Research Guides: *English: British and Irish Literary and Cultural Studies: 1660-1900

Key Resources

C19: The Nineteenth Century Index This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary database providing bibliographic access—more than 20,000,000 records—to books, periodical and newspaper articles, government publications, and archival collections. It is probably the most comprehensive source for English language material printed in the 19th Century. C19 combines a variety of print and digital resources into one database, and also allows limited searching of specialized sub-collections. The Nineteenth Century Short Title Catalogue, for example seeks to include all printed books published in Britain, its colonies and the United States of America, all printed books in English wherever published, and all translations from English.

C19 also provides indexing of the Times of London and hundreds of British and American periodicals, congressional and parliamentary publications. In addition, C19 provides bibliographic access to several periodical and document collections which Rutgers has acquired, thus allowing effective cross searching.
Collections indexed include:
    Nineteenth Century Short Title Catalogue
    Nineteenth Century Microfiche Project
    American Periodical Series
    British Periodicals I & II
    Periodicals Index Online
    Poole's Index to Periodical Literature
    Wellesley Index to Victorian Periodicals, 1824-1900
    House of Commons Parliamentary Papers
    U.S. Congressional Serial Set
    Archive Finder
    Palmer's Index to the Times [of London]
    Dictionary of Nineteenth Century Journalism
    American State Papers, 1789–1838

Abbreviation: c19
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1800-1900
Subjects: Art History, History, Literature
Type: Historical / Primary Sources, Indexes / Catalogs
Eighteenth Century Drama This link opens in a new window
A unique archive of almost every play submitted for license between 1737 and 1824, and hundreds of documents that provide social context for the plays, featuring: John Larpent Collection of Plays from the Huntington Library Supplementary documents including Anna Larpent Diaries The London Stage, 1660–1800 A Biographical Dictionary of Actors, Actresses, Musicians, Dancers, Managers and Other Stage Personnel in London, 1660–1800.
Abbreviation: eighcd
Vendor: Adam Matthew Digital Ltd
Coverage: 1660–1824
Subjects: Literature, Theatre
Type: Historical / Primary Sources
Iter bibliography This link opens in a new window
Iter bibliography addresses many aspects of the Middle Ages and Renaissance, such as archaeology, art, history, literature, music, philosophy, religion, and science, covering the years 400–1700. It provides citations for books, journals, and essays.
Abbreviation: iter
Vendor: Iter, University of Toronto Libraries
Coverage: 1784–Current
Subjects: History, Literature, Religion, Women's and Gender Studies
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
Scottish Women Poets of the Romantic Period This link opens in a new window
Scottish Women Poets of the Romantic Period contains 60 volumes of Romantic Poetry, extensive contemporary critical reviews, as well as material specially written for this database by leading scholars. In addition to 60 volumes of Romantic poetry composed by Scottish women, the database includes extensive contemporary critical reviews and numerous scholarly essays specially commissioned for the project by Alexander Street. This database contains over 9,027 pages.
Abbreviation: scotwomen
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1781–1905
Subjects: Literature
Type: E-Book Collections, Encyclopedias & Dictionaries, Historical / Primary Sources

Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism
The Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism is an indispensable resource for scholars and students of literary theory and discourse. Compiled by 275 specialists from around the world, the Guide presents a comprehensive historical survey of the field's most important figures, schools, and movements and is updated annually. It includes almost 300 alphabetically arranged entries and subentries on critics and theorists, critical schools and movements, and the critical and theoretical innovations of specific countries and historical periods. Each entry has an extensive bibliography that includes primary sources and secondary sources.

Eighteenth-Century Studies
Original research on all aspects of the eighteenth century, especially interdisciplinary or of interest to scholars in other fields.
Irish Studies Review
Attempts to reflect the variety of perceptions current in the field, & to promote multi- & inter-disciplinary approaches.
Journal of Victorian Culture
Covers all aspects of nineteenth-century society, culture, and the material world including literature, art, performance, politics, science, medicine, technology, lived experience, and ideas.
Ninteenth-Century Literature
Articles, reviews, book reviews and lists of recently published books in all areas of nineteenth-century literature.
Studies in English Literature, 1500-1900
Historical and critical essays contributing significantly to the understanding of English literature, 1500-1900.
Victorian Literature and Culture
Devoted to the study of British culture of the Victorian age; includes interdisciplinary articles on comparative literature, social and political history, and the histories of education, philosophy, fine arts, economics, law and science.

