | https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f0ewOOMusMk |
| Formatting your Dissertation Manuscript* | This session will explore the specific dissertation formatting requirements for FSU's manuscript clearance process, as well as where to find our additional resources. We will also demonstrate some of the easiest methods of achieving this formatting in Word. | March 5th | 1 pm -1:50 pm | Laura Minor (she/her/hers) | https://gradschool.fsu.edu/academics-research/thesis-treatise-and-dissertation | https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yl3KN0s-UNA |
| Stress and Time Management* | The presentation will discuss stress management through the use of self-care strategies. Attendees will also learn how to develop their own time management strategies that aid in the dissertation writing process and with managing graduate school in general. | March 5th | 2 pm - 2:50 pm | Patricia Monaghan (she/her/hers) | Slides available by request | https://youtu.be/hfYdSZMLeQ0 |
| Sharing Event | Get to know your fellow dissertation and thesis writers! Participants will meet and chat with other writers about their research, writing strategies, and motivation tactics. This sharing event consists of one-on-one and group discussions to promote your research and possibly find future collaborators or accountability buddies. Additionally, it is the first session of the spring 2021 writing retreat! | March 5th | 3 pm - 4:20 pm | Everyone | N/A | N/A |
| Techniques to change your mindset | Having trouble staying on-task with your dissertation or thesis? Concerned that you are not reaching your goals? It happens to us all! This session will help you create a research action plan to complete your writing. Additionally, this session discusses how to modify your research action plan when you face obstacles and strategies to maintain a positive mindset. | March 5th | 4:30 pm - 5 pm | Ginny Smith (she/her/hers) | N/A | N/A |
*These sessions will be recorded and recording link posted to this guide within 1 week of the Boot Camp.
| Date | Time | Librarian Moderated | Reading-Writing Center Moderated |
|---|---|---|---|
| March 8th | 11 am - 2 pm | Yes | Yes |
| March 8th | 4 pm - 7 pm | Yes | |
| March 9th | 11 am - 2 pm | Yes | Yes |
| March 9th | 6 pm - 9 pm | Yes | Yes |
| March 10th | 11 am - 2 pm | Yes | Yes |
| March 10th | 2 pm - 5 pm | Yes | Yes |
| March 11th | 11 am - 2 pm | Yes | |
| March 11th | 4 pm - 7 pm | Yes | Yes |
| March 12th | 11 am - 2 pm | Yes | Yes |
| March 12th | 2 pm - 5 pm | Yes | Yes |
| March 13th | 11 am - 2 pm | Yes | Yes |
Please note: times are still being confirmed, but will be set asap
© 2022 Florida State University Libraries | 116 Honors Way | Tallahassee, FL 32306 | (850) 644-2706