Research Guides: *English: Feminism, Gender and Sexuality Studies

Key Resources

ERIC (ProQuest)
ERIC (ProQuest) is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to educational-related literature. The ERIC database corresponds to two printed journals: Resources in Education (RIE) and Current Index to Journals in Education (CIJE).

Coverage includes:
Adult, career and vocational education
Counseling
Elementary and early childhood education
Education management
Higher education
Junior colleges
Second-language learning
Special education
Teacher education
Tests, measurement and evaluation

Abbreviation: ericcsa
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1966–Current
Subjects: Art Education, Art Therapy, Education, Early Childhood Education, Educational Leadership and Policy Studies, Educational Psychology, Exceptional Student Education, Human Development & Family Science, Higher Education, Instructional Systems & Learning Technologies, Linguistics, Music Therapy, Rhetoric & Composition, Sociocultural and International Education, Sport Psychology, Teacher Education
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
GenderWatch
A full-text collection of international journals, magazines, newsletters, regional publications, special reports and conference proceedings devoted to women's and gender issues.

Abbreviation: genderwatch
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1970–Current
Subjects: Communication, Psychology, Social Work, Sociology, Women's and Gender Studies
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
Humanities Source
Humanities Source is a valuable collection for students, researchers and educators interested in all aspects of the humanities. It includes feature articles, interviews, obituaries, bibliographies, original works of fiction, book reviews, and reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, operas, plays, and much more.

Abbreviation: ehs
Vendor: EBSCO
Subjects: African-American Studies, Classics, History, Linguistics, Literature, Philosophy & Ethics, Religion, Rhetoric & Composition, Women's and Gender Studies
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
Independent Voices

Independent Voices is a digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries. These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.

Abbreviation: iv
Vendor: Reveal Digital
Coverage: 1951–2015
Subjects: African-American Studies, History, Women's and Gender Studies
Type: Historical / Primary Sources, Newspapers and Newswires, Open Access
Latin American Women Writers
What we call "Latin American culture" is a composite of the rich and diverse output of 20 sovereign countries. This collection comprises 100,000 pages of literary works, along with memoirs and essays, in their original language, by Latin American women from the colonial period in the 17th century to the present. It brings together all the voices of Latin American women and presents a tool for understanding the diversity and development of Latin America through a feminine perspective.

Abbreviation: laww
Vendor: ProQuest
Subjects: Latin American & Caribbean Studies, Literature
Type: E-Book Collections
Sociological Abstracts
Sociology-related topics such as: abuse and neglect, aging, anthropology, criminology, crisis intervention, demography, education, ethnic studies, law and penology, social psychology, urban studies, violence, and women's studies.

Subject coverage:
Culture and social structure
Family and marriage
History and theory of sociology
Organizational sociology
Political sociology
Poverty and homelessness
Race and ethnicity
Social change and economic development
Social control
Sociology of health and medicine
Sociology of education

Abbreviation: socabs
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1963–Current
Subjects: African-American Studies, Anthropology, Demography and Population Studies, Human Development & Family Science, Latin American & Caribbean Studies, Psychology, Public Health, Social Work, Sociocultural and International Education, Sociology, Urban and Regional Planning, Women's and Gender Studies
Type: Indexes / Catalogs

John Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism
The Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism is an indispensable resource for scholars and students of literary theory and discourse. Compiled by 275 specialists from around the world, the Guide presents a comprehensive historical survey of the field's most important figures, schools, and movements and is updated annually. It includes almost 300 alphabetically arranged entries and subentries on critics and theorists, critical schools and movements, and the critical and theoretical innovations of specific countries and historical periods. Each entry has an extensive bibliography that includes primary sources and secondary sources.

Feminist Media Studies
Aims to provide a transdisciplinary, transnational forum for researchers pursuing feminist approaches to the field of media & communication studies.
Feminist Review
The major women's studies journal in Britain including articles on contemporary feminist analysis, changing political issues and book reviews.
Feminist Studies
Articles that focus on women's experience and on gender as a category of analysis of a critical, scholarly, speculative and political nature, poetry and art, reports from the women's movement and strategies for change.
Feminist Theory
An international peer reviewed journal that provides a forum for critical analysis and constructive debate within feminism.
Gender & Society
Gender studies in anthropology, economics, history, political science, sociology, and social psychology that are framed by a social analysis and a feminist perspective.
Journal of Gender Studies
Interdisciplinary journal publishing articles relating to gender from a feminist perspective.

Below are a few open access feminist journals that are available. For more open access journals, please check the Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ).

The Fiberculture Journal
A peer reviewed international journal that explores issues in digital media, networks, and transdisciplinary critique.

Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index
Indexes journal articles, book reviews, and essays about women, sexuality and gender in Europe, North Africa and the Middle East, from 450 C.E. to 1500 C.E. Updated frequently.

Abbreviation: mwgi
Vendor: University of Iowa Libraries
Coverage: 450 C.E. to 1500 C.E.
Subjects: History, Literature, Women's and Gender Studies
Type: Indexes / Catalogs, Open Access
Independent Voices

Independent Voices is a digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries. These periodicals were produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBT activists, the extreme right-wing press and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.

Abbreviation: iv
Vendor: Reveal Digital
Coverage: 1951–2015
Subjects: African-American Studies, History, Women's and Gender Studies
Type: Historical / Primary Sources, Newspapers and Newswires, Open Access
Women Writers Online
Women Writers Online is a wide-ranging and richly diverse collection of women’s writing in English from the pre-Victorian period. It brings together more than 350 works that illuminate a broad cross-section of women’s literate culture between 1450 and 1850, including political, philosophical, and scientific writing as well as religious material, poetry, drama, fiction, and a huge variety of texts that challenge traditional genre categorization.

Abbreviation: wmwron
Vendor: Women Writers Project
Coverage: 1450–1850
Subjects: Literature, Women's and Gender Studies
Type: Historical / Primary Sources