Research Guides: *English: American Literary and Cultural Studies to 1900

Key Resources

Eighteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new window
Eighteenth Century Collections Online is based on The English Short Title Catalogue, a machine-readable union list of the holdings of the British Library, as well as those from more than 1,500 university, private and public libraries worldwide. This includes over 150,000 English-language titles and editions published between 1701–1800. This online collection is divided into seven subject areas: history and geography; social science and fine arts; medicine, science and technology; literature and language; religion and philosophy; law; and reference. Part II expands the collection with an emphasis on literature, social science, and religion.

FSU has access to parts one and two.
Abbreviation: 18thcen
Vendor: Gale
Coverage: 1701–1800
Subjects: History, Literature
Type: E-Book Collections, Historical / Primary Sources
Nineteenth Century Collections Online This link opens in a new window
The Nineteenth Century Collections Online includes Asia and the West: Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange; British Politics and Society; British Theatre, Music, Literature: High and Popular Culture; Children's Literature and Childhood; European Literature, 1790-1840: The Corvey Collection; Europe and Africa, Colonialism and Culture; Mapping the World: Maps and Travel Literature; Photography: The World Through the Lens; Religion, Spirituality, Reform, and Society; Science, Technology, and Medicine, 1780–1925; Science, Technology, and Medicine, 1780–1925, Part II; Women: Transnational Networks.
Abbreviation: ncco
Vendor: Gale
Coverage: 1780–1925
Subjects: Art History, History, Literature, Religion
Type: E-Book Collections, Historical / Primary Sources
North American Women's Letters and Diaries This link opens in a new window
150,000 pages of published letters and diaries from individuals writing from Colonial times to 1950, plus 4,000 pages of previously unpublished materials.
Abbreviation: nawomens
Vendor: Alexander Street, a ProQuest Company
Coverage: Colonial times to 1950
Subjects: History, Literature, Women's and Gender Studies
Type: Datasets / Statistics, Directories, Historical / Primary Sources, Images
Oxford Bibliographies This link opens in a new window
Developed cooperatively with scholars and librarians worldwide, Oxford Bibliographies offers exclusive, authoritative research guides. Oxford Bibliographies combines features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia, giving researchers scholarship across a wide variety of subjects.
Subjects:
African Studies
African American Studies
American Literature
Anthropology
Art History
Atlantic History
Biblical Studies
British and Irish Literature
Buddhism
Childhood Studies
Chinese Studies
Cinema and Media Studies
Classics
Communication
Criminology
Ecology
Education
Hinduism
International Law
International Relations
Islamic Studies
Jewish Studies
Latin American Studies
Linguistics
Literary and Critical Theory
Medieval Studies
Military History
Music
Philosophy
Political Science
Psychology
Public Health
Renaissance and Reformation
Social Work
Sociology
Victorian Literature

Abbreviation: oxbib
Vendor: Oxford University Press
Subjects: Religion, Urban and Regional Planning, *General / Multi-Subject, Bibliography
Type: Encyclopedias & Dictionaries, Research Starter
Twayne's Author Series (Gale Literature) This link opens in a new window
Comprises 600 full-text titles from the Twayne Literary Masters series, 200 each from Twayne World, US, and English Authors. View full-text discussions of an author's works and a chronology of the author's life or create an "In Depth Search" and design your own search, using words or phrases, or customize a search by genre, gender, nationality, and time period. This database also contains "Research Ideas" in that the user may view topics with a highly selective, curriculum-related list of writers to use as research starting points.
Abbreviation: twayn
Vendor: Gale
Subjects: English, Literature
Type: Biographies, Citation Management, E-Book Collections
Women Writers Online This link opens in a new window
Women Writers Online is a wide-ranging and richly diverse collection of women’s writing in English from the pre-Victorian period. It brings together more than 350 works that illuminate a broad cross-section of women’s literate culture between 1450 and 1850, including political, philosophical, and scientific writing as well as religious material, poetry, drama, fiction, and a huge variety of texts that challenge traditional genre categorization.
Abbreviation: wmwron
Vendor: Women Writers Project
Coverage: 1450–1850
Subjects: Literature, Women's and Gender Studies
Type: Historical / Primary Sources

The American Indian Quarterly
A refereed interdisciplinary journal of the history, anthropology, literature and the arts of Native American Indians, book reviews and lists of recently published books.
American Literary Scholarship
Covers current critical analysis of American literature. Bibliographic essays are arranged by writers and time periods, from pre-1800 to the present.
American Quarterly
Articles concerning areas of American life and the relation of those areas to the entire American scene and the world society.
Early American Literature
Articles and reviews on American literature through the early national period, about 1830, for members of the Modern Language Association.