Academic Search Complete is the world's most valuable and comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 9,100 full-text periodicals, including nearly 7,900 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 13,690 journals and publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc.
This scholarly collection offers unmatched full-text coverage of information in many areas of academic study including, but not limited to: animal science, anthropology, area studies, astronomy, biology, chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, ethnic & multicultural studies, food science & technology, general science, geography, geology, law, materials science, mathematics, mechanical engineering, music, pharmaceutical sciences, physics, psychology, religion & theology, veterinary science, women's studies, zoology and many other fields. Updated daily.
ERIC (ProQuest) is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to educational-related literature. The ERIC database corresponds to two printed journals: Resources in Education (RIE) and Current Index to Journals in Education (CIJE).
Adult, career and vocational education
Elementary and early childhood education
Tests, measurement and evaluation
Resource URL: http://search.proquest.com/eric/advanced?accountid=4840
Subjects: Art Education, Art Therapy, Education, Early Childhood Education, Educational Leadership and Policy Studies, Educational Psychology, Exceptional Student Education, Human Development & Family Science, Higher Education, Instructional Systems & Learning Technologies, Linguistics, Music Therapy, Rhetoric & Composition, Sociocultural and International Education, Sport Psychology, Teacher Education
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
A database of the back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences and sciences. The gap between the most recently published issue of any journal and the date of the most recent issue available in JSTOR is from 2 to 5 years.
The MLA International Bibliography provides a subject index for books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. Works of interest to scholars are included whether they are written for a scholarly or a more general audience, provided that the content or its treatment places them within the scope of the bibliography. Masters' theses, guides that are essentially plot summaries, and other apprentice or simplified works are excluded.
Resource URL: http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=mzh
Subjects: African-American Studies, Latin American & Caribbean Studies, Linguistics, Literature, Middle Eastern Studies, Rhetoric & Composition, Russian & Eastern European Studies, Women's and Gender Studies
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
An excellent tool on social science research methods includes over 1000 methods books, 1100 case studies, reference works, journal articles, and instructional video tutorials by world-leading academics from across the social sciences. In addition, the full-text titles from the Sage’s Quantitative Applications in the Social Sciences series(“The Little Green Books”) and Qualitative Research Methods Series (The Little Blue Books”) books are available.
Articles, counterstatement and reviews on the theory, practice, history and politics of composition and its teaching at all college levels, research into the teaching of writing and the preparation of writing teachers.
Articles on literature (including nonfiction), linguistics, literacy, critical theory, reading theory, rhetoric, composition, pedagogy and professional issues for English scholars working within subspecialties of the discipline.
Features articles that explore the intersections of composition theory and pedagogy, including essays that examine specific pedagogical theories or that describe classroom practices, methodology, and research, etc.
Publishes theoretically grounded reports of research and discussions that represent a significant contribution to current understandings of central issues in second and foreign language writing and writing instruction.
Covers all areas of rhetoric and provides a professional forum for its readers to consider and discuss current topics and issues.
Classical Rhetorics and Rhetoricians by Michelle Ballif (Editor); Michael G. Moran (Editor)The engaging political speeches and persuasive writing of today are carefully crafted instances of rhetoric. The governing theories behind contemporary speakers and writers are deeply rooted in the classical world, where such great thinkers as Aristotle, Cicero, and Quintillian formulated strategies for effective discourse. This book includes alphabetically arranged entries on some 60 leading rhetoricians of antiquity, with each entry providing biographical information, a discussion of the rhetorician's works and theories, and primary and secondary bibliographies. Because of the lasting influence of these thinkers, this book is an essential guide to the foundations of modern expression. Political speeches and persuasive writing are central to our modern democratic society and are carefully crafted to influence our thoughts and opinions. But what many people do not realize is that the theories behind such works are deeply rooted in the classical world. The great philosophers and statesmen of Greece and Rome formulated rules and strategies for effective argumentation, and their writings shaped the history of Western civilization for centuries. Because citizens of the modern world are exposed to so many attempts to influence their views, the theories of the ancient rhetoricians are as relevant today as in antiquity. This book is a guide to the lives and works of these influential classical figures. Each entry is written by an expert contributor and provides a biography, a discussion of the rhetorician's works, and primary and secondary bibliographies. While some of the figures are relatively minor, others are among the most important names from classical civilization. The volume gives special attention to the contributions of women to ancient rhetoric. An introductory essay sketches the rough outline of classical rhetoric and its influence, while a bibliographical essay identifies the most important general works for further reading.
