Here are good types of content to include in your guides. Start by selecting Add / Reorder. Each type of item has its own section of guidelines below. Please note, when you are adding content, it is best to check to see if someone else has already added it by checking the Reuse Existing Link tab. This will save you time and avoid duplication.
1.Book from the catalog
2.Database that we subscribe to
3.Rich text/HTML for including narrative or instructions
4.Link to include resources that are not books or databases. Tutorials should be included in this way.
5.Media / Widget to embed content from other sites such as YouTube or SlideShare.
6.Document / File to attach files that need to be separate from the web page.
1.Select Add/Reorder.
2.Choose Database.
3.Start typing the name of the database.
4.If the database appears, select it. If needed, use a custom description to describe it in the way that will best fit the needs of your users.
1.Select Add/Reorder
2.Choose Database
3.Start typing the name of the database
4.If it doesn't appear, select the assets link, choose Add Database and copy in this metadata from our Database of Databases:
a.Database name
b.Database URL. Copy the link from the header on the database information page; make sure it includes the shortname and looks like: http://www.library.fsu.edu/get/jstor
c.Write a generic description for the database that would help the user make a decision about whether or not to use the resource. This description will be used throughout LibGuides, but guide editors can override it when adding the database to a guide.
d.Leave the Window Target set to the system default.
e.Set description display to display beneath item title.
|
Good: Find online streaming video of dance productions and documentaries. Bad: Online streaming video of nearly 500 dance productions and documentaries by the most influential performers and companies of the 20th century. Covers jazz, contemporary dance, experimental and improvisational dance as well as ballet and tap dance. |
1.Select Add / Reorder and choose Book from the Catalog. Check to see if the book has already been added to LibGuides, by selecting the Reuse Existing Book tab.
2.If it's not there already, use the Create New Book tab:
a.Use the catalog to find the ISBN and paste it in.
b.Select Get Book Info.
c.After you've got the information about the book, delete the Publication Date and ISBN.
d.Copy the permanent URL from the catalog record and paste into the URL field.
e.Edit the Description Field to make it succinct and useful for your audience. Avoid repeating the name of the book and keep no more than 1-2 sentences.
Examples:
Handbook of Mathematics by I. N. Bronshtein
An everyday guide for working scientists and engineers, as well as for students.
The Princeton Companion to Mathematics by Timothy Gowers (Editor)
An indispensable resource for undergraduate and graduate students in mathematics, as well as for scholars seeking to understand areas outside their specialties. Presents major ideas and branches of pure mathematics in a clear, accessible style.
3.Select Save.
1.Select Add/Reorder
2.Select Rich Text/HTML
3.A WYSIWYG editor will appear where you can type your text.
4.Select Save & Close when you are finished editing the text.
|
Be careful when cutting and pasting text, as this often carries formatting over. Use the “clear formatting” button after pasting.
|
Keep these editorial standards in mind when writing text:
●Do not apply any styling to your text. The paragraph format, font, and size should stay as their defaults. If you find yourself wanting to use headings, consider whether your guide needs a new section/box.
●Never use ALL CAPS. If you need emphasis, use bold. (And even then, use sparingly.)
●Use italics only when they serve a purpose (e.g. setting aside a quote, citation formatting.)
●Never underline text since this is the convention for indicating a link to our users.
●Text should always be aligned left (never centered or right justified)
●Use just one space after a period and to start a new sentence, not two.
●Keep your sentences and paragraphs short and easy for users to skim. Use bullets and numbered lists.
●Use active voice and write as if you are talking directly to our users.
1.Select Add/Reorder
2.Select Link
a.Name the link. The link text should always describe where the link goes. The links need to be meaningful enough so that users feel confident they know where the links will take them.
b.Provide the URL.
c.Leave the Window Target set to the system default.
d.Briefly describe the resource.
e.Set description display to display beneath item.
1. Select Add/Reorder
2. Select Link
f.Name the link. The link text should always describe where the link goes. The links need to be meaningful enough so that users feel confident they know where the links will take them.
g.Provide the URL.
h.Leave the Window Target set to the system default.
i.Briefly describe the resource.
j.Set description display to display beneath item.
Add a tutorial that you want to have linked near another resource (like a database)
You will need to embed links directly in the database descriptions. Do this by entering the HTML directly into the "custom description” field of a database. See the example code below:
Example:
Database of core journal articles and cited references in the social sciences from 1898 to the present. The Web of Science <a href="PASTE THE URL YOU WANT TO EMBED HERE" target="_blank">Quick Reference Guide</a> will help you search more effectively.
© Florida State University Libraries | 116 Honors Way | Tallahassee, FL 32306 | (850) 644-2706
