Research Guides: Fine Arts in Special Collections : Women in Creative Arts at FSU

Subject Headings

Subject headings refer to a controlled vocabulary that librarians use to organize materials. Using these terms can help bring up results more specifically related to these topics.

Artists, Women
Feminist art criticism
Minority women artists
Women Artists
Women painters
Women performance artists
Women printmakers
Women sculptors

Women in Creative Arts at FSU

Since the founding of the Florida State College for Women, FSCW/FSU has been lush with creativity and innovation in the arts. These collections highlight the art that has been produced by the women of FSU, by both faculty and students. Special names within this field include Jane Burroway, Nellie Bond Dickinson, and Gabrielle Wu Lee.

Collection Highlights

Nancy Smith dancing Lost Eden. Tallahassee, FL: School of Dance, 1953. Image from "Lost Eden," choreographed by Nellie Bond Dickinson. Accessed April 5, 2022. http://purl.flvc.org/fsu/fd/FSUSOD_OS1_photo_005.

Ann Kirn Collection
Ann Kirn was a professor at Florida State University and an illustrator of children's books. Her collection contains several of these books and the corresponding galleys and early illustrations for each.
Museum of Fine Arts Exhibition Catalogs
This digital collection showcases FSU MOFA exhibition catalogs from 1969 to 2015. Items within this collection would be considered secondary sources.
FSU School of Dance Records
This collection is partially digitized and reflects the history of the School of Dance, starting from when it was largely taught out of the College of Physical Education at the Florida State College for Women. The collection contains photographs, choreographer's notes, newspaper clippings, programs, brochures, and journals. The digital collection can be found at https://diginole.lib.fsu.edu/islandora/object/fsu:schoolofdance.
Dorothea Leona Dubler Papers
Dorothea Leona Dubler is an art educator in the state of Florida, as well as an award winning poet and a founding member of the First Florida Poets Chapter of the Florida State Poets Association. This collection contains her published and unpublished poetry, scholarly work, and photographs documenting her life and work.
Janet Burroway Papers
Janet Burroway is Professor Emeritus at Florida State University, and is the author of plays, poetry, essays, children's books, novels, and a number of literary columns. This collection contains galleys, drafts, manuscripts, short stories, poetry, plays, and other writings from Burroway, dating 1955-1993.

Special Collections & Archives

Online

Main SCA Website
https://www.lib.fsu.edu/special-collections

Email SCA Staff
lib-specialcollections@fsu.edu

Visit SCA
https://www.lib.fsu.edu/special-collections/visit

FSU Library Catalog
fsu-flvc.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/discovery/search?vid=01FALSC_FSU:Home
Filter results for SCA by selecting "Library > FSU Special Collections and Archives"

FSU Finding Aid Database
archives.lib.fsu.edu

FSU Digital Library
https://repository.lib.fsu.edu/islandora/object/fsu:digital_library

Special Collections & Archives Reading Rooms Hours

Fall 2024

SCA Research Center
110 Strozier Library, Main Floor
(850) 644-3271

Monday 10am - 6pm
Tuesday 10am - 6pm
Wednesday 10am - 7pm
Thursday 10am - 6pm
Friday 10am - 5pm

Claude Pepper Library Reading Room
Claude Pepper Center, 636 W Call St
(850) 644-9217

Monday 10am - 5pm
Tuesday 110am - 5pm
Wednesday 10am - 5pm
Thursday 10am - 5pm
Friday 10am - 5pm