Call Number: PA3013 .C58 2005
Publication Date: 2005-03-30
Handbook of Research on Writing by Charles Bazerman (Editor)The Handbook of Research on Writing ventures to sum up inquiry over the last few decades on what we know about writing and the many ways we know it: How do people write? How do they learn to write and develop as writers? Under what conditions and for what purposes do people write? What resources and technologies do we use to write? How did our current forms and practices of writing emerge within social history? What impacts has writing had on society and the individual? What does it mean to be and to learn to be an active participant in contemporary systems of meaning? This cornerstone volume advances the field by aggregating the broad-ranging, interdisciplinary, multidimensional strands of writing research and bringing them together into a common intellectual space. Endeavoring to synthesize what has been learned about writing in all nations in recent decades, it reflects a wide scope of international research activity, with attention to writing at all levels of schooling and in all life situations. Chapter authors, all eminent researchers, come from disciplines as diverse as anthropology, archeology, typography, communication studies, linguistics, journalism, sociology, rhetoric, composition, law, medicine, education, history, and literacy studies. The Handbook's 37 chapters are organized in five sections: *The History of Writing; *Writing in Society; *Writing in Schooling; *Writing and the Individual; *Writing as Text This volume, in summing up what is known about writing, deepens our experience and appreciation of writing--in ways that will make teachers better at teaching writing and all of its readers better as individual writers. It will be interesting and useful to scholars and researchers of writing, to anyone who teaches writing in any context at any level, and to all those who are just curious about writing.
Call Number: P211 .H34 2008
Publication Date: 2007-07-10
Handbook of Writing Research by Charles A. MacArthur (Editor); Jill Fitzgerald (Editor); Steve Graham (Editor)This authoritative volume synthesizes current knowledge on writing development in children and adolescents and the processes underlying successful learning and teaching. The most comprehensive work of its kind, the volume encompasses both cognitive and sociocultural perspectives. Leading investigators present salient theoretical models; describe cutting-edge research methodologies and analytic tools; summarize available data on the effectiveness of major instructional approaches; and identify key directions for future research. Emphasizing the importance of supporting all students' writing development, the book includes a special section on cultural diversity, gender, special education, and bilingual learners.
Call Number: PE1404 .H358 2006
Publication Date: 2005-12-13
The SAGE Handbook of Rhetorical Studies by Andrea A. Lunsford (Editor); Rosa A. Eberly (Editor); Kirt H. Wilson (Editor)The SAGE Handbook of Rhetorical Studies surveys the latest advances in rhetorical scholarship, synthesizing theories and practices across major areas of study in the field and pointing the way for future studies. Edited by Andrea A. Lunsford and Associate Editors Kirt H. Wilson and Rosa A. Eberly, the Handbook aims to introduce a new generation of students to rhetorical study and provide a deeply informed and ready resource for scholars currently working in the field. Key Features: Brings together scholars from across the disciplines of Speech, Communication, English, and Writing Studies. While rhetoric is by definition interdisciplinary, self-identified scholars in the field are most often institutionally separated from one another. This Handbook bridges this divide by providing a refreshing range of transdisciplinary views on the nature, status, definition, and scope of rhetoric today. Offers a thorough-going overview of rhetorical studies today. Organized in four sections-Historical Studies in Rhetoric; Rhetoric Across the Disciplines; Rhetoric and Pedagogy, and Rhetoric and Public Discourse-the volume provides a single resource for engaging rhetorical studies. Underscores the importance of rhetoric to education across a wide range of disciplines as well as to effective participation in public arenas. Thus the volume connects rhetoric's long teaching tradition to an activist agenda for informed civic engagement. Addresses methodological and theoretical difficulties and offers means of negotiating them. Provides one of the first introductions to rhetorical studies across cultures and to the related debates concerning comparative and contrastive rhetorics.
Texts and videos of speeches, movie speeches, sound clips with rhetorical figures, definitions, and more. Created and maintained by Michael Eidenmuller, Ph.D. Associate Professor of Communication at the University of Texas at Tyler.
A wiki site that's meant to be a space for collaborating on answers to questions from writing teachers and administrators of writing programs. CompFAQs provides research based answers to frequently asked questions.