Research Guides: *English: History of Text Technologies

Welcome!

Welcome to the Strozier Library guide for locating resources which may be of use to the students and faculty in the History of Text Technologies program.

This is a truncated version of the full History of Text Technologies LibGuide. You can find some best bets for resources on textual studies and book history here. Please visit the full LibGuide for additional resources.

This guide contains information about locating unique and hard to find materials in the University Libraries that may be of use to HoTT students and faculty. This guide's focus is on locating collections of primary resources in vellum, paper, microform, and online.

Best-bet Resources

FSU-Based Resources

Searching FSU Special Collections: Go to https://fsu.catalog.fcla.edu/ and select "Advanced Search." Limit Location to "Strozier, Special Collections"
FSU Special Collections Materials Online: http://diginole.lib.fsu.edu/islandora/object/fsu%3Adigital_library contains digitized materials from FSU's Special Collections

FSU Databases

Early American Imprints, Series I, Evans (1639–1800) This link opens in a new window
For early American printed materials.
Abbreviation: evans
Vendor: NewsBank
Coverage: 1639–1800
Subjects: History, Literature
Type: E-Book Collections, Historical / Primary Sources
Early American Imprints, Series II, Shaw Shoemaker (1801–1819) This link opens in a new window
For early American printed materials.
Abbreviation: shaw-shoe
Vendor: NewsBank
Coverage: 1801–1819
Subjects: History, Literature
Type: E-Book Collections, Historical / Primary Sources
Early English Books Online (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
For early English printed materials.
Tutorials:
ProQuest EEBO LibGuide

Abbreviation: eebo
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1475–1661
Subjects: History, Literature
Type: E-Book Collections, Historical / Primary Sources
Eighteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new window
Contains digitized texts from the 18th century.
Abbreviation: 18thcen
Vendor: Gale
Coverage: 1701–1800
Subjects: History, Literature
Type: E-Book Collections, Historical / Primary Sources
HathiTrust This link opens in a new window
Contains a variety of printed materials, with particular strengths in US government documents.
Note, you must use the instructions below to access Hathi Trust:

Go to the HathiTrust homepage.
Click on the yellow 'Log In' button.
Select FSU from the drop-down menu and click 'Continue.'
Enter your FSU ID and password and click 'Continue.'

FSU users have full-text access and downloading capabilities for those items in the public domain, including:

US federal government documents
Works published before 1923
Works still protected by copyright, but made available to HathiTrust with the permission of the copyright holder

See also: Research Guide: HathiTrust Digital Library

Abbreviation: hathi
Vendor: HathiTrust
Coverage: 1564–Current
Subjects: *General / Multi-Subject
Type: E-Book Collections, E-Journal Collections
Literary Print Culture This link opens in a new window
Contains records from the Stationer's Company. Provides important information on the history of copyright, publishing, and print.
Abbreviation: amlpc
Vendor: Adam Matthew Digital Ltd
Coverage: 1554–2007
Subjects: History, Literature
Type: Government Publications, Historical / Primary Sources, Images

Guide Author

This guide is currently maintained by Rachel Duke, Mallary Rawls, and Sarah Stanley (2020). Substantial content was created and edited by Jane Marie Pinzino (2011).