Research Guides: Fine Arts in Special Collections : 3D Art

Subject Headings

Subject headings refer to a controlled vocabulary that librarians use to organize materials. Using these terms can help bring up results more specifically related to these topics.

Art
Art -- American
Art -- Ancient
Art -- Modern
Art -- Contemporary
Art and society
Artists and community
Commercial art
Drawing -- Technique
Graphic arts
Interactive art
Multimedia (Art)
New media
Public Art
Social justice in art

Using Art as Primary and Secondary Sources

When conducting research, primary sources are materials that are created by the people participating in an event or practice that you are trying to study. When discussing art, primary sources are the original pieces of art themselves: an original painting, pictures of a live performance piece, an original poem.

Secondary sources in art would include exhibit catalogues, periodical reviews, theses and dissertations on specific pieces of art or art movements, and other types of written work discussing primary sources.

Collection Highlights

Bookwalter, Denise, Robert Fichter, Bea Nettles, and Small Craft Advisory Press. Cropwork Orange. Tallahassee, FL: Small Craft Advisory Press, 2012. https://fsu-flvc.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/permalink/01FALSC_FSU/pag4dr/alma990328033400306576.
Image from “Cropwork Orange - Small Craft Advisory Press.” Accessed August 4, 2020. https://scap.art.fsu.edu/cropwork-orange/.

Artist Books
Artists’ books are publications that have been conceived as artworks utilizing the form of the book. They are distinct from fine printed books or books displaying art, as book artists envision unprecedented possibilities for the artwork. FSU Special Collections & Archives holds a collection of over 250 artists' books spanning a diverse range of themes, bindings, structures, materials, and narrative styles.
Kenzan Ceramics Photograph Collection (乾山名品集)
Ogata Kenzan (1661-1743) was an influential ceramic artist from 18th century Japan. The collection contains photographs of his original work, and details the legacy of his ceramics style.
Small Craft Advisory Press Records
Small Craft Advisory Press (SCAP) is an artists' book press at FSU, founded circa 2009. This collection contains several artist books in progress, and metal sheet plates used in creating books.

Special Collections & Archives

Online

Main SCA Website
https://www.lib.fsu.edu/special-collections

Email SCA Staff
lib-specialcollections@fsu.edu

Visit SCA
https://www.lib.fsu.edu/special-collections/visit

FSU Library Catalog
fsu-flvc.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/discovery/search?vid=01FALSC_FSU:Home
Filter results for SCA by selecting "Library > FSU Special Collections and Archives"

FSU Finding Aid Database
archives.lib.fsu.edu

FSU Digital Library
https://repository.lib.fsu.edu/islandora/object/fsu:digital_library

Special Collections & Archives Reading Rooms Hours

Fall 2024

SCA Research Center
110 Strozier Library, Main Floor
(850) 644-3271

Monday 10am - 6pm
Tuesday 10am - 6pm
Wednesday 10am - 7pm
Thursday 10am - 6pm
Friday 10am - 5pm

Claude Pepper Library Reading Room
Claude Pepper Center, 636 W Call St
(850) 644-9217

Monday 10am - 5pm
Tuesday 110am - 5pm
Wednesday 10am - 5pm
Thursday 10am - 5pm
Friday 10am - 5pm