Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

*Classics

Guide for research in classical studies.

Archaeological Resources

AIA Fieldnotes

The Archaeological Institute of America (AIA) provides an extensive list of digital resources on its Fieldnotes webpage, including an overview of several excavations, surveys, and other research initiatives.

 

ARIADNE

ARIADNE brings together and integrates existing archaeological research data infrastructures so that researchers can use the various distributed data sets and new and powerful technologies as an integral component of the archaeological research methodology.

 

ASCSA Excavations

The American School of Classical Studies at Athens (ASCSA) is the official link between American archaeologists and classicists and the Greek Archaeological Service of the Ministry of Culture. Broadly responsible for all American excavations in the country, the ASCSA has two home excavations—Ancient Corinth and the Athenian Agora. The School provides data on both sites, as well as links to several other affiliated excavations in Greece.

 

Beazley Archive

The art of ancient Greece and Rome, and its collection and reception since antiquity. Courtesy of Oxford's Stelios loannou Centre for Classical & Byzantine Studies.

 

CVA - Corpus Vasorum Antiquorum Online

The Corpus Vasorum Antiquorum ('Corpus of Ancient Vases') Online consists of a series of high-quality catalogues of mostly ancient Greek painted pottery in collections around the world. The first fascicule appeared in 1922 and since then almost 400 have appeared, illustrating more than 100,000 vases in 24 countries. The digitized catalogues available online can be viewed and browsed through this site, which also provides links to the fully searchable Beazley Archive Pottery Database.

 

Fasti Online

The aim of the site is to provide a database of excavations since 2000, providing a record in English and in the local language for each season.

 

Peripleo

Peripleo is a search engine to data maintained by partners of Pelagios Commons, a digital humanities initiative aiming to foster better linkages between online resources documenting the past. Most of our partners publish information about ancient places and physical objects, such as archaeological finds. But Pelagios Commons is growing, and we are beginning to include data about people, time periods, and even geo-tagged literature, or data transcribed from historic maps.

 

Perseus Art & Archaeology Artifact Browser

Part of the larger Perseus Project, this database provides multifaceted search options for finding material objects, site plans, and more.

Pleiades

Pleiades is a community-built gazetteer and graph of ancient places. It publishes authoritative information about ancient places and spaces, providing unique services for finding, displaying, and reusing that information under open license. 

 

The Princeton Encyclopedia of Classical Sites

This open-access database, by Perseus, derives from the original 1976 encyclopedia. Spanning across Europe, the Mediterranean, and the Middle East, its 2,800 entries were written by 375 scholars, many of whom have worked at the sites they describe. As an alternative, you can access the PDF of the encyclopedia through JSTOR, which requires institutional login. 

The Florida State University Libraries
Library Hours | Maps and Directions | Employment | Giving to the Libraries | The FSULib Blog | Library Homepage

Florida State University Libraries | 116 Honors Way | Tallahassee, FL 32306 | (850) 644-2706