Research Guides: *English: Post-1900 Literary and Cultural Studies (American, British, Irish)

Key Resources

American Memory (changing to Library of Congress Digital Collections) This link opens in a new window
A collection of digital texts and images, including books, manuscripts, photographs, and film created from the collections of the U.S. Library of Congress. American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. It is a digital record of American history and creativity.
Note: American Memory has been retired. Its content is available via the Library of Congress Digital Collections website.
Abbreviation: locdig
Vendor: Library of Congress
Subjects: African-American Studies, History, Literature, Theatre
Type: Historical / Primary Sources, Open Access
Film & Television Literature Index This link opens in a new window
Film & Television Literature Index is a comprehensive bibliographic database covering the entire spectrum of television and film writing. It is a bibliographic database that provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 380 publications (and selected coverage of 300).
Abbreviation: ftl-ind
Vendor: EBSCO
Subjects: Communication, Film Studies, Literature
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
Humanities Source This link opens in a new window
Humanities Source is a valuable collection for students, researchers and educators interested in all aspects of the humanities. It includes feature articles, interviews, obituaries, bibliographies, original works of fiction, book reviews, and reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, operas, plays, and much more.
Abbreviation: ehs
Vendor: EBSCO
Subjects: African-American Studies, Classics, History, Linguistics, Literature, Philosophy & Ethics, Religion, Rhetoric & Composition, Women's and Gender Studies
Type: Indexes / Catalogs
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
Includes Contemporary Authors, Dictionary of Literary Biography, and Contemporary Literary Criticism Select Provides access to biographies, bibliographies and critical analysis of authors from every age and literary discipline.
Abbreviation: galelit
Vendor: Gale
Coverage: 1400–Current
Subjects: Literature, Theatre
Type: Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
North American Women's Letters and Diaries This link opens in a new window
150,000 pages of published letters and diaries from individuals writing from Colonial times to 1950, plus 4,000 pages of previously unpublished materials.
Abbreviation: nawomens
Vendor: Alexander Street, a ProQuest Company
Coverage: Colonial times to 1950
Subjects: History, Literature, Women's and Gender Studies
Type: Datasets / Statistics, Directories, Historical / Primary Sources, Images
Oxford Bibliographies This link opens in a new window
Developed cooperatively with scholars and librarians worldwide, Oxford Bibliographies offers exclusive, authoritative research guides. Oxford Bibliographies combines features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia, giving researchers scholarship across a wide variety of subjects.
Subjects:
African Studies
African American Studies
American Literature
Anthropology
Art History
Atlantic History
Biblical Studies
British and Irish Literature
Buddhism
Childhood Studies
Chinese Studies
Cinema and Media Studies
Classics
Communication
Criminology
Ecology
Education
Hinduism
International Law
International Relations
Islamic Studies
Jewish Studies
Latin American Studies
Linguistics
Literary and Critical Theory
Medieval Studies
Military History
Music
Philosophy
Political Science
Psychology
Public Health
Renaissance and Reformation
Social Work
Sociology
Victorian Literature

Abbreviation: oxbib
Vendor: Oxford University Press
Subjects: Religion, Urban and Regional Planning, *General / Multi-Subject, Bibliography
Type: Encyclopedias & Dictionaries, Research Starter
Scribner Writer Series This link opens in a new window
Scribner Writers Series includes 15–20-page signed essays on more than 2,000 authors and literary genres drawn from the acclaimed Scribner print series. Includes approximately 1,600 full-text articles. e.g. American Writers; A Collection of Literary Biographies, British Writers and European Writers.
Abbreviation: scrib
Vendor: Gale
Subjects: Literature
Type: Biographies, Citation Management, E-Book Collections, E-Journal Collections

American Journal of Irish Studies
An academic journal focusing on Irish and Irish-American literature, history, arts and culture, and contemporary issues.
American Literary History
Covers the studies of U.S. literature from its origins through the present.
English Literature in Transition, 1880-1920
Publishes articles on fiction, poetry, drama, or subjects of cultural interest in the 1880-1920 period of British literature.
Irish University Review
Focus is on defining and expanding the scope of Irish literary studies.
Journal of American Studies
Original articles by scholars of any nationality on American literature, history, institutions, politics, economic, geography and related subjects, notes and comments, essays, review essays, book reviews and theses on American topics in progress.
Journal of British Studies
Feature essays and thematic issues on all aspects of British literary studies for members of the North American Conference on British Studies.
Journal of Irish Studies
Documents studies in Irish literature and its contexts.
Journal of Modern Literature
Each issue emphasizes scholarly studies of literature in all languages, as well as related arts and cultural artifacts, from 1900 to the present; publication is international in its scope.
Studies in American Fiction
Articles, notes and reviews on the prose fiction of the United States.

Beckett Digital Manuscript Project This link opens in a new window
The purpose of the Beckett Digital Manuscript Project is to reunite the manuscripts of Samuel Beckett in a digital way, and to facilitate genetic research: the project brings together digital facsimiles of documents that are now preserved in different holding libraries, and adds transcriptions of Beckett's manuscripts, tools for bilingual and genetic version comparison, a search engine, and an analysis of the textual genesis of his works.
Abbreviation: bdmp
Vendor: Samuel Beckett Digital Manuscript Project
Subjects: Literature
Type: Historical / Primary Sources
New York Times (Historical) This link opens in a new window
Offers full-page-images and article images from the New York Times newspaper from its first issue in 1851 to three years before the current date. This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand primary source accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
Abbreviation: nythist
Vendor: ProQuest
Coverage: 1850–Current - 3 years
Subjects: History
Type: Historical / Primary Sources, Newspapers and Newswires
Times Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
Searchable and browsable digital reproduction, cover to cover, of the London Times in PDF files, 1785–1985 and 2015-2019. The PDFs in this database are not transcribed into text, so you may need to search for keywords with unusual spelling for earlier copies. For articles outside of these dates, use the database Times (The London Times).
Abbreviation: tdar
Vendor: Gale
Coverage: 1785–1985, 2015–2019
Subjects: History
Type: Historical / Primary Sources, Images, Newspapers and Newswires