Reference Material:

The Oxford Encyclopedia of British Literature by David Scott Kastan (Editor)
Call Number: PR19 .O95 2006
ISBN: 9780195169218
Publication Date: 2006-03-03
From folk ballads to film scripts, this new five-volume encyclopedia covers the entire history of British literature from the seventh century to the present, focusing on the writers and the major texts of what are now the United Kingdom and the Republic of Ireland. In five hundred substantialessays written by major scholars, the Encyclopedia of British Literature includes biographies of nearly four hundred individual authors and a hundred topical essays with detailed analyses of particular themes, movements, genres, and institutions whose impact upon the writing or the reading ofliterature was significant.An ideal companion to The Oxford Encyclopedia of American Literature, this set will prove invaluable for students, scholars, and general readers.For more information, including a complete table of contents and list of contributors, please visit www.oup.com/us/ebl

Early English Books Online (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
Contains over 125,000 titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475–1640), Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641–1700), and the Thomason Tracts (1640–1661).
Tutorials:
ProQuest EEBO LibGuide

Abbreviation: eebo
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1475–1661
Subjects: History, Literature
Type: E-Book Collections, Historical / Primary Sources
Electronic Enlightenment (2 concurrent user limit) This link opens in a new window
Note: Access only allows 2 simultaneous users. Electronic Enlightenment reconstructs the extraordinary and vital web of correspondence that made the long 18th century the birthplace of the modern world. EE's unique collection of primary documents, based on scholarly critical editions, gives you a new, richer vision of the early modern world. Like no other resource, EE presents the Enlightenment in context.
Tutorials:
Guided tours

Abbreviation: eenlight
Vendor: Oxford University Press
Coverage: 17th–19th Century
Subjects: History, Literature, Philosophy
Type: E-Book Collections, Historical / Primary Sources
C19: The Nineteenth Century Index This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary database providing bibliographic access—more than 20,000,000 records—to books, periodical and newspaper articles, government publications, and archival collections. It is probably the most comprehensive source for English language material printed in the 19th Century. C19 combines a variety of print and digital resources into one database, and also allows limited searching of specialized sub-collections. The Nineteenth Century Short Title Catalogue, for example seeks to include all printed books published in Britain, its colonies and the United States of America, all printed books in English wherever published, and all translations from English.

C19 also provides indexing of the Times of London and hundreds of British and American periodicals, congressional and parliamentary publications. In addition, C19 provides bibliographic access to several periodical and document collections which Rutgers has acquired, thus allowing effective cross searching.
Collections indexed include:
    Nineteenth Century Short Title Catalogue
    Nineteenth Century Microfiche Project
    American Periodical Series
    British Periodicals I & II
    Periodicals Index Online
    Poole's Index to Periodical Literature
    Wellesley Index to Victorian Periodicals, 1824-1900
    House of Commons Parliamentary Papers
    U.S. Congressional Serial Set
    Archive Finder
    Palmer's Index to the Times [of London]
    Dictionary of Nineteenth Century Journalism
    American State Papers, 1789–1838

Abbreviation: c19
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1800-1900
Subjects: Art History, History, Literature
Type: Historical / Primary Sources, Indexes / Catalogs
Eighteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new window
Eighteenth Century Collections Online is based on The English Short Title Catalogue, a machine-readable union list of the holdings of the British Library, as well as those from more than 1,500 university, private and public libraries worldwide. This includes over 150,000 English-language titles and editions published between 1701–1800. This online collection is divided into seven subject areas: history and geography; social science and fine arts; medicine, science and technology; literature and language; religion and philosophy; law; and reference. Part II expands the collection with an emphasis on literature, social science, and religion.

FSU has access to parts one and two.
Abbreviation: 18thcen
Vendor: Gale
Coverage: 1701–1800
Subjects: History, Literature
Type: E-Book Collections, Historical / Primary Sources
Nineteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new window
The Nineteenth Century Collections Online includes Asia and the West: Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange; British Politics and Society; British Theatre, Music, Literature: High and Popular Culture; Children's Literature and Childhood; European Literature, 1790-1840: The Corvey Collection; Europe and Africa, Colonialism and Culture; Mapping the World: Maps and Travel Literature; Photography: The World Through the Lens; Religion, Spirituality, Reform, and Society; Science, Technology, and Medicine, 1780–1925; Science, Technology, and Medicine, 1780–1925, Part II; Women: Transnational Networks.
Abbreviation: ncco
Vendor: Gale
Coverage: 1780–1925
Subjects: Art History, History, Literature, Religion
Type: E-Book Collections, Historical / Primary Sources
Women Writers Online This link opens in a new window
Women Writers Online is a wide-ranging and richly diverse collection of women’s writing in English from the pre-Victorian period. It brings together more than 350 works that illuminate a broad cross-section of women’s literate culture between 1450 and 1850, including political, philosophical, and scientific writing as well as religious material, poetry, drama, fiction, and a huge variety of texts that challenge traditional genre categorization.
Abbreviation: wmwron
Vendor: Women Writers Project
Coverage: 1450–1850
Subjects: Literature, Women's and Gender Studies
Type: Historical / Primary Sources