Suggested Tip for Finding a Theory Relevant to Your Research Topic
Measures, scales, indexes, and tests relevant to Communication Studies are available in the various types and formats of publications. Here are a few resources available through the FSU Libraries.
Communication Research Measures III: A Sourcebook (2019. eBook w/unlimited access)
...Offers an assessment of measures in mass, interpersonal, instructional, group, organizational, family, health, and intercultural communication and highlights work in emergent subdisciplines in communication, including social media and new communication technologies, sports communication, and public relations.
Communication Research Measures II: A Sourcebook
(2011. eBook w/unlimited access)
... Including measures from outside the communication discipline that have been employed in communication research.
Communication Methods and Measures
Communication & Mass Media Complete
Explore the Communication Research Measures:A Sourcebook series to explore scales and measures in Communication and other related fields.
At the Communication & Mass Media Complete database, if you know the name of the test or scale, enter the name. Change the drop-down menu to AB for abstracts. If you want to explore measurements and tests on a topic, enter the subject keyword on the first row. On the next row of the search box, type test OR scale OR measure OR survey OR questionnaire OR index. Change the drop-down menu to AB for abstracts.
...Provides access to noncommercial, unpublished psychological tests, measures, scales, surveys, and other assessments
At the APA PsycTests, you can find the original publication where your test or measures were published. Check the bibliography of the article to trace papers that cited the original source.
Watch this short YouTube video tutorial on how to find tests at the APA PsycTests here
Marketing scales handbook: Multi-item measures for consumer insight research. Volume 11 (2021. eBook with unlimited access)
Marketing scales handbook. Multi-item measures for consumer insight research. Volume 9
|At the business article databases, enter a subject term. On the next row, enter Test OR Scale OR Measure OR Index OR Survey and choose AB for abstracts. Then combine subject keywords by the AND connector.
E.g., (Test OR Scale OR Measure OR Index OR Survey) AND "social media"
ETS Test Collection
|At the ERIC database (ProQuest), in the Document Type box, check the 160: Tests/Questionnaires box and add your subject search term.|
Sage Research Methods Online
|Sage Research Methods Online provide access to the full text of research methods books published by the Sage Publishers(such as the Little Green Books series and the Little Blue Books series)|
Dissertations & Theses Global (ProQuest)
Social Science Premium Collection
|Check the appendix of a thesis or dissertation for an original survey questionnaire or details of the research method.|
[Collection of Polls from Different Sources]
Fore more sources on polls and public opinions data, click here.
For more information, check our U.S. Census Data Guide
FSU Student Statistics
FSU Office of Institutional Research https://ir.fsu.edu/students.aspx
Statistics on College Students
Almanac of Higher Education (from The Chronicle of Higher Education)
Open Doors (for international students in the U.S. and American students studying abroad)
Newspapers or journal articles might be an excellent source to look up the statistics on college
students. Depending on your research topic, you might want to explore a Psychology database
such as APA PsycINFO, an Education database such as ERIC, or even a Nursing database such as
At Google Scholar, try the following search statement:
("college students" OR "university students") "mental health" survey
à This will yield papers, blogs, etc. that are about survey research on mental health issues of
college students. Please note that I used quotes for a phrase searching, and used parentheses
to group similar concepts together.
("college students" OR "university students") ("video game" OR gaming) qualitative
Not always, but highly likely, you may find the questionnaire that was used to conduct the
research at the Appendix or Supporting Material section of a research paper.
See this Consumer Demographics page.
National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS) https://www.cdc.gov/nchs/fastats/
MedlinePlus Health Statistics https://medlineplus.gov/healthstatistics.html
World Health Organization (WHO)’s Global Health Observatory
E.g., Nigeria’s neonatal mortality rate
For a comprehensive list of data sources on public health, see here.
Company Website > About > Invest Relations (or Investors) > Annual Report
Business Source Complete database …Company profile. SWOT Analysis.
For sales, audiences, revenue, the proportion of the market (market ratio)
IBISWorld Industry Market Research database…Industry report. Industry SWOT analysis
E.g., Beer (brewery) industry (for major players and the market share)
Consumer and Market information
E.g., Movie theatres (see data book), luxury consumers.
Search the database with “college students” to pull off various market reports
on college students
Business Journal Articles
Business Source Complete database https://lib.fsu.edu/get/bscomp
ABI/INFORM Collection database