Skip to Main Content


Women's Suffrage

The first women’s rights movement conventions began assembling in 1848. As the movement began to gain momentum, groups like the National Woman Suffrage Association (NWSA), and the American Woman Suffrage Association (AWSA) formed.  In 1890, both groups merged to what is now known as the National American Woman Suffrage Association (NAWSA). The NAWSA, along with many others, fought extensively to see women given the right to vote. On August 18 1920, the 19th Amendment was ratified. In honor of the Women’s Suffrage Movement, Florida State University has collected the resources below to encourage education and celebration of  the achievements in women’s history. 

The Florida State University Libraries
Library Hours | Employment | Giving to the Libraries | The FSULib Blog | Library Homepage

Florida State University Libraries | 116 Honors Way | Tallahassee, FL 32306 | (850) 644-2706