Research Guides: Fine Arts in Special Collections : Performing Arts

Subject Headings

Subject headings refer to a controlled vocabulary that librarians use to organize materials. Using these terms can help bring up results more specifically related to these topics.

Acting
Art and Dance
Choreography
Experimental Theater
Modern Dance
Musical Theatre
Performing Arts
Playwrighting
Theatre and Society

Using Art as Primary and Secondary Sources

When conducting research, primary sources are materials that are created by the people participating in an event or practice that you are trying to study. When discussing art, primary sources are the original pieces of art themselves: an original painting, pictures of a live performance piece, an original poem.

Secondary sources in art would include exhibit catalogues, periodical reviews, theses and dissertations on specific pieces of art or art movements, and other types of written work discussing primary sources.

Collection Highlights

Dance around pieces of art. Tallahassee, FL: Florida State University School of Dance Collection, undated. Accessed April 6, 2022. http://purl.flvc.org/fsu/fd/FSUSOD_TEMP1_photo_212.

Degen Set Design Collection
This collection contains a large number of blueprints for shop constructions and stage designs. These blueprints include the set designs for productions on and off Broadway, as well as several touring productions.
Florida State University Media Relations Files
This collection houses materials related to university events and productions, including photographs, playbills, and administrative records for the School of Theatre.
FSU School of Dance Records
This collection is partially digitized and reflects the history of the School of Dance, starting from when it was largely taught out of the College of Physical Education at the Florida State College for Women. The collection contains photographs, choreographer's notes, newspaper clippings, programs, brochures, and journals. The digital collection can be found at https://diginole.lib.fsu.edu/islandora/object/fsu:schoolofdance.
James Gunn Collection
James Gunn taught Music Theory at the Florida Stare College of Music in the 1950s, and his collection includes score envelopes, music theory grade books, and 18 record albums of Gunn's music.
Music from Florida State University Tallahassee
This collection comprises of four sound discs, containing music and speeches from the FSU College of Music. A full description of titles on each disk can be found in the collection overview in ArchivesSpace.
Richard Alan Nelson Collection
Richard Alan Nelson is considered a pioneer for his exploration into early film, and served on the Fine Arts Council of Florida. His collection speaks to the history of the film industry in Florida, 1898-1980.

Special Collections and Archives

Online

Main SCA Website
lib.fsu.edu/specialcollections

Email SCA Staff
lib-specialcollections@fsu.edu

FSU Library Catalog
fsu-flvc.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/discovery/search?vid=01FALSC_FSU:Home
Filter results for SCA by selecting "Library > FSU Strozier, Special Coll"

FSU Finding Aid Database
archives.lib.fsu.edu

FSU Digital Library
diginole.lib.fsu.edu/islandora/object/fsu:digital_library

Special Collections & Archives Reading Rooms

SCA Research Center
110 Strozier Library, Main Floor
(850) 644-3271

Monday 12-6pm
Tuesday 12-6pm
Wednesday 12-7pm
Thursday 12-6pm
Friday 12-5pm

Claude Pepper Library Reading Room
Claude Pepper Center, 636 W Call St
(850) 644-9217

Monday - Appointment Only
Tuesday - Appointment Only
Wednesday -1-5pm
Thursday - 1-5pm
Friday - Appointment Only